We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Ranked #46 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
West Midlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Our room which incidently was a disabled room 916, although we are not disabled was absolutely freezing, initially we couldn't work out the air conditioning as there were no instructions and when we did it was totally inadequate. Called reception for help but none came.
Because of the nature of the room the bathroom was a wet room and I do mean wet! after having a shower the floor was completely saturated with no means of clearing the water away - quite dangerous in my mind.
Breakfast was of a poor quality and a bit of a free for all.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnClaudio9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew G, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear OnClaudio9,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I am very disapointed to read that everything was not to your expecatations.

If i could ask you to contact me directly by email with a contact number for yourself i am happy to discuss your experience further, my email address is andrew.goode@hiebirmingham.com

Kind Regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    436
    197
    45
    34
See reviews for
160
247
46
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
santander
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

arrived quite late, tired after a long trip, to have to go up and down those stupid steps twice to the reception and the lift. Then had a cold room waiting us. couldn't find heater at first, shivered for 1/2 hr, til i stumbled across it near the door. wardrobe, bit of a joke, shampoo, where, just soap dispenser. breakfast tomorrow, lets see

Room Tip: ask for a harder bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guapo59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments about you recent stay with us, I am sorry to hear your stay with us was not up to your standards. Your feedback is always valuable to us for future improvements however we do have lifts as well as stairs on ground floor reception to access all areas of the hotel, with regards to heating the heating operates via the air con and also portable heaters are available on request. As a Holiday Inn Express brand we provide hand gel and hair and body shower gel dispensar, for future refence our other brands like Crowne Plaza and Holiday Inn etc..., they do provide tolitries and amenities.


Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards

Neila Carvalho
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Booked this hotel with friends because of reviews, and it's closeness to the German xmas market and Bullring. Very helpful staff and comfortable beds with soft or firm pillow choices and an excellent bathroom with a good size walk in shower. Breakfast has a limited choice, but something for everyone. Only fault we could find was hanging space in bedroom not a great deal for 2. But apart from that would recommend this hotel to anyone, we had a great stay. You also get discounted parking in the car park which next to the hotel.
FJC. Essex.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frederick c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy T, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your fantastic five star reviews I am so delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Lucy Thapa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Went to brum for the German market with the wife on Saturday and she booked up the holiday inn express at snow hill .
Probably the easiest hotel to get to as it sits just off A38 ...ample parking right next door. Got there slightly early but room was ready and check in was a breeze with very helpful , pleasant staff.
Room was modern and clean and nice and quiet .
Spent the day,evening and night enjoying birmingham and when we got back the security man was very nice and efficient .
Blackout curtains in the room made it pitch black and as it was so quiet had a great nights sleep almost to the point that nearly missed breakfast :)
The free breakfast included was top notch just the thing for soaking up that German beer .
All in all the whole stay was excellent ...staff,amenities,location.
I will stay there again and highly recommend it.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beanyboy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy T, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic reviews . As a valued guest your feedback and Comment is always
important to us and i will definitely share your comment to our entire team.


I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel

Kind Regards
Lucy Thapa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here due to deal off internet, would highly recommend. Great helpful staff, arrived to early but let us leave our bags, gave us and helped with a map, room lovely, nice comfy bed and pillows, bathroom nice, slightly dusty but that's me and my OCD, overall would stay here again, great location and half price parking from hotel too, good job keep up the good work...

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanette1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neila C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thnak you for your comments about your recent stay with us, I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed you stay and look foward to see you soon.

KInd regards

Neila Carvalho
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We were redirected to this hotel following a massive double booking at the Hampton Hilton on broad street.
Great fuss free check in, clean good sized room, free drinks for disruption, breakfast is a bit basic but welcome after such a massive mess up by Hampton Hilton.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank thebalshaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neila C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to give us a fantastic review about the hotel, i am delighted to hear that your stay with us was great.

Once again thank you for your feedback and look foward to see you in the near future.

Kind regards

Neila Carvalho
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
394 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This Holiday Inn Express seems very new as everything is bright and fresh. It is very well positioned to be able to walk into the city. I drove there and knew I should aim for the adjacent NCP car park where you receive a reduction by validating your ticket at the desk. Unfortunately I found it very difficult to find the entrance to the car park and had to circle around twice. I subsequently found that there is an entrance under an arch by the hotel which would have been much easier than turning earlier. I could not see a sign from the road indicating this entrance and suggest this could be put up to help future guests. Once in the hotel I was impressed with the large reception area with very pleasant staff who booked us in very efficiently and quickly. I was on the 16th floor and had a very large comfortable room which had all the necessary amenities (including plenty of hangers for clothes) and the usual Holiday Inn fantastic comfortable roomy bed with choice of pillows. The bathroom was excellent with large walk-in shower and fabulous big soft towels. I slept really well. I don't understand why some people complain about breakfast - there was plenty of choice with fruit juice, fruit, sausages, eggs, beans, pastries and toast. The coffee was delicious. And it is all included in the rate! You would pay several pounds for this in most hotels. Added to this is free internet making the hotel fantastic value for money. I think that this is an excellent hotel and would recommend it without reservation.

Room Tip: Choose a high room if available as good view and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for a five star review , I am so delighted you enjoyed your stay with us .
I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Regards
Lucy Thapa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#31 of 117 in Birmingham
1,177 reviews
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill

Property: Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Address: 1 St. Chads Queensway, Birmingham B4 6HY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing