We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT the place to visit”
Review of Missoula Bar

Missoula Bar
Ranked #1,406 of 2,220 Restaurants in Birmingham
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“NOT the place to visit”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The service is good, the food is good but the pricing is atrocious. We ordered two meals for a tenner twice. One meal never arrived until we had kicked up a fuss. When we checked the bill later we found we had been charged full price for the late meal. Never again! Then I found out this has happened to others.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bishopsmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    23
    9
    7
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Warm, attentive and fast NOT!!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We entered to have breakfast, there were 4 people behind the bar, none of them acknowledged us, they were far too busy chatting, we where unsure as to the ordering procedure so we took a seat and waited, waited some more, continued to wait for another 10 minutes, all the while 4 (YES 4) staff chatted behind the bar, apart from us there was only 1 other table, we left extremely annoyed and would never return or recommend 

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gl0w0rm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice Cocktails & Food - Upgrade Decor PLEASE”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We went here on a beautiful sunny Saturday before a show to relax and grab a bite. It wasnt packed but busy enough. We got served drinks straightaway and the 2 for 1 cocktails was great. Staff were helpful and polite. We ordered a 'Mountain Plank' which came really quickly on a large plank which was a nice gimmick. Portions were plentiful and the food tasted good. Would definitely have that again. Sadly the seating decor wasnt upto the standard I would expect for a Bar & Grill based in the City centre. I would really be embarrassed if I had to bring a business client or an important visitor to sit down where we were. Please sort it out, its letting you down! Other than that it was a nice place to come and a pleasant experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JSL75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very attentive staff”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We visited here just for drinks. Yes the decor is a little dated, hence only for stars, but the staff were lovely, not only very attractive but also very attentive and thorough. They took so much trouble over my Guinness, even down to the fact the cleaned down the sides of the glass before giving it to me, something I've never seen done before.
Would have no hesitation in coming back, thanks girls :)

Helpful?
Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“If you'd like bar food done badly.....”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Look no further! We ate here early evening on a Saturday. It wasn't terribly busy, we managed to find a table easily....ordered a round of cocktails....so far so good!
We decided food would be a good idea....something light-ish....so three of us ordered toasted melt sandwiches....all three barely toasted, and barely melted! Pretty grim!
One person ordered the lasagne....even pub grub lasagne is usually pretty standard fare....this one though was thick with bechamel topping not really very cheesy, very little meat filling....the filling there was, was overwhelmed with rosemary....almost inedible! Garlic bread that came with it was just a warm buttered flat bread....no garlic in sight!!!
After finishing, a member of staff came to take the plates.....we told him the food was really poor and he just nervously giggled....no apology, no I'll tell the chef.....nothing!!!
I'd never choose to eat here ever again!

Helpful?
Thank Gentle_Ben_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Missoula Bar also viewed

Sheldon, Birmingham
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Missoula Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing