We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst food I have ever tasted!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of IKEA

IKEA
Ranked #449 of 2,198 Restaurants in Birmingham
Cuisines: Fast food, European, Swedish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worst food I have ever tasted!”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Felt like I was back at school having a bad school dinner! Food has run out they were waiting to cook more even though it was a full restaurant. Food was SO overpriced compared to the taste. Had the most awful meatballs I have ever tasted would NOT recommend these. Would NEVER go back even if you begged me!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsHairpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    36
    24
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good store”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

large car park shop floor entered by escalator or lift with the café the first stop using the family card gets free tea and coffee Monday to Friday great range of choice available with varying prices all tills on ground floor usually a bit of a queue and a food shop with good choice

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank susan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What aplace to find!”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Super store but poor access off M6. Had set sat nav on postcode from website and ended up at back of building! After we left we were directed thru residential streets to make a U turn to get back to M6 jcn. OK for locals. Not easy for us "up from the country"!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Eat somewhere else!”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

First ever visit to Ikea as son was 'pricing' furniture so we decided to have a snack. Groan....two portions of fish & chips both tasted like rubber and my wife's soup was not the best, stodgy and not very hot. I'll wait till I get home if I ever have to go here again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyT49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlander (UK)
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“An great alternative to Motorway Services and a lot cheaper”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Literally at the side of the motorway, Ikea is a great stop off during the week.
Aged relative and I visited twice this week-first just to mooch and then to go back for lunch- we'd stopped off at the cafe to have a cup of tea and the salads looked so inviting, we went back the next day just for lunch.

The fish, as you'd expect, was fresh and piquant. The salmon lasagne was beautiful and the feta cheesecake was to die for. The strawberry tart was not too sweet. The only down side was that the tea was a bit on the weak side-the hot water didn't appear to be boiling.

But as I sat watching the traffic on the M6 in the light and airy cafe, I though what a good stop of it makes-however, not one for the weekend! It heaves.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank achilles1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed IKEA also viewed

 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Sheldon, Birmingham
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to IKEA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing