We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel shame about the breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Ranked #44 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good hotel shame about the breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

The hotel is new and well placed for our office. The bedrooms are relatively spacious for a budget hotel. I had a slight issue with the room being too warm but that was not a major issue. Only slight negative the tv was quite small and not in a brilliant position. All good so far the major downside for me was the breakfast the cooked food is clearly from the budget range, the is just about drinkable. I know that the breakfast is free but I would prefer to pay more and have for example boiled or poached eggs.
However overall good value for money

Room Tip: Higher floors my room on the 4th floor had frosted windows, not sure if they all have on that floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacst44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry your stay was flawed by our breakfast standards.

As you are aware the Holiday Inn Express brand provides a complimentary self-service continental breakfast with three hot items only. I am sorry we didn’t meet the standard but as an express brand this is what we are providing through out.

However, your feedback is valuable to us as a part of our commitment to customer satisfaction to work on what we need to do next.

I do hope to welcome you back in the near future

Kind Regards
Lucy Thapa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    418
    187
    43
    32
See reviews for
158
239
42
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Lovely clean hotel , great comfy room with fantastic view , but.... Couldn't sleep due to really noisy air on and it is in a position so that it blows directly on to you in bed. So either had it on and had a cool wind and a really noisy air con or turned it off and cooked to a dry crisp. Oh for a window to open!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window that opens
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Hotel , I am sorry that your stay was flawed by the maintenance issue.

We have reported and actioned the issue in regards to AC but the windows are close for a health and safety reason as it is a very tall building .

I hope that should you choose to stay with us again you will find our service much improved

Regards
Lucy Thapa

Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

The rooms are good sized, nice furniture. It could be more shelf there.
We were on the 16th floor, and the view was really beautiful.
The room was very clean. Soft pillows, good night sleep.
The breakfast was ok, it could be more fruit, and veg. to choose from, e.g. mushrooms, tomato etc.
Overall a nice experience, value for money, would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank szilfid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for completing a review on tripadvisor, i am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we can welcome you back soon

Kind regards
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

hotel booked for my three of us at £60 a night including breakfast though hotel.com. thought it was a bargain as it was ofr a weekend stay- however beds were hard/lumpy- small rooms for family rooms, sofa bed was absolutely rubbish- my daughter couldnt sleep a wink and double bed was very cozy for two adults. break fast was ridiculous- the staff were very minimal on sunday- long line up and wait ofr hot food- chocolate criossants burnt- they could not cope with huge volume of patrons- such a shame. wont be going there again :( no bath even though we requested one, long wait for lifts- on plus side staff were nice, hotel is clean, and central, and can leave luggage in lockers to collect later.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhananif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I am sorry that you found some of our standards lacking on this occasion . The sofa beds would normally accomodate 2 small children or 1 adult- my apologises that you found both uncomfortable.

Breakfast can be very busy on a Sunday and we have implemented a traffic light system to help things flow more easily- I am sorry that it does not seem to have worked on this occasion.

Please rest assured that we will work to improve in these areas and value any feedback that allows us to do this.

Kind regards
Andrea Whigham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yukon, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Great hotel near Birmingham New Street train station. I arrived late evening and staff was very friendly & helpful. Excellent breakfast that is included in room rate. Deep bathtub. Comfy bed. Bar is open late and pizza & drinks are available. Staff arranged a taxi following check out and he showed up as scheduled. Would stay again. Night manager Paul was great!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momx3j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee G, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Momx3j

Thank you for your 5 star review.
I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us, I have passed you kind comments onto all the staff especially Paul

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Snow - Hill in the near future

Kind Regards
Lee Goodman
Guest Services Manager - Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here 1 night on business. Very impressed with the service, attitude of the staff and overall general appearance. Very central for shopping and restaurants etc. Car parking in nearby NCP , and the hotel will validate your ticket for half price in the car park.

Room Tip: Try and get an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoryMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee G, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear MalMcPhail

thank you for your review,

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed your kind comments and feedback on to all the team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Snow - Hill in the near future.

Kind Regards
Lee Goodman
Guest Services Manager - Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel as part of living social deal including Cadbury world pass. Excellent value for money. Breakfast simple , continental and some cooked foods, just enough to start the day off. Hotel good standard and walking distance to the bull ring. No parking in hotel but there is one around the corner. Wifi in our room great. Reception even gave us take away menus as our baby needed to go to sleep. Great stay and definitely good hotel to be in.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Welshcocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Welshcocker

Thank you for you 5 star review. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back, in the near future.

Kind Regards
Lee Goodman
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
The Royal Angus Hotel
#56 of 118 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#32 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#33 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill

Property: Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Address: 1 St. Chads Queensway, Birmingham B4 6HY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing