We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ranked #3 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here for a weekend VSO reunion with pals! Thre of us arrived by train. The hotel is right beside the train station and I was delighted with this! However, one of the girls arrived by car! This hotel is not at all suitable if you have a car to park. The closest car park is a 10 minute walk and costs £11 daily! If it rains then you will be soaked by the time you walk to the hotel from the car park. Premier Inn should offer a free shuttle service from the car park to the hotel....leaving every half hour, as is the case with USA hotels! Otherwise, the hotel was wonderful. It is right in the centre of the city and we loved it! It suits the train and airport......but not a car!! The hotel was very clean and the staff were very friendly! The evening meal was nice.....but a bit expensive when in Euro!! Thanks to all the staff.....We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanny9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirminghamNS, Receptionist at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Hello Sanny9,
Thank you for your review, your absolutely correct we're ideally located for those who use the train as we're right next to the train station, getting to us by car is a little more difficult but if you park at the Town Hall Car Park its only a 5 to 10 minute walk to our hotel, unfortunately it wouldnt be very effective to have a shuttle bus as the closest to us they could park is the train station so it would still be a good 5 minute walk to get to us.
Il pass your kind words onto the housekeeping team, restaurant team and our chefs.
See you again soon,
Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,900)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,599 - 1,605 of 1,900 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

I have stayed here on business on several occasions over the last few months. The rooms are clean and comfortable, with decent sound insulation and reliable wifi. The staff are generally friendly and helpful. The location is excellent, above the station in the heart of the city, although there are often a number of homeless loitering by the entrance.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank davidjones533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirminghamNS, Receptionist at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Hello davidjones533,
Thank you for your lovely review, you're absolutely right we're in the heart of the city and il pass your kind words about the room onto our housekeeping team. We're currently looking at ways we can move the homless people from outside the building, so soon that will no longer be an issue.
Thank you for staying with us
Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here for the bank holiday weekend. We were very tempted with staying at the Rotunda as a treat but it was prohibitively expensive so we thought we'd just go for convenience here at the very central Premier Inn. I wasn't expecting much, just somewhere functional but I was really very pleasantly surprised. I normally don't sleep very well in large hotels due to noise but I was amazed how quiet the room was. We decided to go for the buffet breakfast, it was superb. Joyce, one of the servers, has a very special quality treating everyone like they are her own friends or family. If you're going to Birmingham and need somewhere central don't look at anywhere else.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank _Andy_ydnA_Andy_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirminghamNS, Receptionist at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Hello _Andy_ydnA_Andy_,
Thank you for your lovely review, im happy we exceeded your expectations, like you said even though we're in the city centre you can't hear a thing from the rooms, and I will pass your lovely comments onto our Joyce, like you said she treats everyone like they are her family and makes sure you've had enough to eat before you even think about leaving our restaurant.
Hopefully we will se you again soon
Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The Hotel is directly above New St station and is within easy reach of everything in Birmingham City centre. Bull Ring 100yds, Broad St bars 5 mins walk.
Although the Hotel has been there a while, the room looked like it was the first time it had ever been used. everything was spotless. I was right above the city centre on the 5th floor and thought it would be noisy, but i didnt hear a thing. If you dont want the premier breakfast, there is a witherspoons just 2 minute walk away serving a good breakfast. Its a fantastic place for a weekend of shopping and entertainment. Everything is close and the Broad St & mailbox area of the city is packed with Bars and resteraunts and i was out till 2am and never felt threatened or uncomfortable at any time. Forget Londan. Birminghams is the place now for a weekend stay

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirminghamNS, Receptionist at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Hello Barney A,
Thank you for your lovely review, I agree with you Birmingham is definately the place for a weekend away from home, like you said our hotel is right in the city centre with all the shops and bars you could need within a 20 minue walk. I will also pass your kind words about the room onto our housekeeping team.
See you again soon
Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This hotel is in a fabulous position for city centre access and of course New Street Train Station. My husband, Michael, and I booked one night away for his birthday and had a lovely time just mooching about the city and spending the night at the hotel.
I have to say that we travel to Birmingham from Northampton on the train a couple of times a year and have stayed in a few other very comfortable hotels. We always comment on the friendliness and helpfulness of the people we meet in Birmingham. This Premier Inn however is in a league of it's own for making their guests feel part of something special.
The receptionist, Rachel?, started off the experience with a lovely welcoming smile and took care of our suitcase until the room was available.
The hotel itself has a great security system. You can only access reception via the lift without a room key card. Once you have your key card you can move on up to other floors.
When we got to our room later in the day we were delighted with the surprise (and I will keep it as a surprise) that awaited us. Michael stayed here a few weeks ago and mentioned he would be returning as a birthday treat. They did not forget that it was Michael's birthday and left a little treat.
The room on the 7th floor was spacious and spotlessly clean. (It's a new hotel and everywhere is clean and tidy.)The bed was extremely comfortable and we had a choice of pillows. (Nice touch.)
The room was air conditioned and the unit was very efficient.
We decided to eat in the Thyme restaurant that is part of the hotel. We were greeted by Declan and his team. Declan remembered Michael from his previous visit and chatted away making us both feel welcome and relaxed. All the restaurant staff were helpful, kind and professional. We had a delicious meal. Michael's pizza in particular was extraordinarily nice. (Thanks chef.)
After a good nights sleep we met Joyce, Kirsty and the rest of the breakfast staff who could not do enough to help. We felt welcomed and valued. The breakfast was lovely and Joyce was able to give us her expert advice on what to have. We were not disappointed. (They went the extra mile once they heard it was Michele's birthday - again won't spoil the surprise for anyone else who goes for a special occasion.However maybe they should think about auditioning for Britain's got Talent!)
The whole team at this hotel deserve a special mention. It's rare to find young people who are genuinely concerned about their guests's comfort and wellbeing. Thankyou Team New Street.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirminghamNS, Receptionist at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Hello Agee10,
Thank you for your amazing review, I will pass your lovely comments on to the whole team! We all try our best to make our guests feel brilliant even if its small things like remembering them if they have stayed before to doing something special if we know they are here for a special occasion. Im really glad you enjoyed your whole stay with us. Hopefully we will see you again soon
Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This is a new hotel and in good condition overall. Even though it is next to New St station and there are roadworks around, it is reasonably quiet even on the lower floors. The windows do not open at the front, and you have to rely on air conditioning. It is a typical Premier Inn - basic and OK. The room could have done with slightly better cleaning - there were hairs in the bath when I arrived. Otherwise it was fine. The staff are helpful and friendly. The breakfasts are typical hotel English breakfasts,and self-service but with a choice of eggs prepared by the kitchen if required.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the annoying 'ping' of the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirminghamNS, Receptionist at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Hello Nigel B,
Thank you for taking the time and effort to review our hotel, will you be able to email us at birminghamcitycentrenewstreetstation.pi@premierinn.com with your reservation number regarding the hairs you found in the bath as this needs to be investigated by our management team as our rooms are normally spotless and we have to find out why your room wasn't up to standard.
I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and found our team to be helpful and friendly, I will pass the comments onto them
Thank you for your review
Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We ( 2friends) stopped here as we were taking our daughters to the NEC to see Little Mix. The Hotel was so convenient as we just stepped off the train into the hotel! The staff were very helpful and friendly and the rooms clean and very quiet, which was surprising given all the things going on outside the window.
Food in the restaurant was amazing - I had salmon - and much better than I would have thought from a hotel chain. The girls had the kids menu and couldn't eat everything as the starters were so big!
Kirsti and Joyce greeted us at breakfast and they were lovely. We felt very well looked after.
We would definitely stay here again.

The Only downfall was that I hate lifts so had to take the 6 flights of stairs a few times -good exercise though!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahjw2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirminghamNS, Receptionist at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Hello sarahjw2301,
Thank you for your gleaming review, were so lucky to be positioned right next to new street station, and even though outside our hotel the tram lines are being put down, you can’t hear anything when in our rooms. Like you said the food in our restaurant is well worth a try and I will pass on your lovely comments to our restaurant team and chefs.
Next time you stay just ask if we have any rooms available on any of the lower floors and we'll do our best to help because even though you can get some good views from the 6th floor, 6 flights of stairs is enough to take the breath out of anyone.
Hopefully we will see you again soon,
Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
952 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
350 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4,010 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel

Address: Birmingham Exchange Buildings | Stephenson Place, Birmingham B2 4NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £55 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's hard to think of a more central spot. From Premier Inn Birmingham New Street, above the station, the whole of the city (and most of the UK) is at your feet. You're just minutes from all the major business centres, epic shopping and amazing sights. Track down big brands and off-the-beaten-track bargains in (and around) the Bull Ring and Jewellery Quarter. Explore the huge exhibitions at the NIA and ICC. Or catch the big name acts at the Hippodrome - at under half a mile from the hotel, 'it's behind you!'. And, whether you're here for work or leisure, return to our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. Important info For energy efficiency reasons, the bedroom windows do not open at this Premier Inn. All rooms are fitted with air conditioning. Road works in place surrounding the hotel, bedrooms are insulated to minimalise noise. Directions: At J6 of the M6, exit onto A38/Corporation St, keep right at the fork, merge onto A38 & continue onto Corporation St. Take a slight right onto Queensway. Keep right on Great Charles St, exit New Street. At roundabout take 1st exit then turn left onto Hill St then left onto Small Brook Queensway. Parking is available at the Town Hall car park B5 4AD (approx 11GBP per 24 hours). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing