We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent Budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ranked #3 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed here for two nights on business. Poorly new hotel well appointed rooms. All of the staff we friendly and helpful. Joyce at breakfast was very friendly cheerful and made you feel at home. Bet premier inn I've ever stayed in!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geecee_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,901)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,811 - 1,817 of 1,901 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

I spent 4 nights here while on my manager training course, Being on your own in any hotel can be a bit daunting but I was put at ease by the friendliness and efficient staff always pleasant and polite, A special mention for Cameron and Joyce who made you feel at ease and nothing was too much trouble :-) xx

Room Tip: 5 mins from the bull ring shopping centre and new street station ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annay_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I stayed at this premier inn over night with my mum, daughter and her friend (both 13yrs)on a Christmas shopping spree.It was so convenient as it is situated almost next door to the station,so we just dropped the cases off,and went back on the train to the Gift Fair at the NEC,the arrived back in time to catch the shops before they closed at 5pm.after we checked into the hotel, off we went again to view the German markets which were open until 9pm which were outside the main street by the hotel.After breakfast we left the cases at the hotel and made our way to the Bullring which was 3mins walk away_.Fantastic location if you want to be in the centre of the shops,and Christmas markets and train station.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DIANE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

As a regular overnighter in Premier Inns across the country, i kind of know what to expect; purple rooms, comfy beds, pillows of all types of firmness, helpful staff, pictures of Lenny Henry and fresh food & a good breakfast, basically all the ingredients for a good relaxing stay.

Add to all the above a great location, right near the main station, shopping and tourist sights, spot on....

However, I do have a couple of issues during this:

1 - wait for our meal - we seemed to have to wait for food, service and drinks. Nearly 3 hours to have a starter and main course meal..... Food was great and the wait was not the worst bit, it was the lack of customer care that was disappointing. The manager however did apologise......after the meal and the bill had been paid.

2 - wifi. Come on! 30 minutes free then there is a fee! Surely it's time to give guests free wifi whenever it's needed.

But other than that, great stay, great staff and hopefully we will be back!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank BoringMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel is the best premier inn I've stayed in. Staff are very welcoming and friendly, hotel is lovely and clean and food very good. Location is fab too, next door to new street station and very close to the shops. Xmas markets on too!
Would definitely return.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Despite its close proximity to New Street Station was remarkably quiet in the room.

Hotel is fairly new and very clean and comfortable. Staff are usual Premier standard providing friendly service with a smile. Despite a slight delay in bar the returning barmaid was very pleasant and friendly.

Would definitely return when in Birmingham.

P.S If you read this BEFORE you arrive, the hotel entrance is at floor -1 on the raised exit from New Street (towards Corporation Street) with the reception on floor 0.

Room Tip: Sixth floor was quiet and lift was very fast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikey1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile


Nightmare checking in, terrible self check in system that did not work, three staff all teenagers trying to check people in, it took longer to check in this way as the computer system did not work. Each time we passed by reception there was a queue of people with cases.

Lifts up and down three times before we landed at floor 5! The whole weekend the lifts where slow, and one out of the two designated for cleaning staff.

Hotel next to train station and shops, so really central, not sure about for a nightout? Can recommend The Jamhouse, we booked a table in advance, easy walk there. taxi back, excellent night out, food ok but expensive, great live music.

The hotel rooms are fresh, clean and a decent size for a weekend stop, slept ok, quiet but bit warm.
No mirror in main part of bedroom were the natural light was, need a mirror where the paintings are above the desk.

Breakfast selection was really good and the staff where friendly but not very efficient, Premier need to address this. The Saturday morning breakfast was not to bad but the Sunday morning was terrible. We where in the breakfast area about 30 minutes and in this time they did not clear or wash tables. Plenty of empty tables but dirty, guests where having to wait for tables to be cleared and it was not busy. Staff busy chatting to guests and walking passed dirty tables. One guy in a blue shirt who I assume was in charge had a dirty shirt on and was telling the other staff to clean and set tables when he had guest stood waiting, while he wondered up and down the rest of the time. My husband ordered poached eggs on toast and waited about 15 minutes, we where about to go when they finally it arrived.

Overall I would go back to this hotel, hope Premier can sort out the check in, lifts and get the restaurant staff working more efficiently.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Onlinebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
952 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
351 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4,015 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel

Address: Birmingham Exchange Buildings | Stephenson Place, Birmingham B2 4NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £55 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's hard to think of a more central spot. From Premier Inn Birmingham New Street, above the station, the whole of the city (and most of the UK) is at your feet. You're just minutes from all the major business centres, epic shopping and amazing sights. Track down big brands and off-the-beaten-track bargains in (and around) the Bull Ring and Jewellery Quarter. Explore the huge exhibitions at the NIA and ICC. Or catch the big name acts at the Hippodrome - at under half a mile from the hotel, 'it's behind you!'. And, whether you're here for work or leisure, return to our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. Important info For energy efficiency reasons, the bedroom windows do not open at this Premier Inn. All rooms are fitted with air conditioning. Road works in place surrounding the hotel, bedrooms are insulated to minimalise noise. Directions: At J6 of the M6, exit onto A38/Corporation St, keep right at the fork, merge onto A38 & continue onto Corporation St. Take a slight right onto Queensway. Keep right on Great Charles St, exit New Street. At roundabout take 1st exit then turn left onto Hill St then left onto Small Brook Queensway. Parking is available at the Town Hall car park B5 4AD (approx 11GBP per 24 hours). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing