We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, breakfast not great.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Ranked #45 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, breakfast not great.”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Had a one night stay at the holiday inn express for a stop over in the city. The hotel was lovely, very clean and the staff welcoming and helpful when we arrived.

The room I stayed in was a twin room which was extremely spacious and again very clean, which is always great and makes you feel much more comfortable. Very impressed with the bathroom facilities with a fantastic shower. Only thing I would comment on is there is not a lot of hanging space for more than one person, but everything else great.

Was a little disappointed with breakfast, especially the cooked breakfast being only offered scrambled egg, sausage and beans... no bacon or hash browns?! Also not a lot of fruit on offer which was a shame.

But overall a lovely stay just a little downside on the breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy T, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. You feedback is always valuable to us as part of our commitment to customer satisfaction. In regards to breakfast The Holiday Inn Express brand provides a complimentary self-service continental breakfast with three hot items only and I will forward your review to my manager.

Thank you once again your feedback is always valuable to us and I do hope to welcome you back in the near future

Regards
Lucy Thapa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    442
    200
    45
    35
See reviews for
162
248
47
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed for 3 night break for theatre and concert trip.Check-in was fast and friendly.Our room on the 8th floor was immaculate and well sound proofed from traffic.Bathroom excellent with large walk-in shower.Room temperature well controlled by air-con system which was not a noisy intrusion.Breakfast was as expected.All the staff were efficient and friendly.
Would definitely use again if in Brum.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teignwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for another great feedback about the hotel, I am really pleased to hear that you have found your room clean and well presented , also the staff were at hand to assist you during your stay but most importantly that you had a great time here.

It is always a great pleasure to receive feedback from our guests and I appreciate you taking the time to post such a positive review.

We look foward to welcome you back to the Holiday In Express Birmingham Snow Hill again soon.

Kind regards

Neila Carvalho
Guest Service Manager
neila.carvalho@hiebirmingham.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

You can't fault this for the price - £43 if booked in advance, it is without a doubt the best budget hotel i've stayed - well above Travelodge, Premier Inn etc
Brand new fittings and furnishings, lovely big shower...a sofa in our room.
The breakfast buffet was spot on - hot and cold choices.
Location is great, quiet and away from noisy clubs but just 10 mins walk away from most things.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueGrumpyBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a fantastic feedback, I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us ans we look foward to welcome you back.

Kind regards

Neila Carvalho
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London Town
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Got a two night GroupOn back in July when the hotel first opened.

This is a really good Holiday Inn Express and really does justice to what the chain are trying to offer.

The staff on reception were great at check in and couldn´t do enough to ask about our journey and what our stay was for - pleasant surprise after surly check in experiences at other HIE hotels so keep this up !

The room was very spacious and had everything needed for a decent night of sleep. Location is great and we had fun exploring Birmingham with everything being a short walk away. Stayed on one of the hottest weekends of 2013 and the aircon was superb - must have been it´s first real test in a new hotel.

Breakfast is decent for "free" at the HIE. Not too busy and was replenished regularly.

They need to look at their lifts which take AGES....

Other than that, great stay. Would be good for business or leisure travellers. Absolute bargain weekend with a Cadbury World Trip - saved lots of money and splurged in Birminghams best restaurants as a result !!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SthLondonTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and I am pleased to hear that your stay with was was brilliant and that you have found the staff friendly and helpful, I have have passed on your comments to the staff, they will be encourage by it.

Once again thank you for your kind feedbac and hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards

Neila Carvalho
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This Holiday Inn seemed quite new, very clean bright reception with plenty of staff to check you in. My room was on the 4th floor facing the busy main road, but I didn't hear any traffice noise as the soundproof windows were brilliant.
The room was a good size, bathroom very modern with a lovely walk in shower.

Breakfast was good with everything you would want to eat for breakfast. It's a good 10min walk from New St Station but quite central to shops, bars and resturants. Definately go back to this holiday inn.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wirraltravller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew G, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Wirraltravller,

Thank you for your excellent review of your recent stay with us. I am happy to read that everything was as you expected.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Kind Regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Our room which incidently was a disabled room 916, although we are not disabled was absolutely freezing, initially we couldn't work out the air conditioning as there were no instructions and when we did it was totally inadequate. Called reception for help but none came.
Because of the nature of the room the bathroom was a wet room and I do mean wet! after having a shower the floor was completely saturated with no means of clearing the water away - quite dangerous in my mind.
Breakfast was of a poor quality and a bit of a free for all.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnClaudio9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew G, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear OnClaudio9,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I am very disapointed to read that everything was not to your expecatations.

If i could ask you to contact me directly by email with a contact number for yourself i am happy to discuss your experience further, my email address is andrew.goode@hiebirmingham.com

Kind Regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santander
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

arrived quite late, tired after a long trip, to have to go up and down those stupid steps twice to the reception and the lift. Then had a cold room waiting us. couldn't find heater at first, shivered for 1/2 hr, til i stumbled across it near the door. wardrobe, bit of a joke, shampoo, where, just soap dispenser. breakfast tomorrow, lets see

Room Tip: ask for a harder bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guapo59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments about you recent stay with us, I am sorry to hear your stay with us was not up to your standards. Your feedback is always valuable to us for future improvements however we do have lifts as well as stairs on ground floor reception to access all areas of the hotel, with regards to heating the heating operates via the air con and also portable heaters are available on request. As a Holiday Inn Express brand we provide hand gel and hair and body shower gel dispensar, for future refence our other brands like Crowne Plaza and Holiday Inn etc..., they do provide tolitries and amenities.


Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards

Neila Carvalho
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#38 of 117 in Birmingham
1,192 reviews
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill

Property: Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Address: 1 St. Chads Queensway, Birmingham B4 6HY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing