We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute dive, wouldn't make my worst enemy stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Birmingham Hotel
Ranked #111 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Absolute dive, wouldn't make my worst enemy stay here”
Reviewed 22 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night for a night out in the city centre. The hotel was booked by friend's dad and I had no control over the matter.

Arriving at the hotel we were greeted by a miserable teenage boy on reception who had a limited grasp of the English language and absolutely no social skills whatsoever.

The room was disgusting, with chewing gum trodden into the carpets, curtains hanging off their rails and someone else's hair strewn around everywhere. The bedding was stained, as was pretty much everything in the room.

An abnormal amount of taxi drivers hang around in the car park at the weekend but for some reason are unable to actually take hotel residents anywhere.

Did not eat here, did not drink here, did not spend more than about 10 hours here in total.

This hotel does not have one redeeming feature... Except maybe the exit doors.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ignoranttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    16
    17
    24
    74
See reviews for
9
22
14
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2012

This hotel is the worst hotel I have been to! The receptionist is incredibly rude, our room was not cleaned and upon return, we were told that we were in the wrong. The hotel provided no service at all and is keen to argue with customers! Incredibly unhelpful! I regret booking and deciding to stay at this low class 'hotel'. I would not ever return to this place and advise everyone to stay away!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninoarashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Wakefield
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

This place is a dive. Reception staff were impolite and unhelpful, I had a pint of beer at the bar one evening and it was watery like it had been diluted down, my room smelt of sick. The shower didn't work properly, the TV's reception kept fading, two of the plug sockets in the room didn't work.

The 'Full English Breakfast' was one cremated '30% pork 70% who knows' sausage with two fried eggs (chef had popped the yolks) with a tomato that looked like it had been fried on a griddle uncleaned for decades, and some value baked beans. Safe to say it wasn't the best.

When issues were raised with reception, the response was 'well we're the best at what we do in Birmingham' repeated several times. No problems solved. It was so bad that I actually checked out a night early to go to a hotel ETAP (the only other hotel available) which at £24 for the night was a 5 star hotel in comparison.

Nightly rate was about £50-60 here, I can't remember. Either way it was £50-£60 too much.

Stay away!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Getozachoppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

I have to say for once I stayed at a hotel without reading the reviews and what a mistake that was!

We stayed here for the NEC as it was only 8 miles away - do not do this its too far away and can take an hour on week days!

The Hotel is under going some refurbishment, but really should be closed - no hot water some mornings, no TV remote, some rooms very noisy and right on a main road, you could see headlights on the wall paper!

The guy working behind the bar needs a medal and was very honest and helpful - currently the main bar is closed and they are not selling any food, which is less than helpful as the place is in the middle of no where and you will need a car.

The hotel is only 2 miles from the City Centre and we were told by the guy behind the bar it was £5 maximum, but every night we were charged £8 as we did not know the route.

The cab company have a financial interest in the hotel, so its an obvious con.

Some good points was the red toilet, never seen one before and the loudness of the bass from the club downstairs which makes the false ceiling vibrate like mad!!!

Saying that, this Saturday night the place was full up, so my guess its used by young clubbers as a place to crash and its probably just ok for that or also if the local dog kennel is full!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigJacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2012

bugs in the bathroom which are supposedly called 'Silverfish'. curtains were thick with dust. Bed was very comfortable but the rest of the room looked like it had been there since the dark ages. In need of serious renovation! And a good dusting!
Rooms smelt like smoke even though they were supposed to be non smoking and there was alos a big party going, this didnt affect us as were were staying there for a night out but if i had been the to get some rest i would not of found the '3 soundsystems' set up downstairs amusing!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jade g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2012

The non smoking room stank of cigarette smoke, there was feces in and on the toilet basin, pubic hairs in the bed and dirty marks all over the carpets. I complained and was told by the receptionist that the hotel was dirty all over and that he would not stay there himself, ever!
I refused to stay and ended up driving 2 hours home instead.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Builth Wells, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Clearly in need of refurbishment! Shower falling apart, window does not shut properly, furniture falling apart, no tv remote, no radiators - portable heaters instead which have clearly seen better days!! Light fittings are only just attached to the walls, upside is bed linen clean.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lallysl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.8 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Bordesley
Ibis Birmingham Bordesley
#71 of 117 in Birmingham
440 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rowton Hotel Birmingham
Rowton Hotel Birmingham
#104 of 117 in Birmingham
48 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Birmingham South/NEC
1.9 mi away
Best Western Westley Hotel
Best Western Westley Hotel
#70 of 117 in Birmingham
314 reviews
7.2 mi away
Westmead Hotel
Westmead Hotel
#43 of 117 in Birmingham
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Birmingham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Birmingham Hotel

Property: The Birmingham Hotel
Address: Poets Corner Golden Hillock Road, Birmingham B11 2PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Birmingham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Birmingham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham The Hotel
Days Inn Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing