We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice refurb prices high”

The Old Contemptibles
Ranked #75 of 2,199 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$17
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: You will find The Old Contemptibles in Edmund Street Birmingham within a short stroll of Corporation Street, Colemore Row and New Street - however you won't find another like it.Step in to discover a traditional pub of unique character, revered for its eclectic range of real ales and its quality pub food, which are served, as they should be, with a generous measure of famous British hospitality.The Old Contemptibles is one of many rare gems in the Nicholson's collection of great British pubs, reputed for their distinctive buildings, intriguing history and vibrant atmosphere.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
555 reviews
314 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“nice refurb prices high”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

popped in the other evening to see how the refurb is and have to say they have done a decent job on it what is not so good is the price of a standard ale is now £3.60 they seem to be chargeing london prices

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felicity B, Manager at The Old Contemptibles, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hi

Thank you for your review!

Unfortunately there was a technical problem with our tills and so our ale prices were wrong. We have our house ale as £3.05 (Purity - UBU) and then guest ales vary but are between £3.30 and £3.50.

I would like to apologise for the issues with the prices and hope that you will come back and visit us again!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    87
    26
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Oh dear..change for the worse”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Used to quite like this pub but went in yesterday and it was dreadful, not enough staff, groups of customers walking out in frustration the guy who served us knew nothing about the ales they were serving, some of which seemed to be chosen with the idea of projecting a look how trendy we are effect... Cherry pale YUK!!!! Not enough room as diners in the main bar were taking up tables although there was lots of space in the dining room, reminds me a bit of the Philharmonic in Liverpool... Style over substance...Won't be going back lots of better places in Brum.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rowan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“fantastic local pub in city centre !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

great discovery on a weekend over in Birmingham- great selection of beers,lagers and wines. Didn't eat -but people next to us had fish and chips and home made scotch egg -which they said was lovely .great atmosphere .

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shaz1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ostrava, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
179 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“British pub lovers welcome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

It was a rainy day, drops kept running down my face so I jacked up the coat around my neck tightly. Typical UK, I murmured. Then we've found this place, which ale and cider lovers must not miss, very cool atmosphere. Only shame is that they close at 11PM, which Czech folks are not accustomed to :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Friendly pub, great atmosphere. Good music, not intrusive. Most importantly, great drink selection. I'm a cider fan so loved the great selection. Perfect place for real ale fans too. Great clientele, slightly older crowd. We both loved the place and will definitely visit more.

Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Contemptibles also viewed

 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to The Old Contemptibles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing