We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MIXED PLATTER”

Hen and Chickens PH
Ranked #61 of 2,207 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Barbecue, Indian, Pub, Grill
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“MIXED PLATTER”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

I was recently in Birmingham with colleagues and we ate here both nights as the food was so good. Do not be fooled by the look of the restaurant/pub from the outside, this is an amazing restaurant. The mixed platter is one of the best dishes I have ever had. All the food was great and the was surprising cheap when we received the bill.

Helpful?
1 Thank jamesdimitrifletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    500
    122
    34
    16
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Veberod, Sweden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We reserved a table for 2 at Hen and Chickens PH and the food was fantastic and cheap too. We enjoyed it very much and would recommend to anyone.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dastler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, fantastic value”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

If you want a great curry for a great price, this is the place for you. The pub is low key but the grub is excellent

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Food ok, surroundings not so great!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Food fine, but not the best curry I've had in Birmingham. The people I went with had the mixed grill which is essentially a pile of meat on a plate and they enjoyed it! The problem is the place is really a drinkers pub, it's not comfortable to eat in, they have TVs on loud in both rooms which meant we couldn't talk, and there is no service, especially in the back room where you have to shout through the serving hatch. So all in all good for a reasonably priced meal out, but doesn't deserve to be #2 in Brum on tripadvisor!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Xinatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birmingham Gem”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Inauspicious pub just off the A38 - don't let that fool you.

You will receive a warm and friendly welcome. Superb value for money Indian food in generous helpings.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hen and Chickens PH also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Hen and Chickens PH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing