We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ranked #2 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surprising!”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Having stayed at many Premier Inns, I was very pleasantly surprised with this one. The location is handy for New Street station and the city centre, everything is sparkly and new, the staff are friendly and professional and the rooms are really comfortable, large and quiet, considering the location! I only stayed for one night but it was fab.

I had a room on the 3rd floor opposite the lifts to start with and despite this couldn't hear the lift at all. Unfortunately I could hear the person in the adjoining room and so asked to be moved. This was very quickly and quietly accommodated and I was given a room on the 5th floor.

Dinner was the usual Thyme affair, tasty, a good portion, with efficient and friendly service.

Breakfast was an entertaining experience with Joyce ensuring I was set up for the day with the cooked breakfast, a very high standard indeed.

The only small downside is with the reception on the next level from the entrance (which is itself up a ramp from street level) I felt a little vulnerable coming into an empty vestibule with so many people hanging around on the street outside.

All in all though a great little Premier Inn, and one I would return to.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElouiseBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,233
    455
    90
    36
    21
See reviews for
421
516
135
358
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Clean and comfortable hotel room. The bed was super comfortable. The double room was spacious and the bathroom extremely clean and well-appointed. The shower was awesome - super powerful!
I had the continental breakfast and the quality was fantastic. The dining area was very well-appointed too.
I paid £39 and it was a bargain. Surprising how it was such good value. Obviously, being above Birmingham New Street station, it was really conveniently located and I was able to go from the hotel to my train platform in less than 5 minutes. Highly recommended and if I stay in Birmingham again I will book here without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveloverload
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Apart from the fact I couldn't work out where the Premier Inn was after getting off the train, I couldn't fault the experience. The staff were excellent, the room was far quieter than I'd expected. The bar and restauarant were also excellent. They could have done with some real ale but the prices were fine.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrysolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Excellent accomadition fantastic service very friendly spotless rooms good food best of all Costa coffee with breakfast yum yum could not find anything to complain about superb value for money excellent

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The hotel staff were very friendly. The room is well maintained and very clean. There was no noise and the location is excellent since the high street and other shopping centres are nearby. The bathroom is also very neat and clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiblee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Good location for shopping, theatre, concerts etc.
Good and friendly service. Breakfast at the premier inns always great with plenty of choice hot or cold.
Try the pizza really good. We ordered ours to take to the room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littledi57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last night as part of a smaller group on a hen party. Checked in our luggage at around 11.20am with no problems at all which was great. Came back later to check in proper and also popped into the bar for a very late nightcap (when you're the organiser with a cold and your voice has finally gone, a stiff drink over ice works wonders!)

Also good was the breakfast the next morning. Everyone was really helpful and the room itself was large and very clean. Extra pillows, and a decent hair dryer! We were allowed to put the luggage back into storage the next day while we hit the spa.

The only less than great points were... the weird lifts. We got on at level 0 (reception) with another guest who had called for the lift to go up. He pressed his floor, something like 6. Instead it went down to -1 (street level) to pick up guests wanting to go up to reception. If you call to go up, then the lift should go up from the floor it was called on, you could be ages getting to your floor otherwise!

The only other point (and I've no idea if anything actually could be done from Premier Inn's view) was that heading back at 12.45am our group of six had to walk straight past a parked car near enough right outside the hotel, with around 8 men gathered about it in dark hoods. Who stopped their chat and just stared at us. Obviously coming from a hen party we had party bits and pieces on; but we all said afterwards how intimidating it was, that we kept our eyes to the floor and didn't feel safe until we were through the doors. And that was with six of us.

So maybe with it being right in the city, it may not be one for the lone traveller, especially after hours.



Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Carley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
930 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
3,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,446 reviews
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
871 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 117 in Birmingham
3,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Address: Birmingham Exchange Buildings | Stephenson Place, Birmingham B2 4NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's hard to think of a more central spot. From Premier Inn Birmingham New Street, above the station, the whole of the city (and most of the UK) is at your feet. You're just minutes from all the major business centres, epic shopping and amazing sights. Track down big brands and off-the-beaten-track bargains in (and around) the Bull Ring and Jewellery Quarter. Explore the huge exhibitions at the NIA and ICC. Or catch the big name acts at the Hippodrome - at under half a mile from the hotel, 'it's behind you!'. And, whether you're here for work or leisure, return to our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. Important info For energy efficiency reasons, the bedroom windows do not open at this Premier Inn. All rooms are fitted with air conditioning. Road works in place surrounding the hotel, bedrooms are insulated to minimalise noise. Directions: At J6 of the M6, exit onto A38/Corporation St, keep right at the fork, merge onto A38 & continue onto Corporation St. Take a slight right onto Queensway. Keep right on Great Charles St, exit New Street. At roundabout take 1st exit then turn left onto Hill St then left onto Small Brook Queensway. Parking is available at the Town Hall car park B5 4AD (approx 11GBP per 24 hours). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing