We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful food and friendly staff”

Shanghai Shanghai Dim Sum Chinese Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #542 of 2,245 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Shanghai Shanghai Chinese Restaurantis located in central China Town, Birmingham (1st Floor The Arcadian) an easy walking distance from the Bull Ring Market, the Local Theatre and Birmingham Train Station. We quickly became one of the most popular Chinese Restaurant in the Birmingham China Town.The Cuisine here is traditional Cantonese style, typical of what you would find in Hong Kong. We are frequented by many of the local families. We are widely regarded as the best Chinese restaurant for the Chinese in the West Midlands. Our Menu has over 250 dishes, as well as a wide range of drink and wine list. We are also very pround to bring out over a wide varity of authentic hot and spicy Sichuan cuisine, specifically designed to the Mainland Chinese Taste.
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful food and friendly staff”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Went to shanghai shanghai for a birthday treat in the evening and the food was absolutely beautiful. The standard of the food there is quality. I use to come here before when it was called the golden pond and have dim sum. Well I think its 5 stars out of 5 for good quality and value for money. Staff was very friendly even though we came in quite late in the evening, the waiter reassured us not to worry and take our time. Will be definitely coming here again. Xx

Helpful?
Thank yin888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    62
    20
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would go again when we visit Birmingham”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely meal when we went last week. Staff were attentive, portion size was large and the restaurant was clean and tidy. We will go again when we visit Birmingham. Great value for money.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solihull
Level 6 Contributor
853 reviews
527 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 456 helpful votes
“Visiting Shanghai Shanghai once again..... twice in a week”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Went to Shanghai again on a lunch time as you can have the full dim sum menu at lunchtime as well as the other menus.The four of us (myself,wife and two 14 yr boys) shared the following....Steamed prawn dumplings with chives £3.50...Steamed prawn dumplings £3.20....Steamed beef meat balls £2.80....Steamed glutinous rice with minced meats £3.50....House special fried king prawns £3.50...Deep fried prawn spring roll with sesame £3.00.
Once again all the dim sum were excellent

We (my wife and I ) returned the following Saturday night with friends and shared .....
Salt and pepper chilli chicken wings £5.00.....Steamed prawn dumplings with pork £4.00...Sizzling fillet steak with black bean sauce £12.50....Roast duck with honey and black pepper sauce £8.50....King prawn Szechuan £9.50....Shanghai Shanghai special grilled sea bass spicy flavour hot pot £18.80......Beef cooked with cumin £9.80....Egg fried rice £3.00.....Steamed plain rice £2.00

Every course was very tasty and cooked to perfection....(my favourites the Beef with cumin and the excellent Sea bass hot pot) and as usual all the staff were polite and helpful with advice to the menus.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank busterSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stratford on avon
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“would go again”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Last minute decision to go here. Very efficient service, very pleasant staff. Nice food, bit too much of it but they put it in take away boxes for us to finish off after our theatre visit. will definitely go again

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ibizafeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Grumpy but Good!”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I took my girlfriend here for our valentines meal (2014) and found that the staff were all very grumpy and a bit rude! Apart from that service was quick and the food was excellent - I tried Dim Sum for the first time and I loved it!

I will definitely come here again as the food was excellent - it just wouldn't hurt if the staff smiled a bit more!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JacobLewis1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shanghai Shanghai Dim Sum Chinese Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Shanghai Shanghai Dim Sum Chinese Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing