We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pantomine at a Hippodrome Theatre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ranked #2 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pantomine at a Hippodrome Theatre”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

What a lovely hotel to stay in. So convenient for our visit. Fantastic staff from reception to restaurant. Nothing was to much trouble. We will definitely stay here again. Very child friendly too,which is a bonus.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,213
    445
    88
    34
    21
See reviews for
412
505
131
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Not really much to say, which I suppose is a good thing.

Brilliant staff at the front desk, the rooms were immaculate, the location was so useful for getting everywhere and the price was excellent.

Only slight issue I would have, and let me assure you that I would still recommend the hotel.

The cost of the breakfast was rather high, I realise that you can eat all you like and that there is a large variety of things, but going on £9 per person seems awfully steep when you can go to a number of different breakfast places within a few minutes of walking.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holyhead
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This is a new hotel recently opened. Everything is sparklingly clean. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Probably the Company picked the best as besides being new it is right next to New Street Station in the centre of Birmingham.

Security is good. One is given a key card which works by putting the card against a pad to open your room door and also to operate the lift. It also is used t,o open the hotel entrance door at night. None of this sliding the card into a slot!! For added security, females on their own are not accommodated on the ground floor.

Our room had a really comfortable bed with a choice of soft or hard pillows; a settee and one chair. A flat screen TV and coffee and tea making facilities. A huge bath with easy to operate taps and a shower. There was no telephone or means of contacting reception except by your own mobile.

Breakfast was very good. We did not have an evening meal there but the menu looked good. My wife and I would always go back there when in Birmingham.

Room Tip: Make sure you have your mobile with you to contact Reception in an emergency.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

A group of 8 travelled to Birmingham by train and arrived at New street station, a short walk through the shopping area in the arcade and we arrived at the hotel.
We took the lift to arrive at reception and we received a warm welcome and we were allocated our rooms, the rooms are very clean ,and very comfortable. The bar area at reception was a good meeting place for a drink allowing everyone in our large group to come and go as they pleased.
A 2 minuet walk and you can arrive at the Bull ring shopping arcade and an Odeon cinema 1 minuet away for keeping the kids entertained.A perfect location for a shopping trip to Birmingham.
We also had no problems leaving our cases for the last day in reception before catching our afternoon train back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisPDuck2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

This could have had a five star rating were it not for the fact that i was sent out in the evening to find somewhere to eat after the restaurant shut up 'as it was quiet' even though id prebooked a meal and had been told twice they open until ten! As a young girl it tainted my stay.

Having said that my room was comfortable and to say it was so busy outside as its right in the centre of the city i didnt hear a thing. Plus the breakfast team were the loveliest ive had at a premier which regained some of my confidence.

Worth a stay but eat out!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank jacsxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a night in mid-December in order to visit the Frankfurt Christmas Market. We have stayed in a number of Premier Inns in the Birmingham area and, in our opinion, this is by far the best.

We travelled by train and it takes only a matter of minutes from the station to reach the hotel. We arrived mid-morning, were greeted warmly at Reception and our luggage was immediately stored securely for us. We were informed that,as the hotel had not been too busy the previous night, we would be able to check in at 12 o'clock (rather than the customary 2pm) if required.

Our room on the fifth floor was warm and spacious, and, as the hotel only opened a few months ago, everything was in perfect condition. Inside the room we did not hear a sound, either from within the hotel itself or from the busy streets outside.

We used both the bar and restaurant in the evening. The bar is small and cosy and the service was excellent. We both thoroughly enjoyed our meals in the attractive restaurant. Everything was piping hot and well-presented.

One aspect of Premier Inns which never fails to impress us is the friendliness, helpfulness and knowledge of the staff. Once again we could fault no one we came into contact with, but special mention must be made of the lovely Joyce at breakfast time, who pointed out everything on the buffet, and whose service throughout our meal was exemplary.

We love Birmingham and have decided, after our experience at this hotel, to make regular visits throughout the year with overnight stays here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eurojade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The staff were so polite and considerate when we had out stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable. It was amazing value for money and doin itself had a good nights sleep. In the very centre of Birmingham.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
921 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
2,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,414 reviews
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
872 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
3,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Address: Birmingham Exchange Buildings | Stephenson Place, Birmingham B2 4NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's hard to think of a more central spot. From Premier Inn Birmingham New Street, above the station, the whole of the city (and most of the UK) is at your feet. You're just minutes from all the major business centres, epic shopping and amazing sights. Track down big brands and off-the-beaten-track bargains in (and around) the Bull Ring and Jewellery Quarter. Explore the huge exhibitions at the NIA and ICC. Or catch the big name acts at the Hippodrome - at under half a mile from the hotel, 'it's behind you!'. And, whether you're here for work or leisure, return to our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. Important info For energy efficiency reasons, the bedroom windows do not open at this Premier Inn. All rooms are fitted with air conditioning. Road works in place surrounding the hotel, bedrooms are insulated to minimalise noise. Directions: At J6 of the M6, exit onto A38/Corporation St, keep right at the fork, merge onto A38 & continue onto Corporation St. Take a slight right onto Queensway. Keep right on Great Charles St, exit New Street. At roundabout take 1st exit then turn left onto Hill St then left onto Small Brook Queensway. Parking is available at the Town Hall car park B5 4AD (approx 11GBP per 24 hours). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing