We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub Serving BBQ'd Food & Curry”

Merry Maid Grill and bar
Ranked #163 of 2,220 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Indian, Pub, Grill
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Solihull UTD
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Pub Serving BBQ'd Food & Curry”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Ok let's begin if you have been or heard of the Sportsman Club or The Vine PH (both in West Brom B70) & The Farcroft PH in Handsworth B21 then basically this pub/cuisine works on that same basis.

This place is a small friendly old fashioned corner boozer that serves tasty indoor BBQ'd food & basic curries which you can wash down with a few jars or you can just easily takeaway instead to eat at home. This place serves BBQ/Curries all year round like most Indian family run pubs dotted around the northwest of Birmingham & in the Black Country.

So to clear matters up for everyone this place is NOT the Ritz's michelin star restaurant or even your average plastic pub type eaterie ok. Regarding the comment below Tripadvisor regards any sitdown eating place as a restaurant so check by ringing before going if your a little unsure.

Finally if you are bored of the same old Indian/Bangladeshi food on offer on the A45 Coventry Rd like me & the gimmicky free cheap ice cream & free Irish Meadow (poor man's Baileys) they throw in to wow people try this friendly place because the food is different but certainly hits the spot for a definite return visit soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TenBears72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    34
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Went there after a long time and was pleasantly surprised with the food had a chicken balti with a naan, the taste was amazing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shindha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Good Find”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Found myself in Birminghan for 3 days on a course so I went to try this place.
From the outside it is a bit rough looking , went in and it was like a good local pub plenty of people in I had a drink and the frendly barman told me if I wanted food there was more room in the other bar at the back, I went through and orderd food (indian) it was one of the best indian meals I have ever had not expensive.
If you have a chance try it once and big portions.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
Level 6 Contributor
904 reviews
571 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
“Too many suspicious looking reviews so went and checked it out and...its average at best.”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Having had my suspicions about the number of "excellent" reviews in a short space of time and noting how many were from people who were posting first or second ever review on TA it was time to check it out for myself.
It's not in the nicest of surroundings and is a basic bar with an Indian grill menu. Big portions yep, food varied in quality, nothing great nothing bad but nothing to go out of your way for. Does a job no doubt, but clearly not deserving of so many top reviews nor a number one slot for Birmingham.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank brianthelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Merry indeed !!”
Reviewed 28 February 2013 via mobile

I have to say what an excellent time I had in this Bar.

The staff are friendly and the food fantastic, a restaurant it isn't but the back room is well appointed for all needs and the front bar made me reminisce of how all pubs used to be.

A bar man who I think was called Mick seemed to be the hardest working man in Birmingham, the other chap ( Raj ) I think? Played a lot of pool.

Whatever your needs the MerryMaid really is one size fits all.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank I8432r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Merry Maid Grill and bar also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Merry Maid Grill and bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing