We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over-rated and Boring”

Nuvo Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #795 of 2,207 Restaurants in Birmingham
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Nuvo is Birmingham's most elegant and exclusive cocktail bar & late lounge. With its chic decor, delicious cocktails and mouth-watering tapas, Nuvo appeals to the most discerning of patrons. Tapas Nuvo's new tapas menu brings a real flavour of the Mediterranean and is perfect for one, sharing as a couple or with friends. Traditional Spanish favourites such as chorizo and manchengo cheese are available as well as squid and oysters for the more adventurous. Dishes are available individually or as a sharing platter and we cater for meat and fish lovers as well as vegetarians. Cocktail Bar & Lounge In the short time that Nuvo has been open it has gained a reputation for producing quality cocktails and creating a relaxed atmosphere in which to imbibe them. The Lounge and Cocktail Bar is on the ground floor and offers exquisite surroundings where Nuvo's waiters and hosts provide the finest service. For small more informal groups we can reserve a plush seating area in the downstairs lounge. Nuvo have 5 sections that offer waitress service from 6 -8 guests, or our larger booths which accommodate 10 - 15 guests. This option offers the perfect opportunity to be able to relax and enjoy your evening as well as having the benefit of reserved seating for those evenings when you just can't dance any longer. The Late Lounge & VIP Booths The Late Lounge is on the first floor of Nuvo, which opens on selected Fridays and weekly Saturday's from 11.30Pm. Nuvo's VIP Area boasts 8 stunning champagne booths, which come in various sizes, and can accommodate for groups of 6, 8 & 12. All booths are available on a Saturday evening from 11pm, subject to availability. Booths are all on a minimum spend basis, and need to be booked with a deposit
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Over-rated and Boring”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Went last Saturday night, the music was awful, most boring bar I have ever been to, nothing happening at all. Paid £10 to get in which was extortionate for what was on offer and none of the staff knew if they even had a cloakroom let alone where it was!

Never again!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank kasimh93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    40
    24
    21
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Very impressed with nuvo bar, had ten tapas to share, every one tasted georgeous, so many to choose from too including option for vegetarian, cocktails lovely too and the staff were so attentive, very fast service, nothing was too much trouble, will be back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jools1x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
105 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A Family Night Out”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My Wife and I took our Son and his Girlfriend to this venue on a Living Social Deal. The deal gave us a selection of 20 Tapas items plus a glass of wine each. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome and all the staff greeted us with enthusiasm. Our table was already laid up for us and we were seated in a very comfortable area. The choice of items available from the menu was very varied (Meat, Fish and Vegetarian) along with a good selection of dessert courses.
The dishes we selected came out at a sensible pace and were were well prepared and cooked to our liking. Attention had been given to dietary considerations that had been asked for which was very much appreciated by myself and the rest of my party. The attentive (but not intrusive) attitude of the staff was great in looking after our needs and we felt a great sense of satisfaction with the food, the service and the general ambiance of the venue. I thoroughly recommend this venue to anyone considering going there. Great place to unwind. Will definitely be going again soon.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essen, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Very attractive and delicious tapas”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My friends and I celebrated our 40th here with a voucher for 20 tapas with a glass of wine. I was quite nervous after reading so many negative reviews but am glad I didn't listen. The tapas was beautifully presented and there was a great variety, it was also delicious and the portions were good. The staff were all friendly even if some seemed new and a little nervous. The lady that served us gave recommendations and was very patient. It was early when we went so quite empty. Bar is a little of the main street of bars so hard to stumble across, but I'd repeat my experience!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KFr0st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good night out!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A mixed group of people (8 females and 6 males) went on saturday night to Nuvo Bar- having been out in Birmingham a number of times i was worried that we would have difficulty getting into one bar, especially as it was after 11 upon arrival and due to the size of the group. However, i was pleasantly surprised by the courtesy and effeiciency of the door staff at nuvo bar- yes there was a £10 per person fee but the atmosphere and crowd were amazing. The two floors catered for music for all tastes and everybody was out to have a good time which is not always the case in certain bars in Birmingham. The drinks were reasonably priced with plenty of variety. Will definately go back again soon.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Av1984_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nuvo Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Nuvo Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing