We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location splendid staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Ranked #2 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had an enjoyable overnight stay at Staybridge Suites. We were impressed with the helpful and friendly staff who were excellent throughout the hotel. Everyone was very polite and willing to assist.

Our room was very comfortable with good facilities. There was a comfy bed, good & spacious shower and a very well equipped kitchen area in the suite. We liked the cute dish washer. There was plenty of storage space in the kitchen and bedroom with a good sized fridge and ample wardrobe and various drawers around the room. Thank you for having normal hangers in the wardrobe - not the mad ones where you have to slot the hanger into a ring on the rail. The air conditioning was simple to use to obtain the desired temperature. Everything was squeaky clean. We had a panoramic view of Birmingham with its twinkling evening lights.

The reception area has very smart and comfortable seating areas. We were there for a break but we think other guests were staying for a conference and you could see that they felt very relaxed in the setting - as we did too. There was a good array of TV screens and so it would be a great spot to stay on top of the world cup.

Breakfast was disappointing in that there was a comparatively limited choice especially for the hot food, the one egg option - scrambled egg - was dry. Quirkily, the Hotel does not offer plates other than side plates. We asked for bigger plates and were advised they do not have them. Also milk and juice had to be obtained from those big plastic cartons in a fridge. It would have been nice to have had a more user friendly system for these which will be very unwieldy for some and felt rather industrial in a hotel context. Coffee was from machines rather than in pots / cafetieres.

The hotel is very well placed, a few minutes walk from New Street station. We went to see a show at Symphony Hall and it was a lovely walk there and back from the hotel passing ''The Floozy in the Jacuzzi'' and the Historic City Centre which was especially beautiful at night. We also visited Winterbourne House & Gardens. We took the train from New Street to University Station and then had a ten minute walk to the house and gardens which are marvelous.

Many thanks to Staybridge for providing us with a very friendly and comfortable base for our short trip to Birmingham.

Room Tip: Ask for high up for panoramic views of the City and low noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SClond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel Y, Guest Services Manager at Staybridge Suites Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for your positive and informative review on your recent stay with us. Staybridge Suites recognises the "home comforts" that people look for when staying in a hotel, so it's good to hear the little things like proper hangers make all the difference! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (893)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

748 - 754 of 893 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very Welcoming staff, place was lovely and clean and very modern.

Breakfast was good not loads of choice on the hot place but plenty of cold options available.

Lovely and quiet and very close to the city centre and railway- just booked again for July !!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel Y, Guest Services Manager at Staybridge Suites Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for your review. It's great to hear you've booked again for July! The Staybridge Suites brand limits us to three hot items, but it's good to hear you enjoyed the cold/continental selection too. See you in July!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on a one night business trip last weekend. The hotel is immaculate with modern decor throughout. My room 1012 was great, very clean and cosy. Great range of TV Chanel's and a new modern kitchen in the room too. A real home from home and 5 minutes walk to all the shops and bullring so a great location!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loubou2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel Y, Guest Services Manager at Staybridge Suites Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for your review. It's great to hear you enjoyed the "home from home" atmosphere! We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Modern, well equipped, central location. All rooms have a kitchenette which was spotless, with dishwasher, all kitchen utensils you could possibly need, fridge etc. Also plenty of wardrobe and drawer space - why don't other hotels consider this??? Only a shower and no bath - but I don't mind that. Excellent - would have loved to stay longer.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCB2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel Y, Guest Services Manager at Staybridge Suites Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for you review. It's great to hear you were impressed with your suite and that you found the extra space for your clothes useful! Next time you stay, why don't you try one of our One-Bedroom Suites? The bedroom is separate to the living room/kitchen area, with its own TV. You also get a bathtub in the bathroom! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed 19th May what a fantastic experience staff excellent Especially the lovely Stacey.
We had a suite on the twelfth floor superb views and very comfortable. All the needs catered for, slept well and no noise.
The lounge area is a wonderful treat at the end of a busy day.. breakfast great all you need continental with added extras.
Ideal for New Street Station. Ten minute walk and all Birmingham has to offer on the doorstep. Will have no hesitation in recommending and looking forward to returning. Thank you

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank salelad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel Y, Guest Services Manager at Staybridge Suites Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for the lovely review on your recent stay with us. The title says it all, and really sums up what Staybridge Suites is all about! I will be sure to pass on your comments to the Guest Services team! We look forward to seeing you again! Don't forget to follow us on Twitter (@staybridgebrum) for exclusive offers and competitions!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed here Saturday night and couldn't fault, great location in the city centre but very quiet so no disturbance at all. Arrived about 11am and asked if we could leave our luggage, which we could of done but the room was already available so able to drop it off to the room. Room was very clean with all amenities you could wish for, breakfast was fine, could help yourself to a selection of hot and cold choices, replenished regularly. We decided to go to the balti triangle for dinner and having no idea where it was the reception staff organised a taxi for us and had a fab meal, well worth the taxi ride, knowing the restaurant didn't have an alcohol licence bought a bottle of wine to take with us from the hotel and thought £7 a bottle was a good price. The staff all helpful and polite and would definately stay again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel Y, Guest Services Manager at Staybridge Suites Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for your positive review on your recent weekend stay with us. It's great to hear the Guest Services team were helpful and welcoming, and were able to make sure your Saturday evening went smoothly. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed for 2 nights over the bank holiday weekend, loved how close it was to everything.
Room was nice and spacious, good bathroom and large shower plus good kitchen. Only downside was the 1 chair, so if we wanted to watch tv we had to sit on the bed.
Free breakfast was really nice and we enjoyed the free coffees/cappacinos when we came in each day. Wifi (also free) worked great too.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catherineUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel Y, Guest Services Manager at Staybridge Suites Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear catherineUK, thank you for your review. It's great to hear you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and the 24/7 hot drinks available in the Hub Kitchen. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
952 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,142 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Birmingham

Address: Corporation Street 1 Martineau Place, Birmingham B2 4UW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £78 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Birmingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers a "home-from-home" environment for all types of guest. Relax and un-wind in The Den, making use of FREE WiFi. Enjoy your FREE breakfast in the Hub Kitchen or take it to your room. Get fit in our FREE Exercise Room before grabbing a coffee from our 24/7 coffee machine! All our suites include a fully-equipped kitchen so you can prepare yourself a meal in the evening, or attend the Evening Social on a Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday for complimentary drinks and nibbles! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Agoda, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staybridge Suites Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing