We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Difficult to find, especially with works going on.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ranked #2 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
279 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Difficult to find, especially with works going on.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

I can recommend this hotel for a few reasons
1 it's in a good spot for a weekend shopping, it's near the better shops
2 if you are travelling by train into new street station then it is on the door step
3 it's handy for bars and restaurants alike

I don't recommend if you are
1 travelling by car
2 on business
3 in a hurry to get in or out

It's a great new and modern premier inn, it has a good restaurant, although I didn't eat here, it had some good reports from fellow guests that night and the breakfast is very good.

The biggest problem with this place is that there's works going on outside which is connected to the station so you can't access it by car, nor can you see it which makes it all the difficult to find. What they don't tell you is that you have to park in a multi storey about a 7mins walk away from the hotel with luggage, lap tops, suit case for evening dress and a holdall! When you ring for directions they are obviously busy to answer the phone so consequently it took me over an hour to find the hotel before I parked etc. they also don't tell you that the town hall car park doesn't accept cards so another walk to the bank in the pouring rain left me unimpressed at £11 parking fee on top of the £90 for the hotel.

I would visit again, by train, never ever again on business or by car!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,125
    418
    84
    32
    19
See reviews for
394
460
117
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-trent, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Really close to train station, friendly staff and lovely big bedroom with good facilities. Walking distance to the Bull Ring shopping centre and the NIA which was the reason for our stay. Really surprised by the value for money, room was lovely

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Having stayed at many Premier Inns, I was very pleasantly surprised with this one. The location is handy for New Street station and the city centre, everything is sparkly and new, the staff are friendly and professional and the rooms are really comfortable, large and quiet, considering the location! I only stayed for one night but it was fab.

I had a room on the 3rd floor opposite the lifts to start with and despite this couldn't hear the lift at all. Unfortunately I could hear the person in the adjoining room and so asked to be moved. This was very quickly and quietly accommodated and I was given a room on the 5th floor.

Dinner was the usual Thyme affair, tasty, a good portion, with efficient and friendly service.

Breakfast was an entertaining experience with Joyce ensuring I was set up for the day with the cooked breakfast, a very high standard indeed.

The only small downside is with the reception on the next level from the entrance (which is itself up a ramp from street level) I felt a little vulnerable coming into an empty vestibule with so many people hanging around on the street outside.

All in all though a great little Premier Inn, and one I would return to.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElouiseBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Clean and comfortable hotel room. The bed was super comfortable. The double room was spacious and the bathroom extremely clean and well-appointed. The shower was awesome - super powerful!
I had the continental breakfast and the quality was fantastic. The dining area was very well-appointed too.
I paid £39 and it was a bargain. Surprising how it was such good value. Obviously, being above Birmingham New Street station, it was really conveniently located and I was able to go from the hotel to my train platform in less than 5 minutes. Highly recommended and if I stay in Birmingham again I will book here without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveloverload
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Apart from the fact I couldn't work out where the Premier Inn was after getting off the train, I couldn't fault the experience. The staff were excellent, the room was far quieter than I'd expected. The bar and restauarant were also excellent. They could have done with some real ale but the prices were fine.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrysolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Excellent accomadition fantastic service very friendly spotless rooms good food best of all Costa coffee with breakfast yum yum could not find anything to complain about superb value for money excellent

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

The hotel staff were very friendly. The room is well maintained and very clean. There was no noise and the location is excellent since the high street and other shopping centres are nearby. The bathroom is also very neat and clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiblee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Address: Birmingham Exchange Buildings | Stephenson Place, Birmingham B2 4NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's hard to think of a more central spot. From Premier Inn Birmingham New Street, above the station, the whole of the city (and most of the UK) is at your feet. You're just minutes from all the major business centres, epic shopping and amazing sights. Track down big brands and off-the-beaten-track bargains in (and around) the Bull Ring and Jewellery Quarter. Explore the huge exhibitions at the NIA and ICC. Or catch the big name acts at the Hippodrome - at under half a mile from the hotel, 'it's behind you!'. And, whether you're here for work or leisure, return to our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. Important info For energy efficiency reasons, the bedroom windows do not open at this Premier Inn. All rooms are fitted with air conditioning. Road works in place surrounding the hotel, bedrooms are insulated to minimalise noise. Directions: At J6 of the M6, exit onto A38/Corporation St, keep right at the fork, merge onto A38 & continue onto Corporation St. Take a slight right onto Queensway. Keep right on Great Charles St, exit New Street. At roundabout take 1st exit then turn left onto Hill St then left onto Small Brook Queensway. Parking is available at the Town Hall car park B5 4AD (approx 11GBP per 24 hours). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing