We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what I've been looking for!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Ranked #39 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just what I've been looking for!”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

What a find!
*Staff - wonderful. Genuinely welcoming when we checked in. Really helpful & friendly everytime we needed something. It really does make all the difference, so thank you to the team there.

*Breakfast - great to have it included & a real deal breaker! Buffet; cooked food was topped up/refreshed often. Lovely bacon, truly excellent sausages (less good on one day when apparently the delivery was wrong!), eggs, beans & potato thingies (yum!). Would've preferred to have a choice of fried or poached eggs though, as scrambled always go a bit sad/overcooked when done as a batch. Juice & coffee selection was as expected & decent. Likewise the continental choices.

*Room - 1st floor, king? with a sofa bed. Really spacious, just what we needed with a busy weekend. I LOVE the shower. Really. Love it. Fed up of average/miserable showers over baths. Who ever has a bath in a hotel anyhow?! Much prefer a really lovely, good quality shower - an absolutely pleasure to use!
The room & bathroom were spotlessly clean. I'm a sucker for cleanliness in hotels and normally spot things that have been missed. No problems here!
Bed was comfy. Could've done with a better duvet. Although the thermostat in the room was effective, I couldn't get a stable temperature...either too hot or too cold. With a better duvet we could manage our body temp without trying to control the whole room temp!
Good selection of TV channels, came in useful when I was back early one evening thanks to illness.
1st floor room, next to the tram station/line...could've been a disaster! Was not. Excellent double glazing, no sound leaking.

*Location - It's where we needed it, close to the Futsal arena. Walking distance even for me who is reliant on crutches at the moment. The area isn't a busy one (see previous references to being run-down) but as we had no plans on spending time in the area, who cares?! We managed a 10min walk (max) to a nice noodle restaurant, where there were a few other options too.

Overall this was IDEAL. Bar is open until late, the bar area is nicely laid out so individuals/couples can avoid slightly rowdier groups, the staff are excellent, the food is great, rooms are lovely and the location is ideal.
After our last two trips to Brum being blighted by an absolutely miserable hotel experience (cheaper but my oh my you know why!), I'm glad we splashed out the extra for 4 nights of comfort. And when you take into account that breakfast is included, a bit of cashback from our online booking and the distance...it really wasn't much pricier!

Thanks Hampton, we'll see you again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoenix177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    386
    146
    53
    51
See reviews for
189
257
50
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriends stayed here after some birthday shopping at the BullRing. Quite easy to get too and plenty of parking, hotel was clean, nicely decorated and friendly staff. Room was equipped with a 'floating' double bed which was comfy, big tv with plenty of channels, kettle with tea and coffee which was nice :) bathroom had a big shower which was nice and powerful.
Quiet sleep with no outside noise, even tho there are plenty of bars and restaurants close by for a bit of night entertainment.
Breakfast buffet was plentiful with lots of choice and a chilled feel in the morning.
All in all a great stay with no complaints from us :)
Thanks

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joeygrafton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Hotel was lovely.. Ideal location just steps away from the NIA. Check in was swift and the reception staff were friendly and helpful. Room was spacious, bed was comfy, tea and coffee making facilities and a TV (not that we spent that much time there!)
Breakfast was plentiful, lots of choice.
Check out pain free.
Would recommend and definitely use again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank missbeckyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed over the weekend with family. Clean and comfortable accomodation. Decent breakfast. Size of room very small. Care required with sofa bed - has sharp edges which is potentially dangerous especially for kids.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank ashraf_wasim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Very encouraged by the positive reviews, I booked into this Hampton. When we arrived, I had great difficulty in actually getting my wife into the hotel - she was put off, understandably by the shabby surroundings, the broken glass and dog ends strewn round the hotel frontage and entrance, and the pool of dried vomit on its very steps. The hotel is owned by the Birmingham Regeneration Partnership LLP, and is obviously a flagship project to revitalise a run-down part of the city (see photo for dereliction just along the road). It is situated between the A41 and the railway/tramway just north of Snow Hill Station.
Once settled in, we were generally pleased with the hotel. The double glazing was so good the trains and trams were a distant rumble. The hotel was new, even smelled new (do they use aerosols?!), breakfast was excellent, wifi snappy, the beds really comfortable, and the air conditioning quiet and effective. Above all, the staff were superb - very friendly and well trained. Handy for buses into the city and next door to St Paul's tram stop. Not really in the Jewellery Quarter, but five minutes from it, and the superb St Paul's Square, albeit through urban tat!
A couple on niggles: the water was not hot enough for shaving, a double bed had been put in a room without adequate clearances (I have the bruises to prove it), and the hospitality tray was a bit niggardly. Also the intercommunicating doors between our room (023) and the next (021) were so thin every word could be heard!
But in all, my "average" rating is indeed an average between excellent and poor. If I had one word of advice - fine if you don't mind the shabby area - but Hampton -- I know Birmingham City Council should sweep the street, but they didn't in the 4 days we were there-- so do clean up outside yourselves!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loughtonian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

If you want a hotel that of a high standard in every way with excellent staff then this is the one.Myself and a friend went to a concert but stayed over to shop etc,it was perfect! i would hav no problem to stay here on my own for buisness its so relaxed,fab place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 601lynd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights, the room was a decent size - lovely bright decor and dark woods! The bathroom is lovely, nice big walk in shower! Loved the soaps/shampoos in the dispensers too. Room also has lots of mirrors too. Only a couple of things to improve on, need more than 2 tea bags in the rooms and air con units need to be set at a higher temp, I was a cold on a couple of occasions. Still top marks!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MrAdyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#41 of 117 in Birmingham
1,212 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#26 of 117 in Birmingham
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 117 in Birmingham
3,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North

Property: Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Address: 98-104 Constitution Hill, Birmingham B19 3JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North. Our modern hotel is just a 10 minute walk from the city center and offers easy access to the M6/M5 Motorway. Perfect for both business and leisure travelers; The National Indoor Arena, ICC and Broad Street are just a 10 minute walk and the hotel is adjacent to St Paul's Tram Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing