We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No good night guarantee here ........”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ranked #3 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Room was clean, fresh and typical of a Premier Inn. Good honest value for money. I've stayed at quite a few Premier Inn's and all stays have been good, apart from this one. I found the bed extremely hard and after a poor nights sleep my back ached and we had to go home, we'd booked for two nights so we could get all our Xmas shopping done. After breakfast we packed, went to check out and explained we'd had a poor nights sleep, and that as a result we wouldn't be stopping for the second night and could we get a refund.

The receptionist seemed genuinely sorry, and agreed a refund would be given on my card. Just checked and received our money back for the second night, not the first night under their good night guarantee, and not for the breakfasts we didn't eat on the second morning.

Not impressed and will consider paying a little more at a different hotel chain next time I book.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank jaquesfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guest have a comfortable nights sleep, and we guarantee this. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,000)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,908 - 1,914 of 2,000 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

Travelled to Birmingham for the German Christmas market. This hotel was just perfect, right next to the station and the centre of New st for the market and only 5 minutes walk from the Bullring. The hotel it's self could not have been nicer, rooms really comfortable and the added extra's such as hair dryer, hand soap and shower gel which are not in other inns such as Travelodges, make Premier Inn's much more welcoming. also the staff more very friendly. Overall a great trip defiantly recommend Hotel and German market .

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank almanzobasildon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed here for two nights on business. Poorly new hotel well appointed rooms. All of the staff we friendly and helpful. Joyce at breakfast was very friendly cheerful and made you feel at home. Bet premier inn I've ever stayed in!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geecee_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I spent 4 nights here while on my manager training course, Being on your own in any hotel can be a bit daunting but I was put at ease by the friendliness and efficient staff always pleasant and polite, A special mention for Cameron and Joyce who made you feel at ease and nothing was too much trouble :-) xx

Room Tip: 5 mins from the bull ring shopping centre and new street station ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annay_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I stayed at this premier inn over night with my mum, daughter and her friend (both 13yrs)on a Christmas shopping spree.It was so convenient as it is situated almost next door to the station,so we just dropped the cases off,and went back on the train to the Gift Fair at the NEC,the arrived back in time to catch the shops before they closed at 5pm.after we checked into the hotel, off we went again to view the German markets which were open until 9pm which were outside the main street by the hotel.After breakfast we left the cases at the hotel and made our way to the Bullring which was 3mins walk away_.Fantastic location if you want to be in the centre of the shops,and Christmas markets and train station.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DIANE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

As a regular overnighter in Premier Inns across the country, i kind of know what to expect; purple rooms, comfy beds, pillows of all types of firmness, helpful staff, pictures of Lenny Henry and fresh food & a good breakfast, basically all the ingredients for a good relaxing stay.

Add to all the above a great location, right near the main station, shopping and tourist sights, spot on....

However, I do have a couple of issues during this:

1 - wait for our meal - we seemed to have to wait for food, service and drinks. Nearly 3 hours to have a starter and main course meal..... Food was great and the wait was not the worst bit, it was the lack of customer care that was disappointing. The manager however did apologise......after the meal and the bill had been paid.

2 - wifi. Come on! 30 minutes free then there is a fee! Surely it's time to give guests free wifi whenever it's needed.

But other than that, great stay, great staff and hopefully we will be back!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank BoringMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel is the best premier inn I've stayed in. Staff are very welcoming and friendly, hotel is lovely and clean and food very good. Location is fab too, next door to new street station and very close to the shops. Xmas markets on too!
Would definitely return.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
997 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,555 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#4 of 118 in Birmingham
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel

Address: Birmingham Exchange Buildings | Stephenson Place, Birmingham B2 4NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £48 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's hard to think of a more central spot. From Premier Inn Birmingham New Street, above the station, the whole of the city (and most of the UK) is at your feet. You're just minutes from all the major business centres, epic shopping and amazing sights. Track down big brands and off-the-beaten-track bargains in (and around) the Bull Ring and Jewellery Quarter. Explore the huge exhibitions at the NIA and ICC. Or catch the big name acts at the Hippodrome - at under half a mile from the hotel, 'it's behind you!'. And, whether you're here for work or leisure, return to our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. Important info For energy efficiency reasons, the bedroom windows do not open at this Premier Inn. All rooms are fitted with air conditioning. Road works in place surrounding the hotel, bedrooms are insulated to minimalise noise. Directions: At J6 of the M6, exit onto A38/Corporation St, keep right at the fork, merge onto A38 & continue onto Corporation St. Take a slight right onto Queensway. Keep right on Great Charles St, exit New Street. At roundabout take 1st exit then turn left onto Hill St then left onto Small Brook Queensway. Parking is available at the Town Hall car park B5 4AD (approx 11GBP per 24 hours). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing