We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling for corporate events, very expensive, and diabolical food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Royal Angus Hotel
Ranked #64 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Appalling for corporate events, very expensive, and diabolical food!”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The restaurant has a limited menu (only 3 options for each course), the food was Luke warm, under cooked and the chicken breast wore a leather jacket. And a glass of house wine was £8:50!

Lunch the following day was even worse. The lamb couldn't be cut with standard cutlery and as micro chainsaws haven't been invented yet, whole dinners were wasted. The soup and dessert selection were the left overs from the previous evening (so the very limited menu is repeated the following day).

The conference rooms are thinly partitioned and noise from other delegates penetrates easily thus creating significant disturbance.
During our mid week stay, the hotel hosted an evening disco for one group of guests that went on until 1:30am. The music could be clearly heard on all floors of the hotel (even on the top floor). The managers seemed to think this was acceptable and were unsympathetic when guests complained. Their 'events manager' was unavailable for the duration of our stay. I could list further complaints, but I'm sure you get the picture.

Overall, a bad experience, very expensive and inattentive staff.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tired-and-Hungry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    334
    226
    93
    70
See reviews for
138
234
57
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Easily accessible from Snow Hill station (about a 5 minute walk). I came from New street station, and it is hard to find your way from Moor street or New street without a map, both about 15/20 minute walk away. Apparently someone got a cab from New street station to the hotel for £6.

Receptionists are very cheery and helpful. The room was booked on my behalf, and check in was very straightforward and easy despite that.

My room was a decent size for a single room. I got a room with the more modern décor, which luckily I prefer, room 440. The Wifi was free, and extremely easy to access. My working desk had more than enough space for my laptop, a4 folder, drink etc. I also had a little table with a separate chair than the one at the desk. The TV was nice and big, but the picture was a bit fuzzy compared to my TV at home, almost as if it was still an analogue signal.

The bed was comfy, with sufficient pillows and cushions.

The panel on the bath was tatty and needed changing, but apart from that the bathroom was clean, with a complimentary shower cap, shower gel, shampoo and soap.

The cleanliness was good, and I have no complains about the room itself.

As I was there on business, I had my meals and service/tray charges paid for me. However, I did feel as if the prices were excessive. My pizza for dinner was approximately £12, and it states 'Chicago town pizza stuffed crust pizza', and it literally was. I love Chicago town pizza, so its not a problem, but it definitely is not made in the hotel (they do add their own toppings), and it is expensive considering how much it cost them to buy. Other meals included a range of burgers, pasta dishes and salad along with a few others. Breakfast I had delivered to my room, so I am not sure how it is served in the restaurant, but I filled out a little form about what I wanted, and left it on my door handle. I got a decent amount of the items I ordered, except I was given fried instead of scrambled eggs :( The quality of food was good, but prices were excessive, and the room service charge was £5 a go.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RSOConnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
here
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I have stayed in Birmingham before, in the Millennium Hotel - The Copthorne. That hotel was OK, but dated considering it's expense. This hotel, the Thistle Royal Angus was much better.

Decor was a mixture of modern and "vintage". Front desk was very polite, welcoming and helpful. Room was modern and clean. Hotel seemed quieter than other city centre hotels I've stayed in. Best bit - breakfast was an absolute bargain at just £6.50 for a full continental/English breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The hotel was great - clean and tidy, all members of staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were well appointed and comfortable. Breakfast was very good - self serve buffet. It is worth noting the hotel is a 25 minute walk from Broad Street (the main bar area), and a ten minute walk to the closest shops, so not ideal for a night out. There are cheaper, closer hotels available.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smcr2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Quite a nice hotel with a very helpful receptionist. Ask for a high up room on non-main road side if traffic noise bothers you. Top tip: park in the NCP Royal Angus car park next door and you can get it half price if you get your ticket validated by the hotel. Plus ignore the signs in the car park which tell you to go to level 12 if staying at the Thistle, as you can park anywhere, but the walkway which takes you directly from the car park to the hotel is actually on Level 6! Didn't have dinner but breakfast had a decent choice and was good value.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aligloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Booked through a Travelzoo £49 a night special offer with full breakfast.
10-15 min walk from
New Street Station. nice and warm with very pleasant staff that made us feel welcome and helped with booking taxis.
Lunch wasn't great and overpriced for what we got but breakfast had a very good choice and great value considering our deal.
Our room was nice, tight enough for space but with really comfortable bed.
Hotel feels a little dated but everything works perfectly.
Find it strange they offer 'Chicago Town' pizza on their menu- basically just putting it in the oven and charging approx £12!
Would stay again if in the area, definitely if we got the deal again

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JimWalsh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights, great location but hotel could really do with modernising/refurb. Rooms are a decent size and well equipped & the beds are pretty comfy. Radiator wasn't very effective, lucky it wasn't too cold during the stay!

TV's are a good size but the picture is terrible plus cant get most standard channels that most people expect but can get French and German! Wifi is painfully slow so glad that's free!

Good choice of food on the menu but the quality of it is a bit hit and miss. All staff are friendly and very helpful.

The reduced car parking is really good and there is a walk through straight from level 6 of the car park into the hotel.

Room Tip: Floors 5 & 6 have air con which seem to work better than the central heating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SloggsCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#28 of 117 in Birmingham
966 reviews
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,439 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Angus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Angus Hotel

Property: The Royal Angus Hotel
Address: St. Chads Queensway, Birmingham B4 6HY, England (Formerly Thistle Birmingham City Centre, The Royal Angus)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Angus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Angus Hotel is a welcoming, contemporary hotel close to the city's famous Bullring. Located in central Birmingham, The Royal Angus Hotel is an excellent choice for discovering Britain's second-largest city. Local highlights include the Bullring Shopping Centre, with several theme parks and other outdoor attractions within easy driving distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Angus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Birmingham City Hotel Birmingham
Thistle Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing