We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Royal Angus Hotel
Ranked #68 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel last minute and got an amazing deal which included breakfast! All staff were friendly and extremely helpful and catered to all our needs. On our last day the breakfast room was very busy and staff were very apologetic. Room was clean, cosy and warm, we had a huge tv which was a bonus and all in all we had a wonderful break. Would like to thank the staff at Thistle Birmingham and I am sure we will be back soon.

1  Thank Surekha S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (909)
There are newer reviews for The Royal Angus Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

552 - 558 of 909 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed on a sat nite since we were going to the theatre, when we got their to check in their was misunderstanding about how many rooms we had booked, since we only need 1 room, because we were a couple, and told it was the hotel fault that 2 rooms were booked, and it would be sorted out and only charged for one, which was a damper, but when we got into the room, it seem clean and pleasant, the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was clean with plenty of hot water.lots to choose from for breakfast and very nice, tea or cofee served to u on the table. so i would stay their again but we just found out we have been charged for 2 rooms,which now will have to be sorted out, so this has spoilit for us, so watch out when you are booking, but hopely this is a one off mistake, but it good place to stay apart from this.

Room Tip: well we stayed on the 4th floor, facing the carpark, and it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sejal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Excellent Hotel to stay at, Very close to all attractions, i was there on a work meeting in the City, resturant service was spot on, food was great and a great price for the city.. They also have a wonderful snack menu, all staff where very happy to help and breakfast was just out of this world, so much to choose from and i had a great start to my Day.....

Room Tip: Excellent stay i had......
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I stayed 2 nights at this hotel for a work conference.

Initial impressions aren't great, its on the ring road and a bit of a trek from New Street Station. Checkin was OK although i was told that because of a function I was required to eat between 7:30 and 7:00, which was slightly off putting. The room was on the 6th floor and a typical small room. Enough storage space - just, a desk and a chair and a comfortable bed.

Dinner was a disaster. The menu was unappealing and the food equally so. Chicken and polenta were both rubbery and overcooked, the mozzarella in the salad was cooking mozzarella not the white eating cheese it should have been, my salmon was edible but small. I have seldom seen as much food left on plates. The service was appalling. The staff had no idea what had been ordered, no effort was made to keep us informed or happy, staff just seemed to disappear and ordering a bottle of wine from their reasonable 'special' wine list was a herculean feat in itself.

The other function was clearly more important than we were, and certainly more noisy. They kept partying till after midnight at a volume which, on the 6th floor I could still hear.

Breakfast the following day was acceptable, although getting a jug of coffee demanded more effort than was necessary. No one seemed to take control or ownership of the situation. The male waiting staff were doing their best, I'm afraid the female waiting staff seemed disinterested and the 'management' seemed to promise everything in 2 minutes but deliver nothing.

Lunch was appalling; lacklustre salads and deserts left from the evening meal.

To the hotels credit they did realises things hadn't been up to scratch and refunded dinner cost on the second day to enable us to eat outside. A reasonable gesture.

Breakfast on day two was the same as day one, and lunch had chewy lamb tagine and probably the worst cauliflower cheese I have ever tasted.

Would I go back - no, never.

Room Tip: as high up as possible to avoid noise from bar and function rooms
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised by this Hotel good value and excellent staff. Front desk were really helpful and the restaurant breakfast was spot on. Head waiter was very helpful and attentive. Well done Thistle. Short walk to the main attractions make this hotel a good option

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Justine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

First night booked in got to room! Went down for dinner and they claimed the menu was off as they have ran out of food! This was not the case as we complained to the manager and she said basic food was on, burgers, pizza fish fingers etc!
Service was shocking, booked a table for 7.30 sat down and staff just walked around ignoring us! We had to get there attention and get the menus and then still waiting to order at 20.15 and we were the only people in restaurant!
Spoke to management and no reasonable explanation was given for the shody service! Advice to give this place a wide berth!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Visited April 14 for corporate event. Hotel is generally pretty clean, and reception staff are friendly. Restaurant staff, however, literally have no idea. We was first told that they had run out of everything on the main menu, and they only had specials left (choice of 3 main meals). Once one of our party complained they then retracted what they said, and by some miracle we all ordered around 6 different meals from that menu! Not impressed!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Kieran W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
PREMIER SUITES Birmingham
#79 of 118 in Birmingham
252 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#32 of 118 in Birmingham
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Copthorne Hotel Birmingham
Copthorne Hotel Birmingham
#101 of 118 in Birmingham
1,810 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Angus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Angus Hotel

Address: St. Chads Queensway, Birmingham B4 6HY, England (Formerly Thistle Birmingham City Centre, The Royal Angus)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £93 - £870 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Angus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Angus Hotel is a welcoming, contemporary hotel close to the city's famous Bullring. Located in central Birmingham, The Royal Angus Hotel is an excellent choice for discovering Britain's second-largest city. Local highlights include the Bullring Shopping Centre, with several theme parks and other outdoor attractions within easy driving distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Angus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Birmingham City Hotel Birmingham
Thistle Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing