We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely, heart warming place AND great food”
Review of The Warehouse Cafe

The Warehouse Cafe
Ranked #18 of 2,207 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Birmingham's original award winning vegetarian restaurant & cafe. Situated at Birmingham Friends of the Earth in the heart of Birmingham's Digbeth area - the cafe has served vegetarian food for over 30 years. Now a community interest company and having been refurbished, the cafe specialise in vegetarian & vegan foods, external catering and special events.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely, heart warming place AND great food”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We love warehouse precisely because, as the owner said in his response to a review below, it makes us very happy to eat there. In fact, having been in the past a lot, it was only through Tripadvisor that we realised the restaurant had reopened. On this occasion we had a great meal - fantastic ingredients prepared with care so you could still taste them. The new simpler menu works very well and everything is beautifully presented. Service is very friendly as well as being very efficient and swift - perhaps helped by the menu. We like that we can take our son, not always really an option at some more expensive restaurants.

We've eaten at many fine dining restaurants in the past, and still do where we know the restaurant, but this is where we eat in Birmingham. We agree with the owner's response - Tripadvisor is about sharing the places that make us happy and fulfilled through food and good company - on that score, Warehouse thoroughly deserves to be at the top of the ratings.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    573
    150
    30
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Meat eaters welcome :-)”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Myself and around eleven other people had an all day meeting near this venue and were recommended to try The Warehouse Cafe. I won't lie we really were not sure what to expect as a group of people that eat meat on a daily basis and I don't think any of us had ever eaten a nut burger before! We were asked for a pre-order which was not a problem, there was a slight hitch as a few people wanted soup of the day but no one from the cafe answered the phone so we decided to skip starters (if we had known the flavour of the soup we would have ordered as it looked lovely when we saw some coming out the kitchen- this is something they could work on).

So our food arrived quickly after we got there, we had a mix of wraps and burgers which were all very nice and tastey. The only thing we were not to happy about was that the other tables around us seemed to have larger portions of wedges then we did (one of had a grand total of four) we did fell that was because we were a bigger table. However I don't want to mark down in stars as the food was really nice. It had a nice homely feel inside and was close to put meeting venue.

Our two waitresses were really nice and because of this we left a very good tip (this was out of our own pocket as our work will not pay for tips so shows how good it was).

Would I come here again? I'm not sure to be honest as the location is not somewhere I would want to walk to or from in the evening. I would maybe come here again when we have another meeting but would hope to get the same portions as other customers.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Imaginative vegetarian food”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Very much enjoyed my millet salad with leaves, felafel and crisp bread, and my companions' dahl curry and burgers were reportedly tasty, but the highlight was the extraordinary vegan dessert - avocado, banana and unsweetened dark chocolate, with balsamic cherries - wow! The cafe was popular at lunch time and the staff very friendly and helpful. Only slight quibble - why was my sparkling mineral French, when there's Malvern and Church Stretton water (to name but two) within reach?

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mgt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious veggie food and very friendly staff!”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Been here twice and both times have thoroughly enjoyed it. Slightly odd out of city location but apart from that amazing food, staff and general experience! Enjoyed by vegetarians and non vegetarians alike, will definitely be going back! Also its BYOB so thats always a plus.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian and vegan food”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I have been to the Warehouse cafe twice over the past month at lunchtime and in the evening. Its a great relaxed atmosphere with attentive, helpful staff. The lunchtime menu is not extensive but all freshly prepared and the portions were the right size for lunchtime. The lovely hot drink of plum and ginger was to die for. The evening menu is more extensive but a good choice and very tasty food. The cafe is not licensed so you can take your own veggie friendly wine and beers !!!!
The food is not cheap but I felt it was good value for money and very very tasty.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brumsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Warehouse Cafe also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to The Warehouse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing