We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely on our list!”
Review of Imlees

Imlees
Ranked #482 of 2,207 Restaurants in Birmingham
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Great little "bistro-style" indian restaurant with about a dozen tables. Great freshly-prepared food, some unusual slants and a couple of "desi"-style dishes to choose-from. Book for fridays and Saturdays though - it gets busy!
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
304 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Definitely on our list!”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We visited Imlees for the first time last Friday evening and first impressions were very positive - we were warmly greeted and seated at a nice table in the window from where we could view the comings and goings of Moseley Village. There was quite a buzz about the place with hardly a spare table in sight on the ground floor and a private party being catered for on the first floor. The full restaurant led to an acceptable delay between taking our order and delivering the food but since it is a BYO establishment, it meant that we could pass the time consuming our own wine without incurring additional cost! The ground floor nicely decorated in a modern style but despite the bright lighting, a couple of us still experienced some difficulty reading the menu with a 6 point sized typeface!

Popadoms are a tad expensive at 75p each but we all agreed that they were top notch, as were the accompanying pickles. To start I chose the lamb chops and what a good choice they turned out to be - at first I thought they had delivered a main course but was assured that 4 chops is a normal starter. They were delicious. My wife had Tandoori Salmon which was again adjudged to be excellent and our friends shared a Lassan Chicken which by contrast to mine was a rather small portion but was equally high quality.

We shared Murgh Massallam and Chicken Bhuna (both ordered Madras hot) and together with a mushroom rice and a chillie naan it made for a very satisfying and enjoyable combination. I can't recall what our friends consumed but both of them thought the food was first class.

We are so spoilt for choice of high quality Asian restaurants but will certainly add Imlees onto our list for regular future visits. Keep up the good work.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andyccpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    32
    24
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Above average curry :-)”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

So many curry places in Brum and most pretty poor, but this is a good one. Yes the lamb chops are good although not a lot of meat for the price. Our lamb sag however was great, as was the roti. Polite if rather distant staff. Eat here!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sweepkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Decent enough food, poor service.”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I've been to this restaurant several times and, although the service wasn't amazing, it wasn't bad either. However, I went on the 12th of October with family and the service was appalling. The waiter seemed impatient and the food took over an hour to arrive, despite it not being that busy. A couple of things that really got my goat was that one of the waitresses was clearing the table next to us and plonked and stacked all the dirty plates on our table. Not only is this distracting but rude also. Another point to mention, and this really does grind my gears, was the waitress taking plates from our table whilst the rest of our group were still eating. At one point the waitress noticed my annoyance at this and then made a point of asking me if I'd finished, which is fine in principle but not at the expense of interrupting our conversation.
On the whole, a very average dining experience, but the staff need to pay attention to their manners.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K H W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imlees, Public Relations Manager at Imlees, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
The waitress in question was on her first day on the job, as a trainee. She was being proactive and doing things which she was not instructed to carry out. I do apologise for the issues you have raised about the service.
We will from now on limit when we have trainees and also consider other options to train them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Horrible and unorganised”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

I visited Imlees for the first time on a busy Saturday night with six friends. I ordered the Tandoori Chicken starter which had very little meat on it and came with a salad that was basically shredded lettuce. The Murgh Massallam main was horrible. Very bland and tasted powdery. We had to wait an eternity between courses and ask for water. The waiters were unsure what the main dishes were when they arrived and were digging around in them with a fork to see what was in them. Never again!

Helpful?
3 Thank chunkyallen1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imlees, Public Relations Manager at Imlees, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Sometimes things can go wrong, we encourage customers to give us the opportunity to resolve issues at the time. If there is something wrong please advise a member of staff, so we can resolve the matter and make you a satisfied customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“superb place to eat in Moseley”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

One of the nicest meals you can hope to have. I live in Moseley and we often go here, but I haven't been for a year or more, so was pleasantly reminded of how good the food here really is. Went on a midweek evening this week, and the place was full, which tells its own story.
Ambience 10/10
Service 10/10
Prices very very reasonable
Food 11/10 if that is possible. Specifically, try the chilli chicken for starters, gorgeous tasting. For mains we like a bit of heat so had lamb pathia for about eight quid - again, one of the nicest Ive ever had.
For Indian cuisine, go to Imlees if you ever get a chance.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Imlees also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Imlees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing