We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ranked #2 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Re Joyce!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This Premier Inn has a very convenient location next to the entrance to one of the country's busiest railway stations and less than five minutes walk from the Bull Ring in one direction and Victoria Square in the other. Check-in was friendly and efficient and our room was comfortable and welcoming. We spent three nights there and the highlight of our stay were the breakfasts each morning. Joyce, together with her colleagues in the restaurant, creates a fantastic atmosphere - friendly, welcoming and helpful. The choice of food whether one opts for continental or full English is very generous and guests are encouraged by Joyce to take full advantage of the injunction to eat "as much as you like". A memorable visit - we would certainly not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,236
    456
    91
    36
    21
See reviews for
421
518
135
360
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Once we found the hotel (having walked past it due to road works) we were welcomed professionally and in a polite manner. The hotel was very clean and secure. The staff were very polite and courteous as well as being very attentive. The check-in process was very simple and found that access to the floors via the lift was only possible with the key card was reassuring. The room was very clean. The best night sleep I've ever had in a hotel. The food on both night was delicious and reasonable. The breakfast was lovely, however, make sure to get your money's worth (all you can eat - make the most of it). The bar was nice and the allowance to take the drinks back to the room was unexpected. The only downside was lack of parking on site, but this is understandable. We parked in the Bullring for 48+ hours for a reasonable charge. The car was very secure and was only a 10 minute walk from the hotel (Tip: use the concourse from the shopping centre to New Street). Will defiantly use the hotel in the future and have recommended to friends and family. I doubt I will use a competing brand for some time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Excellent location, 2 mins from New street station. 5 min from the bull Ring and shops. Friendly staff, clean rooms. would recommend this hotel to anyone, very impressed with my nights day. Value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 761sharonC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

£25 bargain sale family room for the night. 2 children 10 & 6. All had perfect stay. Room was absolutely immaculate and the cleanest room we have ever stayed in. Faultless stay. Polite, friendly staff. All facilities we needed. Perfect location in city centre for sight seeing. Recommend Cadburys world and free museum in city centre.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london,
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We love Premier Inns and the one at Birm New St is lovely. The staff in the restaurant were fantastic. They made an effort to make my kids feel welcome, even toasting my kids crumpets and cutting them for them to eat. They were so warm and friendly. Location is great for shopping. Only reason I knocked a star off is because there is no parking. There are road works going on outside so you cant park outside even to quickly drop yr bags off and check in. I think the nearest car parks at the Bullring are incredibly expensive. We parked 10 min walk away and it was £3.50 a day. But its a pain doing that with luggage and kids. But great if you are travelling in by train

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ak47leic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014

It is a very long time since I have used a Premier Inn, mostly because there has not been one where I needed to stay. I thought it was just going to be a room to sleep in after the show I had attended, with friends, who also booked a room. Was I wrong or what? First, we had dinner in the attached restaurant, taking advantage of the meal deal, a three course dinner with large drink and breakfast for £22.99! The dinner was superb, as was breakfast. Lots of choice and staff were really friendly and ready to help. The room was lovely and clean, and even though it was an "outside" room, overlooking the main road, I was not bothered by noise. I was so taken with the hotel that I have cancelled a hotel that I always use when visiting friends in another part of the country and have booked the nearest Premier Inn. I am just hoping that I can give as good a review of that one as of this. Would I recommend this hotel, you betcha I would!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amkspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed 1 night. Despite fire alarm going off in the middle of the night--someone smoking in the room--hence sleep quality average--was a good place to stay-- close enough to many things in the city--walking distance to ICC, theatres, library. Just by the station so convenient for arrival.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnymeWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
930 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
3,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,454 reviews
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
874 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 117 in Birmingham
3,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Address: Birmingham Exchange Buildings | Stephenson Place, Birmingham B2 4NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's hard to think of a more central spot. From Premier Inn Birmingham New Street, above the station, the whole of the city (and most of the UK) is at your feet. You're just minutes from all the major business centres, epic shopping and amazing sights. Track down big brands and off-the-beaten-track bargains in (and around) the Bull Ring and Jewellery Quarter. Explore the huge exhibitions at the NIA and ICC. Or catch the big name acts at the Hippodrome - at under half a mile from the hotel, 'it's behind you!'. And, whether you're here for work or leisure, return to our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. Important info For energy efficiency reasons, the bedroom windows do not open at this Premier Inn. All rooms are fitted with air conditioning. Road works in place surrounding the hotel, bedrooms are insulated to minimalise noise. Directions: At J6 of the M6, exit onto A38/Corporation St, keep right at the fork, merge onto A38 & continue onto Corporation St. Take a slight right onto Queensway. Keep right on Great Charles St, exit New Street. At roundabout take 1st exit then turn left onto Hill St then left onto Small Brook Queensway. Parking is available at the Town Hall car park B5 4AD (approx 11GBP per 24 hours). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing