We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The York

The York
Ranked #345 of 2,192 Restaurants in Birmingham
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
KENT
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Incredibly cheap compared to where we live in the South East - 4 people with a main meal, bottle of wine and 2 pints, came to £40.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JULIED444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    12
    2
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Nothing to eat”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

I went to the York with my son and my mom to have lunch we ordered drinks and chose from the menu we the all ordered different chicken meals and paid for them just to be told 15 minutes later there was no chicken (only enough for one meal). Not happy at this, we were hungry so decided to order fish and chips only to see them put a board up saying no chicken and no fish. At this time we were fed up so had our money back and went home hungry. We have used the York before but never been this bad never going there again. Get your act together.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Toilets - disgrace. Service - non existent. Manager - nowhere to be seen.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

I went to The York with my pregnant sister in law and my brother. We ordered drinks and sat down to order when we found there to be no toilet roll in the ladies or gents. With my sister in law pregnant I asked for some loo roll only to be sniggered by the bar lady. Half an hour later still no loo roll so asked again to be told by the bar lady she had looked but couldn't find any and the key for the disabled one was missing so I could get none from there. When we asked about an item on the menu she just gave a one worded answer, sniggered again and walked off. In the end a member of public had to get some from behind the bar for us thank god! We then promptly left and went elsewhere for food. Do not bother with this place it has gone down hill!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Catalina_pikkalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent, standard pub food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

the restaurant is nicely decorated and there is a pleasant atmosphere inside.
there are plenty of places to park and easy to find.
the food is a decent price, but its much more worth the value when you get two for one!
had a slight incident with the knives and forks served they looked as though they hadn't been washed, though this has only happened once out of four visits, everyone has slip ups.

overall it is a standard sizzling pub, decent sized food at a fairly price, not the best in taste but cant complain for a pub lunch, good atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Always enjoy the meal in here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

On our doorstep so always end up here at least once a month, plenty of choice and good value for money

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank marion r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The York also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to The York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing