We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good clean hotel & great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Angus Hotel
Ranked #56 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good clean hotel & great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed for 1 night whilst my son was at Birmingham Children's Hospital.
Greated by a friendly receptionist who was very helpful.
Was given a disability access room with 2 double beds. Clean & comfortable. Did the job!
Breakfast was a buffet but very tasty and lots of choice.
If I wanted to be close to the hospital then I would stay here again but if you want to be closer o the centre then I'd probably choose somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma_D35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    332
    224
    91
    69
See reviews for
134
231
57
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Was allocated this hotel by my company. It is a typical city centre hotel, 5-10 minutes taxi ride away from Birmingham New St. or a comfortable 10-15 minute walk with an overnight bag. Arrived late evening, however check in was swift and friendly. Double room was adequately spacious and very clean,particularly the bathroom. Towels soft and fluffy. Had everything you would normally find, toiletries,tea and coffee etc. No air conditioning though, just an electric radiator. It was still quite chilly but the radiator did take the chill off. The bed was extremely comfortable with crisp linen and plump pillows.
Self service buffet style breakfast was good with the usual selection of cereals,porridge,pastries and of course the hot grill. Tea,coffee,water and juice also available.
The staff are friendly, welcoming and very helpful. A good all round no frills hotel.
My only complaint is that my room faced onto St Chads/Queensway and it was very noisy! Take earplugs just in case you can't get a quieter room! Would be happy to stay here on business again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, not facing onto Queensway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexDonut999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

The restaurant has a limited menu (only 3 options for each course), the food was Luke warm, under cooked and the chicken breast wore a leather jacket. And a glass of house wine was £8:50!

Lunch the following day was even worse. The lamb couldn't be cut with standard cutlery and as micro chainsaws haven't been invented yet, whole dinners were wasted. The soup and dessert selection were the left overs from the previous evening (so the very limited menu is repeated the following day).

The conference rooms are thinly partitioned and noise from other delegates penetrates easily thus creating significant disturbance.
During our mid week stay, the hotel hosted an evening disco for one group of guests that went on until 1:30am. The music could be clearly heard on all floors of the hotel (even on the top floor). The managers seemed to think this was acceptable and were unsympathetic when guests complained. Their 'events manager' was unavailable for the duration of our stay. I could list further complaints, but I'm sure you get the picture.

Overall, a bad experience, very expensive and inattentive staff.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tired-and-Hungry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Easily accessible from Snow Hill station (about a 5 minute walk). I came from New street station, and it is hard to find your way from Moor street or New street without a map, both about 15/20 minute walk away. Apparently someone got a cab from New street station to the hotel for £6.

Receptionists are very cheery and helpful. The room was booked on my behalf, and check in was very straightforward and easy despite that.

My room was a decent size for a single room. I got a room with the more modern décor, which luckily I prefer, room 440. The Wifi was free, and extremely easy to access. My working desk had more than enough space for my laptop, a4 folder, drink etc. I also had a little table with a separate chair than the one at the desk. The TV was nice and big, but the picture was a bit fuzzy compared to my TV at home, almost as if it was still an analogue signal.

The bed was comfy, with sufficient pillows and cushions.

The panel on the bath was tatty and needed changing, but apart from that the bathroom was clean, with a complimentary shower cap, shower gel, shampoo and soap.

The cleanliness was good, and I have no complains about the room itself.

As I was there on business, I had my meals and service/tray charges paid for me. However, I did feel as if the prices were excessive. My pizza for dinner was approximately £12, and it states 'Chicago town pizza stuffed crust pizza', and it literally was. I love Chicago town pizza, so its not a problem, but it definitely is not made in the hotel (they do add their own toppings), and it is expensive considering how much it cost them to buy. Other meals included a range of burgers, pasta dishes and salad along with a few others. Breakfast I had delivered to my room, so I am not sure how it is served in the restaurant, but I filled out a little form about what I wanted, and left it on my door handle. I got a decent amount of the items I ordered, except I was given fried instead of scrambled eggs :( The quality of food was good, but prices were excessive, and the room service charge was £5 a go.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RSOConnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
here
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

I have stayed in Birmingham before, in the Millennium Hotel - The Copthorne. That hotel was OK, but dated considering it's expense. This hotel, the Thistle Royal Angus was much better.

Decor was a mixture of modern and "vintage". Front desk was very polite, welcoming and helpful. Room was modern and clean. Hotel seemed quieter than other city centre hotels I've stayed in. Best bit - breakfast was an absolute bargain at just £6.50 for a full continental/English breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palefire73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

The hotel was great - clean and tidy, all members of staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were well appointed and comfortable. Breakfast was very good - self serve buffet. It is worth noting the hotel is a 25 minute walk from Broad Street (the main bar area), and a ten minute walk to the closest shops, so not ideal for a night out. There are cheaper, closer hotels available.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smcr2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Quite a nice hotel with a very helpful receptionist. Ask for a high up room on non-main road side if traffic noise bothers you. Top tip: park in the NCP Royal Angus car park next door and you can get it half price if you get your ticket validated by the hotel. Plus ignore the signs in the car park which tell you to go to level 12 if staying at the Thistle, as you can park anywhere, but the walkway which takes you directly from the car park to the hotel is actually on Level 6! Didn't have dinner but breakfast had a decent choice and was good value.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aligloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#33 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#61 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,319 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Angus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Angus Hotel

Property: The Royal Angus Hotel
Address: St. Chads Queensway, Birmingham B4 6HY, England (Formerly Thistle Birmingham City Centre, The Royal Angus)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Angus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Angus Hotel is a welcoming, contemporary hotel close to the city's famous Bullring. Located in central Birmingham, The Royal Angus Hotel is an excellent choice for discovering Britain's second-largest city. Local highlights include the Bullring Shopping Centre, with several theme parks and other outdoor attractions within easy driving distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotelopia, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Angus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Birmingham City Hotel Birmingham
Thistle Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing