We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All that is needed!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ranked #3 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Being a regular visitor to Birmingham during the football season I have experienced a good range of hotels in the city. As this is a new hotel I hadn't stayed before but I will certainly be using it again - (if the price is right).

It is located just outside New Street station so is very convienient for trains and the city centre. (Incidentally there is no train noise to interrupt sleep). If you dont know Birmingham it may be awkward to locate as the entrance is fairly hard to spot. Reception is on the second floor and has to be accessed by a lift. That said when inside it is like an oasis - you are away from all the noise and fuss of a busy centre. There is an automated self check which I find very convenient although help is on and if needed.

The rooms - being new - are spotless and well equipped. The bath/shower is good with loads of hot water on a powerful flow. As the ad says 'a good nights sleep guaranteed' and thats exactly what I had.

As I had an early start I didn't dine so I can't comment on the food.

I will certainly (hopefully) return.

Room Tip: I would assume being a premier inn all rooms are equal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alasdair50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,900)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,835 - 1,841 of 1,900 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

A very conveniently located Premier Inn, but I had to look at other TripAdvisor reviews to locate it - there was no chance from the Premier Inn website. To be fair New Street Station and the streets around it are currently a gigantic building site, but the hotel website doesn't even attempt to present a map !

It's a new hotel and everything works. The staff are very well trained and say all the right things at the right times.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Birmingham is my home Town and we love going home, as Birmingham now is a very nice City indeed and well worth a visit. The canals are brilliant with shops restuarants pubs barges and good footpaths it is a very interesting place. Visit the New Library the Law Courts Aston Hall Birmingham Cathedral off Colmore row. The Bull ring is fantastic and they are redeveloping New Street Station and at Christmas they have an Ice rink and visiting Countries that sell their Christmas wares from Log cabins all through the pedestrian walking areas.

We stayed at the Premier Inn above New Street Station not long openned the Hotel is very convenient to all of Birmingham's shops cinemas theatres places to eat and pubs.

We stayed four nights and were disappionted to find the windows do not open as I am asthmatic and the air conditioning only went as low as 19 degrees so we found the room far to hot We told them in reception and they put a sheet on the bed and took away the duvet which was better.
As this is a new Hotel we hope the problems we had were only teething ones as we were always short of towels and our tea and coffee was filled only once.

The room was very nice clean with everything you need. The bath does need a grab handle even for abled bodied guests as it is very high to climb in and out and we did find the bath very slippery.

The staff are very good polite and very helpful and we did get the room as requested a few days earlier by phone.
There is a car park under the hotel with disabled bays and we think they should allow disabled guests the right to use them as they do need convenient places nearby.

We would recommend the Premier Inn but on this occasion they did fall short.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Premier Inn's website states a postcode which is completely wrong. there isn't a big enough sign on the building to try help people find the hotel with a little more ease. and there is no car park!!! what hotel, in the middle of a city centre doesn't have a car park.... anyway, hotel staff were very receptive and helped as much as they could.

me shouting probably didn't help, but i can only apologise to the staff who were very nice and understanding even though i knew it wasn't their fault.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Minesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We had travelled by train, on Friday 18th to go to the NEC on the Saturday and the location right next to New Street Station was excellent. You stepped out of the hotel, turned left and you were at the station and at the NEC again you stayed under cover. The staff were very friendly and helpful. If you are elderly or infirm you might find stepping out of a high bath with no 'grab'handle a problem and the lifts need sorting, for most of the weekend only one was working but that could just be down to teething problems.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pips00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed at the Premier Inn for one night due to a meeting close by. Excellent location for anyone arriving by train. So close to New Street station. Lovely new hotel. Had never stayed in a Premier Inn before but would do so again. Managed a very quick and efficient self check in. Room was basic but had everything that mattered: comfortable bed, nice pillows, great shower, tea and coffee, great hair dryer, air conditioning. Staff were very helpful. Breakfast was very good. Had a really lovely bowl of porridge with fruit and yoghurt. The let down is the wi fi. Have they not heard that free wi fi is now a basic human need when you are working? Yes it's there but you have to pay for it and that isn't good enough. With free wi fi it would have been a very impressive five stars.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank gingerhants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed here this weekend, this has to be the best location to stay in , within a few minutes we were in the Bullring. New street station is outside the front door. The hotel has only been open for 3 weeks and is as expected spotlessly clean. The staff were so friendly not expected for a large chain, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was great helped along by a cheerful lady Joyce who went out of her way to make our stay an enjoyable experience . Will definitely return not by car as parking is a nightmare will take the train and stumble straight into the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
952 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
349 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4,008 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel

Address: Birmingham Exchange Buildings | Stephenson Place, Birmingham B2 4NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £55 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's hard to think of a more central spot. From Premier Inn Birmingham New Street, above the station, the whole of the city (and most of the UK) is at your feet. You're just minutes from all the major business centres, epic shopping and amazing sights. Track down big brands and off-the-beaten-track bargains in (and around) the Bull Ring and Jewellery Quarter. Explore the huge exhibitions at the NIA and ICC. Or catch the big name acts at the Hippodrome - at under half a mile from the hotel, 'it's behind you!'. And, whether you're here for work or leisure, return to our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. Important info For energy efficiency reasons, the bedroom windows do not open at this Premier Inn. All rooms are fitted with air conditioning. Road works in place surrounding the hotel, bedrooms are insulated to minimalise noise. Directions: At J6 of the M6, exit onto A38/Corporation St, keep right at the fork, merge onto A38 & continue onto Corporation St. Take a slight right onto Queensway. Keep right on Great Charles St, exit New Street. At roundabout take 1st exit then turn left onto Hill St then left onto Small Brook Queensway. Parking is available at the Town Hall car park B5 4AD (approx 11GBP per 24 hours). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing