We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch Indian Food!”
Review of Khyber Pass

Khyber Pass
Ranked #725 of 2,207 Restaurants in Birmingham
Cuisines: Asian, Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top notch Indian Food!”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Ok, obviously the decor is a bit dated and a bit in need of restoration, but I actually like that in a "Curry House". I have to say that this restaurant offered probably the best Indian food we have every had, served in traditional indian metal baltis. Very reasonable price and very friendly staff. Will be back 100%!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“enjoying this restaurant for generations”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

my grandparents, my parents, myself and now my children have all eaten here and enjoyed every visit!!!
the food is always fresh tasting and the staff are always smiling. such a small almost hole in the wall place but producing huge pleasure =-)
Don't miss the chance to choose this place when you're hungry!!!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wonky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fresh everyday”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I normally get takeaway from this place and have to say, everything Is made fresh for you straight away. I think this is what is so gr8 about them as their food tastes purely delicious. I love their lamb karahi as well as their peshawari chappali kebabs. They have a very decent, clean seating area awell if want to eat in. The prices aren't really expensive either.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Manzoor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better at what it does”
Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

Pros
Authentic ethnic food
Excellent food
Seperate place for families

Cons
A bit pricey
Limited selection of food

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewmanAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Warwickshire, England
Level Contributor
163 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Terrific tasting balti at a great price”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I was introduced to this place by my brother-in-laws several years ago. They have been visiting here since the early nineties (and very little has changed, including the decor and the owner).

The Alum Rock Road is not somewhere that most people would have on their list of places to eat in Birmingham. It's in the heart of one of Birmingham's biggest Asian communities, about 5 miles east of the city centre, and is rather run down in places. However, once over the threshold of this small and rather dated restaurant, your taste buds are in for a real treat!

The walls and ceiling are covered in varnished pine cladding and the carpet is typically patterned. The seats are padded and vinyl covered - most have seen better days and the tables are quite small but adequate. There are maybe around 40 covers in all.

Although the restaurant has a stock of canned soft drinks you'll need to take your own beer and wine - the restaurant will supply you with an opener. There is an off-licence about 5 minutes walk away if you need it.

Poppadoms are served with only one sauce (a rather unspectacular white mint sauce) and the choice of starters is fairly typical but portion sizes are decent and most are between £1.90 and £3.

However, it's the superb balti dishes that make a visit to 'The Khyber' well worth the effort. My regular dish is Balti Meat (Lamb) with Spinach and it's making my mouth water just thinking about it. They really are a treat worth seeking out and at just under £7 for a balti and a couple of chapattis you can't go wrong!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BuzzardFlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Khyber Pass also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Khyber Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing