We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would be happy to go again”
Review of Mela

Mela
Ranked #235 of 2,207 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
West Dorset
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Would be happy to go again”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Clean and smart with pleasant staff.
Food good and very well presented but the lamb biryani could have done with a bit more lamb.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DocJon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    21
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knowle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet, discreet Harborne service”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

You walk past it in Harborne High Street... just a doorway and a small sign. But once the stairs are negotiated, the light, airy and not-too-big restaurant greets you with well appointed furniture and equally well appointed staff. Greeted and attended to immediately, the atmosphere was perfect for a meeting with a very old school friend and our respective wives. Garlic naan was cooked to perfection as was the Tawa dish I ordered. My comments to the owner / maitre d'i were comprehensively discussed. The Tawa [sometimes Thawa] I'm used to comes in a blue haze. The conflagration at Mela was more modest, as was the portion. But it was beautifully cooked and was just the right amount for what is a very rich dish. My friends enjoyed a standard biriani and we were given excellent brandies and Bailleys as the ubiquitous complimentary to conclude. Very polite, attentive service even if a little slow. But looks like everything was fresh. Can't have it both ways!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Uk
Level Contributor
109 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The tiny doorway that hides a hidden treasure”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We were heading home via Harborne and looked on Google for an Indian Restaurant.

Google said 'Best Indian in Harborne' - so high expectations.

We parked around the corner in a side street and followed Google Maps along the High Street. When it said we had arrived we were stood outside a doorway that lead to a flight of stairs - on well we had come this far.

We walked up the narrow stairway and were surprised to find a modern clean looking restaurant and we were greeted by a friendly waiter who showed us immediately to our table.

We ordered two curries. A house speciality with mixed meat and fish for hubby and a king prawn Malayan for me. We shared a portion of veg rice and a plain naan.

I am not a big curry fan and hubby jumps at the opportunity whenever he can if I say I fancy a curry - but I will certainly fancying a curry more often - this one was the best curry that I have ever had and the naan bread was yummy too.

I hate it when curry houses say mild and I get something too hot or something like a stew with no flavour - this chef understands flavour - super.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GIllyowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Really good! ”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Have passed this placed lots of times and always thought is it nice? Well the answer is it yes!!!!Popped in late on a Friday night had the chicken balti with egg fried rice. Very nice indeed. The rice was one of the best I have ever had. Think I will be going back to this place again!

Helpful?
Thank teammaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“supreme!”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

we have eaten heremany times and have never been disappointed. The food is wonderful, service excellent, great atmosphere and a fantastic takeaway and delivery service

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank kirkfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mela also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Mela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing