We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean and spacious. Better breakfast required.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Ranked #48 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The room itself was great. Nice big bed, blackout curtains and a great shower. In a place like Birmingham you're not going to be living in the hotel outside sleeping hours so it was fine.

Work needs to be done on the breakfast though. You can argue that you get what you pay for (the breakfast was included in the price), but the quality of the sausages and scrambled eggs need much improvement. My girlfriend said that the eggs tasted as though they had some sort of meat product in them; she's vegetarian, so if true that would be a worry.

Overall, good for a stay and you won't be hungry if you have breakfast there. If you're on a budget then you can't go wrong.

[PS - Scout out parking before you go because otherwise you'll pay £12 for overnight]

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GLSBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I am deighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We are currently revewing our breakfast products , but please rest assured the eggs have not meat products .
Kind regards
Andrea Whigham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,067)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

825 - 831 of 1,067 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is brilliant, we got to check in early as our room was ready. We had a room on the 17th floor and the view was spectacular! The room was huge and very spacious. The bed was comfortable and the choice of pillow was a great option. The value is very good for such a modern hotel thats a 5 minute walk from the city centre. We slept very well and were treated brilliantly. Will definitely stay again! Its a bonus that you get a free breakfast too!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Steph096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Steph096,

Thank you for your five star review! I am so delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always great to read an excellent review form our valued guests. I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Gillian Duthie
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Check in was quick effective and very friendly. Checked in by Jessica, very friendly and efficient, also able to advise me of a good local pub (which turned out to be really good!). Only problem during my stay was the TV did not work however after calling down to reception, Gillian the Duty Manager fixed it within minutes and all with a smile. Room was comfortable and quiet. Breakfast and WIFI included, did not have breakfast but nice to know it was an option. Great hotel will definitely return, well done Holiday Inn Express you have impressed a very picky customer!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carstar2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express hotel. As a valued guest your feedback and Comment is always important to us and we have looked into the dinner issue.


I hope that should you choose to stay with us again you will find our service much improved.

Kind Regards
Lucy Thapa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We had a room on the 19th floor with a view over Birmingham. The room was clean & modern with tea & coffee making facilities and a hairdryer. The room had the sofa bed made up which we did not need and made it a bit tight for space but, other than that, I cannot find any faults and we slept well. The staff were very friendly. I though breakfast would be very busy but it wasn't. It was easy to find a table and there was everything we needed, although the breakfast is continental. The cost of parking was disappointing at £12.05 for our stay but we would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManUtdFan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neila C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for a fantastic feedback, I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your recent stay stay with us and look foward to see you back soon.

Kind regards

Neila Carvalho
Guest Service Manager
neila.carvalho@hiebirmingham.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stayed here with a work friend in March. Check in was quick and very professional. The staff were helpful and very cheerful. The reception staff obviously love their job....
The room was bright and clean and had all the usual modern facilities.
Break fast was free and consisted of a continental style breakfast.
Check out again was hassle free.
The diner menu was very small but had enough to chose from as we were only there 1 night.
The food when it arrived was very good.
Only thing we did not like was that the starter (soup) and the main. (Pizza) were served at the same time.
Otherwise, highly recommended.

Room Tip: They are all fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dolphinboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express hotel. As a valued guest your feedback and Comment is always important to us .

I hope that should you choose to stay with us again you will find our service much improved.

Kind Regards
Lucy Thapa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed here for one night as part of a cheap deal purchased on Groupon that included access to Cadbury World. It isn't far from the central shopping area, but is within the City Centre and fairly central. It is a reasonable drive through heavy traffic to Cadbury World in Bournville and the hotel provides discounted parking at the multi storey car park next door.

The surrounding environment seemed quiet, but safe.

The room are fairly basic and business like, but well maintained and spacious, with a small space for clothes storage, a flat screen TV and a reasonably sized en-suite. The bed was comfortable and the surroundings quiet.

The breakfast buffet was nice with a reasonable, but not great variety and was included in our stay. It wasn't too busy and it was easy to get to everything and get a seat.

The service here was good and the staff helpful.

I would recommend this hotel for a short stay in Birmingham.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emily2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Guest ,
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express hotel. As a valued guest your feedback and Comment is always important to us and to avoid this experience and to improve all aspects of our service.

I do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Lucy Thapa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The room was nice but, because we needed twin beds, were offered a double & double Z bed. The double bed was fine but my poor husband slept on the Z bed. The mattress was so thin that he could feel the springs from the base, all night. It was also so big & placed by the bathroom door which made it difficult to get to the bathroom. The room was also very cold & the heating did not work. It was reported to reception, but nothing done to mend it, we were told that they had forgotten.That was not good service, although other areas of the hotel had good service. The breakfast was very good, which was a big plus. The hotel was very clean. The parking was expensive at £12. The hotel do get it half the price for 24 hours but it is still a big extra.I would stay again, if I could have a room with heating & my husband could have a comfortable bed, not a put you up.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flo413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for your review. I am sorry your stay was flawed by our service.
In regards to the room we always assign the room type guest books and heating has been recently installed so there shouldn’t have been any problem. But i am sorry my team wasn’t there to assist you. If you do wish to discuss this matter further please do not hesitate to contact me.
I do hope to welcome you back in the near future

Kind Regards

Lucy Thapa
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snowhill
1 Snow Hill Plaza
St Chads, Queensway
Birmingham
B4 6HY

E: lucy.thapa@hiebirmingham.com
M: 01216473999
F:01213693889

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#39 of 118 in Birmingham
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4,001 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill

Address: 1 St. Chads Queensway, Birmingham B4 6HY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £50 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing