We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for? Still no excuse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Birmingham Hotel
Ranked #111 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Oakham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“You get what you pay for? Still no excuse”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My god, what can I say about this place.....arrived and waited for 115 minutes for someone to man reception. Greeting was fine and key issued and then it began.....dull, dreary and downright dirty - this 'hotel' is absolutely awful. I only paid £36 for a night but felt I had paid £35 too much. Room was dirty - bathroom the same - at least the bed linen was clean and I had tea and coffee making facilities. TV was old and had 4 channels although the reception was poor. Noisy outside and noisy inside...some dodgy goings on too. All in all 0/10 .....bloomin' awful - look elsewhere or suffer!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    16
    17
    24
    69
See reviews for
9
20
14
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I had booked for 3 nights and left after the first night. I the guy at reception was help full when asked for directions. The carpets are stained and torn in places. The corridor stinks of ciggy smoke. There is nowhere to eat, the bar is just a fridge filled with cans of beer. The surrounding area is not very pretty and the hotel play room is used (it would seem) as a local youth club.

Room Tip: Ask for the room situated at an other hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Get what you pay for and 40quid what do you expect?!, room was boiling with no fan.reception staff very helpful.only downside was we were told we could walk to the lg arena, miles away & taxi journey!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jdmillevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Stopped for one night, only £40 which was half the price of most other nearby towns as Bruce Springsteen was playing in Coventry - check-in was easy and staff were pleasant - massive car park - surrounding area looks a bit run down - and corridoors did smell of smoke. Room was very spacious, the curtains were coming off but they still stayed up. Room was basic but was clean. Shower made a bit of a noise, but closing the bathroom door solved this - if in need of another cheap room I would stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank covlad1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2013

do not stay at this hotel the rooms are disgusting the shower was broken tv was useless remote did not even work. crazy joyriders in the car park all night. possibly one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: book another hotel, or get a tent oh yes its that bad!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuartmcadam71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Don't pay for the breakfast it's not worth the money. The TV set looks like it's going to fall off the wall if you turn it on. I had to repair the shower myself before I could use it and staff were non existent. The room was freezing on arrival.
I had to pick my wife up from the airport in the early hours and spent an "enjoyable" fifteen minutes trying to get the night porters attention to let us in. I eventually rang the hotel which got his attention. Only stay here if there is absolutely no alternative

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

there was a reggae disco playing through the night on one of our nights stay. no sleep at all. room fairly clean. not what I expected.
hotel not really good for business travellers, we had a conference to attend for 2 nights and was not the best to have to get up and attend a conference after a sleepless night.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzyMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ibis Birmingham Bordesley
#72 of 118 in Birmingham
419 reviews
Campanile Birmingham
#100 of 118 in Birmingham
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Park Hotel
#95 of 118 in Birmingham
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Birmingham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Birmingham Hotel

Property: The Birmingham Hotel
Address: Poets Corner Golden Hillock Road, Birmingham B11 2PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Birmingham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Birmingham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham The Hotel
Days Inn Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing