We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent city centre accommodation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Ranked #3 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent city centre accommodation.”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Had a two night stay in this city centre location. The room and the facilities are excellent, well appointed and spotlessly clean. The neat well equipped kitchen was a surprise but it was a bonus to have a fridge and a dishwasher, enabling us to have the freedom and flexibility denied in most hotels. My only small criticism was the pillows, such a comfortable bed deserved a nice, soft pillow. This is the perfect place for anyone wanting accommodation right in the city centre.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thelma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel Y, Guest Services Manager at Staybridge Suites Birmingham, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for leaving a review on your recent stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    577
    232
    47
    11
    7
See reviews for
80
375
38
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I can forgive a lot of things, but not rude / unhelpful staff.

The staff member who checked was extremely rude, she took £25 from my card without even telling me what is was for and walked off to speak to another guest half way through checking in, leaving me standing around.

She returned handed my receipt for the £25 still not telling me why she had taken it, and then started chatting away to her colleague because she could not process my payment as she had already closed her till. She finally wandered off to speak to another guest leaving her colleague to explain why she had taken the money and answer any questions I had.

I would like to point out the other person doing check-ins was really nice and helpful, so it can't be a training issue.

The first suite I was checked into was really nice and the air conditioning had the room at a very pleasant level, sadly the shower only ran cold. The gentleman on reception quickly arranged for maintenance to attend, who confirmed it was broken and I was moved to another room.

Sadly this had a different layout and seemed far smaller, equally it was very hot, by then I was exhausted and just didn't care.

The air-conditioning turns off at midnight and both nights I woke up in the middle of the night far too hot!

Whilst it was a nice hotel I would not stay there again, nor would I recommend it to anyone else. if I pay a decent price per night I would like to be treated with some common courtesy.

On a plus note, wifi as great (even on floor 10) and the breakfast was not bad, although I couldn't get a table.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pashie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel Y, Guest Services Manager at Staybridge Suites Birmingham, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Pashie78, thank you for your review. I'm very sorry about the issues you experienced at check-in. I can assure you that there will be a full investigation carried out by myself to ensure this doesn't happen again. As I'm sure you can see from previous reviews, this is not representative of the usually high customer service that we offer to our guests. I hope that, should you book with us again, we will be able to exceed your expectations and be sure that you do not experience this again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I spent a night here last week while on a business trip to Birmingham. It was my first stay at the Staybridge Suites and I chose it due to it’s proximity to the venue of the event I was attending.. You really couldn’t get a more central location and it is especially handy for New Street Station. The reception is located on the 2nd floor and check-in was swift and friendly. I was allocated a room on the 5th floor. It had been a very warm day and I was grateful when I entered the room to find someone had had the foresight to put the air-conditioning on. Very welcome. Found the room very spacious, very well equipped, immaculately presented and spotlessly clean. After a refreshing shower in the very large shower cubicle I headed down to the “meet your neighbour” get together for a quick ( free ! ) drink.. Nibbles /finger food was also available. This is a very laudable concept held daily between 18:30 - 19:30 and contributes greatly to what differentiates the Staybridge from run of the mill hotels/chains. They obviously strive to be that little bit different and it does have a quirky, laid back feel to the place. As there is no on site restaurant I headed out for my evening meal but the breakfast in the morning was very well catered with all the usual suspects available. They have real toasters like the ones in your home not one of those fiddly conveyor belt type things. Other hotels please note ! The coffee was great and apparently free throughout the day for residents and there are even takeaway style cups you can take out of the hotel with you. Another great concept. Sleep quality was very good with quality bedding, comfy bed and good soundproofing in the rooms. No extraneous noise at all.
All in all I was very, very impressed. From now on whenever I am in Birmingham for business or pleasure the Staybridge will be the first place I will try and get booked !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaccaGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel Y, Guest Services Manager at Staybridge Suites Birmingham, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for leaving such a positvive review on your recent stay with us! It's great to hear you enjoyed the Evening Social which is held every Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday between 6.30-7.30pm. The Staybridge Suites brand is all about making you feel relaxed and "at home", so it's great to hear you found this to be the case. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Had a great two night stay.Room and facilities are modern and very clean. Nice to have kitchen/fridge in room.Wi-fi is free and works from your room or in the reception/breakfast areas.Good position for visiting all the shops,theatres and concert venues in the city Will be returning to the Staybridge suites in the future and would definitely recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleightytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel Y, Guest Services Manager at Staybridge Suites Birmingham, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your review! It's great to hear you enjoyed your two-night stay with us and that you will be recommending us to family and friends. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here several times on a Friday or Saturday night after seeing a show. Has an excellent city centre location 10 minutes walk from the Hippodrome.
Rooms are great - large, modern and spotlessly clean with a well equipped kitchen. Facilities are great with very nice sitting room and 'den' with a good library. We have not tried out the laundry room or gym.
Staff have always been very helpful. The location is central so the streets outside are like any UK city centre at night - busy and lots of drunk people, however as there are a lot of people around with late night shops and bright lights it feels just a bit unpleasant rather than unsafe. There is no street noise in the rooms.
There is a large reduction in NCP parking for guests (£8 rather than £24) so make sure that you get your parking ticket processed at Reception when you check out.
Weekend rates seemed to be very reasonable, so we think that we get excellent value for money.
This is now the place that we always come back to for staying in Central Birmingham.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TJCLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel Y, Guest Services Manager at Staybridge Suites Birmingham, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear TJCLeicester, thank you for the positive and informative review on your recent weekend stay with us! I will be sure to pass on your comments to the team as they will be thrilled to hear them. It's great to hear we're now your first choice for accomodation in Birmingham, so we very much look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desborough
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I went to Birmingham with my husband for his birthday. I booked this hotel using an Amazon voucher. It's new, lovely, clean with everything you need. I didn't find the hair dryer until too late. It's in a bedside drawer. Other than that you get a large room, lovely bathroom, a fully equipped kitchen. Breakfast is fine, my only grumble would be there is plenty of bread but no tongues so you see people picking up bread with their hands and putting it back. Other than that I would definitely stay here again. I don't know about car parking but it's only two minutes walk from New Street train station. Very handy for Birmingham city centre.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RealAlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel Y, Guest Services Manager at Staybridge Suites Birmingham, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear RealAlers, thank you for your review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed here on business for one night and really couldn't fault it. It was spotlessly clean everywhere, and it was a nice surprise to find I had a mini suite with a fully fitted kitchen. Lovely comfy bed, toiletries in the bathroom, and a large flat screen tv.
There was also a gym, everything brand new. Reception was warm and inviting, friendly staff, and the buffet breakfast was lovely.
The location is excellent, right in the centre of the city, but there was no noise at night

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel Y, Guest Services Manager at Staybridge Suites Birmingham, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Val E, thank you for your wonderful review! It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found everything to a high standard. We hope that you choose to stay with us again when you're next in Birmingham!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
930 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
3,037 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#13 of 117 in Birmingham
2,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Birmingham

Property: Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Address: Corporation Street 1 Martineau Place, Birmingham B2 4UW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Birmingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers a "home-from-home" environment for all types of guest. Relax and un-wind in The Den, making use of FREE WiFi. Enjoy your FREE breakfast in the Hub Kitchen or take it to your room. Get fit in our FREE Exercise Room before grabbing a coffee from our 24/7 coffee machine! All our suites include a fully-equipped kitchen so you can prepare yourself a meal in the evening, or attend the Evening Social on a Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday for complimentary drinks and nibbles! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Staybridge Suites Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing