We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cheap meat” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boars Head World Buffet

Boars Head World Buffet
Ranked #210 of 2,187 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$16
Cuisines: Italian, Chinese, Indian, Asian, British, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Quality, fun restaurant with all you can choose for a set price. Talented chefs, live cooking stations, fresh buffet, bakery, bar with good choice of cocktails and Wine. The last seating and buffet closing times are always 30 minutes before published closing times.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“cheap meat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

The price is reasonable for what you get, however I have been to better world buffets with a similar price.
I could tell the meat was of poor quality. The lamb rogan josh was inedible due to bones and grissle, which hurt my tooth.
Noodles bland
Cheeseburgers very dry and stale tasting
No crispy duck (possibly not part of the lunch menu?)
Great selection of desserts including ice cream machine and gateau x 2
Great selection of salads
Great bombay potatoes
Staff not very quick to offer drinks
Decor very tired- the wallpaper was very damaged from tables rubbing against it

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    121
    48
    20
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Twice in one week!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Although a little put off by the name and external experience, lovely decor inside and didn't have that cattle market feel than can happen in world buffets. Food was good quality and plenty of fresh choice and replenishment. Authentic dosa which was delicious and fab salad bar. This is a good choice if you want to try a bit of everything. Mock tail selection wasn't the best and some confusion meant we were asked to pay for our meal twice! Easily resolved though. A good meal out if you're a large group or want a quick in and put option.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Naz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“out-standing food and value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

let me start off by saying that i have visited this place on Saturday 5 weeks on the trot, i can genuinely say that this beats all other Birmingham buffets i have visited by a mile, Jimmy spices, Buffet island, Flavorz and a few smaller chains. the food here is excellent and from my experience can say that there is always full trays of fresh food, also, the staff here are extremely friendly and the chefs actually look like they want to cook, instead of making you feel like you are burdening them by handing them a plate, everywhere is clean and the decor is very modern, the service is also fast and every worker seems competent, all in all, 5 stars, and i will be visiting this place every Saturday until September 5th, when i leave for university, if you can see the photo's attached to this, they are from one sitting, there is so much variety, i can't help but eat myself into a food coma.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lee p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Some strengths and some areas for development.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was my first visit to this restaurant. The decor is beautiful and you feel you are in a quality restaurant. I attended on a Sunday lunch time. The food was ok, there is a good selection. For fish eaters the choice is limited however, the masala fish is lovely. Staff need to keep an eye on the food quantities to ensure containers do not remain empty. There were occasions I had to ask for refills. I was pleasantly surprised to see roast meats, I had the turkey which was very tasty and certainly better that any carvery I have had. The apple pie was dosed in cinnamon and the custard was as thin as milk. I do have some reservations about the staff, most lacked the interpersonal skills required to work with humans. Why don't people who work with the public smile????? I'm glad I tried it but it could be so much better by paying attention to the basics.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vprecious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, poor service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

This is my third visit here and each time there's been great food and poor service. The staff seem preoccupied doing nothing and take ages to clear empty plates. The food is so good that I can still confidently rate this with four stars. They really need to either hire more staff or retrain the ones they have.

Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boars Head World Buffet also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Boars Head World Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing