We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Premier Inn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ranked #2 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Good Premier Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Nice clean and comfortable Premier Inn, quiet despite being next to New Street Station and surrounded by building works. Service generally good but let down in the evening by the bar staff, two young lads who frankly didn't seem to know what they were doing. Slow service, long wait for food and drinks even after they'd been paid for. Food was good when it eventually arrived. Breakfast was really excellent with really friendly staff who made it a pleasure. If it wasn't for the poor service in the bar this would be a 5 star review.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s_parsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,125
    418
    84
    32
    19
See reviews for
394
460
117
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

This is a brand new hotel - in fact it had only been open 2 weeks before our stay, so everything was lovely and fresh. However, unless you are travelling by train to New St station, you are in for a long walk from the nearest car park - St Judes passage (NCP) and expensive at £24.10 for 24hrs!. It involves a walk of at least 10 mins. up hill to reach New St staion and then a bit of a slog up a slope to the front of the hotel. OK if you only have an overnight bag and are young but both of us are in our 60's and found it a bit hard, especially as we were travelling on to another 2 P.I's so needed to take all our belongings with us. Don't leave anything in the car in public car park after having a break in! Also building works going on all around and road up, no taxis able to get near. Kept awake a couple of nights with work going on in McD's down below!
Having said that, staff very pleasant and great position in town.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jac-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscoff, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Think that my room was one not finished and grubby. Evidence left of the previous guest on the toilet, room not cleaned, dirty towels. Main door to room was insecure and the bathroom door did not even fit into the door frame.
Good food and restaurant despite bad signage to say that the restaurant would be open shortly.
No mention in the contact e mail that there was no way of access to be dropped off with luggage.
I had been looking forward to this hotel but very sadly disappointed. I know that I was given a refund and dinner but I just was appalled and was so upset by the whole experience. To Tim the regional manager, I was the one with the dirty towel and tears!

Room Tip: Make sure that the doors close, I worried about security and the bathroom door did not even fit in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a business trip, room was comfortable, well equipped, and the hair dryer was better than most! The room was very tidy and the sheets and towels very fresh. The heating came on in the early hours and woke me up, but that may just have been my room, luck of the draw. The breakfast was enough but nothing special.
Overall I would stay again, however I think you can find more luxury for the same money in Birmingham if you know where to look. Not bad for a chain hotel.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 107leannek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel, friendly staff. The room was lovely, comfortable and spacious for just £29! The room was quiet, maybe helped by road closures. Easy walk to main sights and restaurants. Would def stay again.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here on sept 30th as was flying from bhx next day very close to station central location. Staff were helpful as usual. We had 3rd floor and didnt have any problems with noise levels perfect stay there.
We had tea in the thyme restaurant I had salmon and it was cooked lovely staff again very good. Also checking out was quick and efficient at 2am in the morning. Would deffo choose this hotel again would be good for the german markets. Lovely stay thankyou premier inn :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

lovely brand new premier inn with helpful friendly staff made a business trip relaxing and enjoyable would definately stay again right in the heart of birmingham right next to the new street train station but roons were still lovely and quiet

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Address: Birmingham Exchange Buildings | Stephenson Place, Birmingham B2 4NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's hard to think of a more central spot. From Premier Inn Birmingham New Street, above the station, the whole of the city (and most of the UK) is at your feet. You're just minutes from all the major business centres, epic shopping and amazing sights. Track down big brands and off-the-beaten-track bargains in (and around) the Bull Ring and Jewellery Quarter. Explore the huge exhibitions at the NIA and ICC. Or catch the big name acts at the Hippodrome - at under half a mile from the hotel, 'it's behind you!'. And, whether you're here for work or leisure, return to our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. Important info For energy efficiency reasons, the bedroom windows do not open at this Premier Inn. All rooms are fitted with air conditioning. Road works in place surrounding the hotel, bedrooms are insulated to minimalise noise. Directions: At J6 of the M6, exit onto A38/Corporation St, keep right at the fork, merge onto A38 & continue onto Corporation St. Take a slight right onto Queensway. Keep right on Great Charles St, exit New Street. At roundabout take 1st exit then turn left onto Hill St then left onto Small Brook Queensway. Parking is available at the Town Hall car park B5 4AD (approx 11GBP per 24 hours). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing