We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 week stay - not a single complaint”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Ranked #3 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Southampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“2 week stay - not a single complaint”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We actually check out tomorrow. I don't really know where to start the review. We had a one bedroom apartment and it was immaculate and in nearly new condition. Kitchenette had all the amenities and even though we were not sure on how to use the dishwasher or microwave baking option the manuals are all kept in the cupboard with a quick instruction chart (we found later) posted on the bulletin board in the room - check this when you first move in as it has great information. The staff were amazing - Daniel, Stacie, Becky, Justin at front desk were always accommodating. Management - Chris, Jodie and Bee Bee - were always there at the social night and so friendly to all guests. And the socials are 3 times a week not once a week like many places. Coming back to management, I mentioned that my wife was having an operation and would be joining me at the hotel later in the week. Chris went out and bought her flowers for her arrival. Are you kidding me... what hotels does such wonderful things. Thanks again Chris!

Continuing on, the breakfast was excellent each morning with a wide variety to choose from and the lounge and eating areas were stylishly decorated and extremely comfortable. Serving staff like Evelyna were so polite and quick to help with anything you needed. There is a laundry with detergent provided for you and the gym was all Precor equipment - multipurpose gym, treadmills, ellipticals and stationary bikes. I’m ready to go home but if I had to stay another week it would only be here at this Stabridge as it feels like home – corny as it sounds. If you are debating saving 10 pounds by going to another hotel don’t waste your money by saving a little and yet losing out on so much. I am not sure when I will return to Birmingham but if I do… I know where I will be staying.

With much appreciation for all you have done for us....Mr. Hamilton

Room Tip: Floor at the end of the corridor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markinbda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel Y, Guest Services Manager at Staybridge Suites Birmingham, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear markinbda, thank you for your wonderful review. It's great to hear you were made to feel welcome and I will be sure to pass on your positive comments to the team. It's also great to hear that we were able to go the 'extra mile' to make your stay even more enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again when you're next in Birmingham!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    232
    47
    11
    7
See reviews for
79
374
37
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bromyard, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My partner and I spent the weekend here in May (I'm a little late with the review). Really can't praise this hotel highly enough. We had a studio suite, it was immaculately clean, furnished to a very high standard with everything you could need and the bed was incredibly comfortable! We had a kitchen that wouldn't have looked out of place in a high-end apartment, the bathroom was lovely with a very large walk in shower, and as we were on one of the top floors the views from our windows across the city were amazing!

If you read the other reviews you will see the front doors are quite hard to spot, but they are opposite debenhams with a Costco at either end. You have to go all the way to the end of this lobby and take the lifts to the first floor to get to reception. As long as you know that it's not a problem! The advantage to that is that once you have a room key you can get into the lift at the bottom and go directly to the floor your room is on, bypassing reception and in complete privacy if you wish :-)

This is not a traditional hotel, it doesn't have a bar or restaurant, but my partner and I are quite private people and actually preferred this. They do run gettogethers in the seating/dining area on weekday evenings, which would probably be good if you were there on your own for business and would like to meet other people. The reception area is open plan onto a seating and dinning area where you have your buffet breakfast, it's all very welcoming, clean and modern. The choices offered for breakfast were huge, there are many different types of cereals, breads, fruits, yogurts, etc. and also cooked items available. This is all kept tidy and replenished during the breakfast period by very unobtrusive but extremely efficient staff. There is also a shop in the reception area where you can purchase snacks, takeaway type food to prepare in your suite, and even a selection of beer/wine. The receptionist we met on arrival and when checking out was superb, friendly, happy to give advice and directions, nothing was too much trouble.

The hotel is about 2 minutes walk onto New Street and about 4 minutes walk to the Bull Ring, so all the entertainment/sights/restaurants you could wish for are within easy reach. All in all a fantastic day, we can't wait to do it again :-)

Room Tip: Go as high as you can, the views from the top are spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myamoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel Y, Guest Services Manager at Staybridge Suites Birmingham, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Myamoth, thank you for your wonderful review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. However, just a quick correction for any guests that may be reading; we're opposite House of Fraser with a Poundland at either side of us. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed in room 917. This room also had a kitchen with all utensils including microwave, small cooker hob, fridge and small freezer.

I will simply list all the good points:-
• Very comfortable mattress.
• Darkened room at night and very quiet so no need for my earplugs and eye mask.
• Safe for keys/money.
• Iron and ironing board in room.
• Plenty of wardrobe space.
• Large flatscreen TV.
• All areas of the hotel lovely and warm.
• Free Wi-Fi.
• Fluffy bath, hand towels and flannels.
• Nice hair wash, body wash and body lotion.
• Fantastic lighting in all rooms (not the usual dim lighting where you can't see anything).
• Breakfast was good and lots of choice. Offered cooked and continental.
• Held luggage for us on the day of our departure was we went shopping.
• Free tea, coffee and hot chocolate all day in dining room for guests.
• Friendly and helpful staff.
• The entire hotel was spotless. Very impressed with the cleanliness.
• Shop by reception if you want to cook a quick ready meal or have snacks.

Overall I highly recommend this hotel. Great if you want to cook your own dinner. Supermarket and very close by to purchase food.

If it suits you, the hotel is situated a few minutes walk from the Bullring centre.

The only thing was it did lack the ambience of a country retreat but that did not bother me and it's not what the hotel advertises. This is a good city location with everything you need.

Five stars well-deserved.

Room Tip: Higher your room, no doubt the quieter it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ROODLES999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel Y, Guest Services Manager at Staybridge Suites Birmingham, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We really appreciate you taking the time to list all of our good points! I will be sure to pass on your comments to the relevant departments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandwell
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Beautiful place,, fantastic location,, staff were great
Would recommend stopped for the one night and is perfect,, rooms are out this world would defo stay again
Breakfast is a bit hectic but it's included so make the most of it
If your going to brum on a night out or for a weekend stay here

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank sam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel Y, Guest Services Manager at Staybridge Suites Birmingham, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Me and my husband stayed here whilst visiting family, The staybridge is in a very good location very close to the shopping, The Bullring was literaly a 5 min walk away. The aircon was a godsend, the staff were very good.
Breakfast was ok. The room was amazing, had everything we needed.
The only downside we had was the housekeeping could have been a little better, the throw on the bed was dirty and the inside of the window had very greasy marks on them.
All in all a very good hotel and we have already rebooked for our next visit in september :).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel Y, Guest Services Manager at Staybridge Suites Birmingham, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Rachel792, thank you for your review. I'm very sorry to hear of the few problems you had with cleanliness in the room; this is not representative of our usual high levels of quality. I will be passing this on to Housekeeping to ensure this doesn't happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I stayed at the Staybridge Suites in May, whilst visiting Birmingham for BodyPower Expo - the result of my search criteria being for self catering facilities and access to free Wi-Fi. We were not at all disappointed.

The venue itself is impressive, with modern decor, high ceilings and very accommodating desk staff who made us feel instantly welcome.

The suite was immaculately laid out, with plenty of room and excellent facilities for meal prep as was a high priority for us. Very spacious with a load of storage space, which was far in excess of our requirements for the two night stay, but allowed our stuff to be put out of sight / tripping regions. I could easily have envisaged a more lengthy stay here being equally as comfortable.

Breakfast was a pleasant bonus, as I hadn't noticed the inclusion thereof in the cost of the booking. Whilst I've since noticed less favourable reviews on the offerings here, we had absolutely no complaints - the buffet arrangement was particularly positive for my other half's large eating requirements, and the content was tasty and perfectly satisfactory. Whilst I had initial reservations about the prospect of mediocre coffee from a machine, I was pleasantly surprised with the standard thereof.

We will most definitely be returning the next time we're in Birmingham, and would be loathe to consider anywhere else, particularly in light of the incredible value for money from this venue.

Special mention to the parking arrangements also, with very well discounted parking available for guests at the nearby NCP carpark.

Location also cannot be faulted - very easy to find, and particularly accessible for the Train Station and car park

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purplerose028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel Y, Guest Services Manager at Staybridge Suites Birmingham, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your review. It's great to hear you found us convenient for your trip to the NEC. We look forward to seeing you again when you're next in Birmingham!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Had stayed at Staybridge Suites in Liverpool a couple of years ago, so this was an ideal choice at a reasonable price when booking a night to attend a wedding in Birmingham.

All staff interactions were professional and courteous; the queen suite was spacious and cleaned to a good standard; and the room was sufficiently cool on a hot humid night to ensure we had a good night's sleep.

The breakfast area was very busy but that is to be expected at 9am on a Sunday. The majority of tables seated 4 or 6 which meant that quite a lot of tables were taken by couples with spare seats left unused. It would make sense to split the tables so that more two's were available.

The only gripe we had from our stay was the fact that there was no bacon available on the buffet breakfast. Good selection of cereals and pastries but for the hot food there was only Lincolnshire sausages (very nice), scrambled egg and baked beans. I think this was the same when we stopped at Liverpool so it must be a brand decision to omit the bacon? Shame because it would have made a good breakfast perfect!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel Y, Guest Services Manager at Staybridge Suites Birmingham, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Kerry306, thank you for your review, It's great to hear staff made you feel welcome and that you were impressed with the facilities in your suite. The Staybridge Suites brand specifies we should have either sausage or bacon available (but not both). We therefore alternate between the two on a daily basis. We can't speak for Staybridge Suites Liverpool, but it's likely they do the same! Thanks again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
930 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
3,028 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#13 of 117 in Birmingham
2,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Birmingham

Property: Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Address: Corporation Street 1 Martineau Place, Birmingham B2 4UW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Birmingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers a "home-from-home" environment for all types of guest. Relax and un-wind in The Den, making use of FREE WiFi. Enjoy your FREE breakfast in the Hub Kitchen or take it to your room. Get fit in our FREE Exercise Room before grabbing a coffee from our 24/7 coffee machine! All our suites include a fully-equipped kitchen so you can prepare yourself a meal in the evening, or attend the Evening Social on a Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday for complimentary drinks and nibbles! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Staybridge Suites Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing