We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old style pub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Fox Theatre Birmingham

The Old Fox Theatre Birmingham
Ranked #521 of 2,187 Restaurants in Birmingham
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old style pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

A good old style pub in the city centre , gets you away from all of the modern tappings , serves real ale ( although I drink lager ) the beer is a reasonable price considering its location. Its a comfortable pub that I have been to before and will go to again .

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    26
    14
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Rhayader U.K
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not the same”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We returned to Birmingham recently and decided to have a look at what was the Fox Hotel my last visit was in the late 80s at that time the pub had one of the best juke boxes you could ever wish for a brilliant old Victorian bar a healthy mix of theatre goers locals students/alternatives I must say gone are these days the pub was saved from demolition by locals in 1988 when you visit now you may wonder why.when we visited there was only half a dozen in and that was on a Saturday night a quick look round tells you why no laughter no ambiance no atmosphere wont be going back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieRhayaderU_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“has the fox had its day?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

I have to say that for a long time The fox has been one of my favourite pubs in town. A good mix of people, being both bang opposite the hippodrome and close to the gay quarter, a good juke box ,good beer, fair wine and a great place to people watch sat outside in the summer.. however, i think theowners of the fox have got lazy. The pub is in good need of an overall clean from top to bottom and the toilets are nothing short of a disgrace. Also the food could do with a vast improvement. With a bit of work, The fox could be a fantastic pub. its location is unbeatable. That said, I will still make it my first point of call this evening!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bromwich
Level Contributor
147 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Could be a lot better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

This pub sits right opposite the Hippodrome. All around it are bars and restaurants offering meals, snacks, theatre menus etc. It has a terrific location and terrific potential, but just looks like (and is) a back street street pub. The beer is good, and the prices are much better than in the Hippodrome, but you cannot help thinking that this could be REALLY good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baggy_Boy_II
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Popped in for a drink whilst wating for some friends, we returned later on in the evening after our meal and stayed until 1am, the band were good too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Markispurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Fox Theatre Birmingham also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to The Old Fox Theatre Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing