We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as other Premier Inns”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ranked #3 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We booked this hotel because it was cheaper to stay here and buy train tickets to the NEC than to stay at the Premier Inn there (which we did last year and had a wonderful experience).

When we arrived, we were shown how to use Express Check In and then left to our own devices.
The room was bigger than expected and very clean, however the bathroom only has single sheet toilet paper dispensers... My partner said the shower was very good. This is the first hotel I've been in where towels in the tub means "please replace".
The mattress was very hard, but the pillows were lovely.

Parking at this hotel is absurdly expensive. You can park overnight for multiple days at various car parks throughout the city for a hell of a lot less.
I was also shocked by the price of a cooked breakfast. There were cheaper options on the dinner menu. You are much better off wandering into Birmingham to find yourself some tasty food. There is also a McDonalds next door.

When it came to check out, we were just asked for our room number, and that was that.

Overall, the service was non existent, parking and breakfast were ridiculously expensive and the mattress was hard, but I will still choose Premier Inn again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrissiTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,000)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,767 - 1,773 of 2,000 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Just came back from business trip. We received a very warm welcome. Room was very clean and bed very comfy. Facilities were very good. We purchased the meal deal for the two days we were there and were happy with the menu options and the food was good. I'd like to say a big thanks to Kirsty, Ashley and Declan who really looked after us at meal times. Excellent service. Thank you

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My first stay at Premier Inn New Street Station. This is a new Premier Inn located behind New Steet Station, 5 minutes from the station concourse. This is great if you are arriving by train, and and very close to all the main shopping streets and Bullring and Gay Village.The location is a real benefit close to everything.

As expected from Premier Inn I had a very good nights sleep.All rooms have air-conditioning, so I would expect a comfortable nights sleep any time of year.
I had a room on second floor facing the main street (Stephenson Street), the room was well insulated from any noise outside.
Friendly check in staff member helped me with the new self service check in machines. I did't use the retuarant for breakfast. However, I have another 2 stays here in the next 2 months so I am sure I will check this out, and glad I've booked back into this hotel after my recent stay.

Room Tip: I had a room facing the main street (second floor), the hotel room was well insulated from any exter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukundercover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

First time to use this hotel and stayed 3 nights from 27th March. I travel to Birmingham a lot and have used most hotels, I had indicated another hotel in another review as the best in the city centre but my mind has been changed after a lovely 3 day break in this very new hotel.

Easy check in which is self service but a very pleasent young lady was on hand to assist with check in. The room was lovely which you would expect for a new hotel. Very spacious with tea making facilities and a fair sized bathroom. The bar is also very nice with good prices, for Irish travelers, the only place in Birmingham that I have found with Budweisser on draught (smiles). The resturant is very well laid out and the breakfast has everything you would need. The staff at breakfast time are just fantastic and a credit to the hotel.

We had not booked breakfast as part of out room deal but the service and breakfast was so good, we had breakfast in the hotel on all 3 mornings. Its £5.25 for the continental breakfast and £8.25 for the all you can eat breakfast including the hot food. What I would do is advise not to book breakfast with your deal as there is no saving by doing that in advance (they should consider even a small reduction if booked in advance), by not booking, you just decide on the morning which breakfast you may want.

As a regular visitor to BIrmingham, I will only stay here now in the future.

Fantastic hotel, fantastic staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrishDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Just back from overnight trip to Birmingham. Have stayed at thei Premier Inn before and had no issues with it. Thsi stay was even more comfortable than before. I know all the rooms are standard but when on your own I find this reassuring. Everything about the room was as it says in the adverts - had comfortable relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Fantastic staff at this hotel. Friendly and welcoming even though very busy, nothing was too much effort for them. Special thank you to Declan and Joyce for all your help and kindness. I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brimau1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The room was lovely, large comfy bed, modern look, very clean, tea and coffee, air conditioning easy to operate. It was quiet as promised , so a good nights sleep. The hotel was very secure with a key needed for the lift operation. The reception was quick and efficent. Dinner , the food was ok though the burger was on a small plate and I lost quite a bit of it 'overboard' . The food and wine were very reasonably priced, the service was slow though breakfast service was fantastic even if the food was a bit cold, it was like being at your mum's ! I should have told them as I know they would have replaced the cooked breakfast - me being British ! it wasn't cheap at £80 for one person B & B booked in advance on line , ok if there were two of you but I noticed a lot of single business people, a reduction in the price for one would be an incentive that said it was worth the price . I would stay again if I had the money, if I stayed a lot I would probably have to go for somewhere cheaper . Very good for a visit to the city, literally 2 mins walk from New Street station.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
993 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,554 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#4 of 118 in Birmingham
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel

Address: Birmingham Exchange Buildings | Stephenson Place, Birmingham B2 4NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £47 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's hard to think of a more central spot. From Premier Inn Birmingham New Street, above the station, the whole of the city (and most of the UK) is at your feet. You're just minutes from all the major business centres, epic shopping and amazing sights. Track down big brands and off-the-beaten-track bargains in (and around) the Bull Ring and Jewellery Quarter. Explore the huge exhibitions at the NIA and ICC. Or catch the big name acts at the Hippodrome - at under half a mile from the hotel, 'it's behind you!'. And, whether you're here for work or leisure, return to our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. Important info For energy efficiency reasons, the bedroom windows do not open at this Premier Inn. All rooms are fitted with air conditioning. Road works in place surrounding the hotel, bedrooms are insulated to minimalise noise. Directions: At J6 of the M6, exit onto A38/Corporation St, keep right at the fork, merge onto A38 & continue onto Corporation St. Take a slight right onto Queensway. Keep right on Great Charles St, exit New Street. At roundabout take 1st exit then turn left onto Hill St then left onto Small Brook Queensway. Parking is available at the Town Hall car park B5 4AD (approx 11GBP per 24 hours). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing