We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect a meal in a hurry”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ranked #2 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't expect a meal in a hurry”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Waited ages at restaurant entrance. No one there or at bar. When we were eventually attended to were told a large party was in and there would be delays. Ate elsewhere. Money back offer for stay is not what we wanted, we wanted to be fed in safety of the hotel. Hotel in good location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussiejohn_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirminghamNS, Receptionist at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hello Aussiejohn_12,
I was very disheartened when I read your review.
I'd like to apologise for the lack of staff at the front of the restaurant and bar, and how there would've be delays due to having a large group in our restaurant. We're looking at ways of putting in a new system so that if we have a large group in our restaurant that we can still accomodate other guests. Because we would like all of our guests to take advantage of us having a restaurant in our hotel and not have to leave our hotel to get some dinner. On a positive note im glad you liked the location of our hotel we're right in the heart of city centre with all the shops you could think of within walking distance.
Once again im sorry that you couldnt have dinner with us and had to go elsewhere.
Thankyou for your your review.
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,197
    440
    86
    33
    21
See reviews for
408
497
129
348
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Once again, not disappointed with a Premier Inn. I am so impressed with staff training at P.I's and how they manage to get all staff smiling, helpful and going that extra 'mile' to ensure customer satisfaction!

This trip was two days to meet up with friends from London - perfect mid way meeting point and literally right next door to the station so no time wasted in meeting, greeting and getting to the bar!

Loved Birmingham too by the way - very pleasantly surprised at how clean and exciting it looks now....the canal area was lovely for sitting out and eating. Of course we had to go for a curry on the Balti strip (or triangle?) Fabulous value and excellent service. Will be back to Brum at some point......... Thank you again Premier Inns

Room Tip: All rooms excellent. Our hotel had several hen parties in and never heard a thing....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathcody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirminghamNS, Receptionist at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hello kathcody,
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel.
Im glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we pride ourselves on our customer service and making sure every guest enjoys their stay with us and you've hit the nail on the head, we go that extra mile for our guests. We're literally less than 5 minutes walk from the train station, were located on the pallisades ramp next to HSBC and McDonalds making it easy to spot us when you've got out of the station. Birmingham is amazing, there is a lot to see and do but the canals are by far our best feature to go and see on a sunny day.
Thankyou for your review, hopefully we'll see you again soon.
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Enjoyed our stay at Birmingham when went to see McBusted! Very friendly, clean rooms and very good breakfast with lovely helpful staff. Very easy to get to from New St Station and situated in the centre of Birmingham.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirminghamNS, Receptionist at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hello Jayne F,
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel.
Im glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the concert too, our location is perfect to get to the train station and the main arenas in Birmingham. And I'll pass on your nice comments to our breakfast team.
Thankyou for your review.
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milton keynes
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We have stopped at many Premier Inn's and this has claimed top spot. It was a 5m walk up from the station and we received a friendly welcome when we arrived. Room was easy to find and clean and so were the corridors and lift. We ate in the restaurant and received efficient and friendly service with good quality food. We ate at about 8.30 and were practically the only ones in there. It seems most people eat earlier and go out for the night as it was busy when we first arrived at the hotel. There were building works going on outside but we can honestly say we heard nothing. Also you can't open the windows because it's a tower block which filled us with dread but the air con was great and maintained the room temperature comfortably and without loads of noise. Would definately stay again.

Room Tip: We were on floor 3 in 308, the temp was good and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirminghamNS, Receptionist at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hello Caroline U,
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. Im glad we're at the top of your list for premier inns. And that you found our hotel clean and our staff friendly, the air conditioning can be controlled by the pannel in your room and also by reception if the panel in your room doesn't seem to be working, but in your case it was working perfectly, our windows are double glazed to keep out the noise of the city, helping you have a good night sleep
Il pass your nice comments onto our restaurant team.
Thankyou for your review, hopefully we will see you again soon.
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Great service at check-in. Everything you could need in your room, which was clean and comfortable. Decided on breakfast in the morning. Again, comfortable and clean dining area, which was nicely furnished. Every staff member acknowledged us and were really friendly. Will certainly use again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirminghamNS, Receptionist at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hello Nick L,
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel.
Im glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the rooms and restaurant clean and comfortable. Our rooms are furnished with everything you could possibly need while away from home, flat screen tv, tea and coffee making facilities, 2 sets of pillows, we even have electric shaver plugs, extra tea and coffee and iron and ironing boards at reception. Il also pass your comments onto our team.
Thankyou for your review, see you soon.
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This premier Inn is accessed via the ramp to the station on new street, it looks quite unassuming from outside but once you enter it is a really lovely hotel! Tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. The staff are delightful and can't do enough for their guests. Ashley the night bar man was very smiley and offered excellent customer service, and our breakfast waitress was equally as helpful, nothing was too much trouble for her. This hotel is Ideally situated in the city centre close to the station, shops, restaurants & bars and offers excellent value for money. If you are staying over in Birmingham this hotel is well worth a visit

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirminghamNS, Receptionist at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hello Yvonne G,
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. Our location is ideal to visit everything you'd want to with clubs, bars, shops and cinemas all withing a 20 minute walk from us and the bullring shopping centre is only a 5 minute walk away. I'll pass your comments onto our breakfast team and Ashley. Im glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thankyou for reccomending us.
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

For the station it is perfect. 10 minute cab to broad street. Some great local pubs. There are better premier inns but breakfast is very friendly and staff were helpful. Given the level of homeless people around it is fort knox getting in. We had a great weekend and none of us complained.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nicola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirminghamNS, Receptionist at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hello Nicola G,
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. Im glad you enjoyed your weekend with us, and our breakfast team are one of the best I've worked with and having a taxi rank and new street station less than a 5 minute walk from our site means its easy to travel to and from our hotel.
Thankyou for your review.
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
912 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
2,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#8 of 117 in Birmingham
2,930 reviews
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
864 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
3,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Address: Birmingham Exchange Buildings | Stephenson Place, Birmingham B2 4NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's hard to think of a more central spot. From Premier Inn Birmingham New Street, above the station, the whole of the city (and most of the UK) is at your feet. You're just minutes from all the major business centres, epic shopping and amazing sights. Track down big brands and off-the-beaten-track bargains in (and around) the Bull Ring and Jewellery Quarter. Explore the huge exhibitions at the NIA and ICC. Or catch the big name acts at the Hippodrome - at under half a mile from the hotel, 'it's behind you!'. And, whether you're here for work or leisure, return to our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. Important info For energy efficiency reasons, the bedroom windows do not open at this Premier Inn. All rooms are fitted with air conditioning. Road works in place surrounding the hotel, bedrooms are insulated to minimalise noise. Directions: At J6 of the M6, exit onto A38/Corporation St, keep right at the fork, merge onto A38 & continue onto Corporation St. Take a slight right onto Queensway. Keep right on Great Charles St, exit New Street. At roundabout take 1st exit then turn left onto Hill St then left onto Small Brook Queensway. Parking is available at the Town Hall car park B5 4AD (approx 11GBP per 24 hours). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing