We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Staybridge Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Ranked #2 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We have just spent a long weekend at this great hotel in Birmingham. It is located centrally close to the Bullring (and other shopping centres), New St. Station and other great attractions, such as Birmingham Cathedral. It is a modern hotel which will appeal not only to those individuals who like hotels but to those who also like the flexibility of an apartment style break. Because we tend to stay in hotels we made minimal use of the kitchen facility as we had budgeted for eating out.
The hotel reception is located on the second floor and the staff were very efficient and polite. Because we are IHG gold members we were upgraded to a one bedroom suite on the 9th floor - room 911!!! This room was very quiet, comfortable and had a great view towards the Bullring. The sitting area had a comfy bed settee and a single chair, HD television, working space and a small kitchenette.
In the kitchen there was a grill/microwave, fridge, 2 ring hob, dishwasher and many knives, dishes and utensils. All very useful for keeping costs down.
In the bedroom there was a large queen bed, a well sized wardrobe, iron/ironing board and a wall mounted television.
Just off the bedroom there was a small but perfectly formed bathroom. There was a bath/shower combo and a lovely modern basin area.
On weekend you have to arrange for your suite to be cleaned but you could request clean towels etc for your room. Rooms are cleaned daily during the week.
The breakfast area was located on the second floor to the left of reception and serves a very good breakfast with a mix of hot and cold food. There are two hot food combinations which are served on alternate days namely - bacon, omelette and beans and sausage, scrambled eggs and beans. Breads, baguettes, bagels, croissants and danish pastries are all nice. In addition, there is cheese, ham, yogurt, fresh fruits and cereals. Milk, fresh fruit juices and water is stored in fridges. There is also a great coffee machine. In fact the tea/coffee facility is available free of charge all day, and I think this is a great touch! On this floor there is a gym and a laundry room which we did not use on this occasion.
Opposite reception there is a small pantry which sticks essentials which you may want to purchase during your stay.
We would most definitely stay in this hotel again. Thank you very much!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank cymrobangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaybridgeTeam, Deputy Manager at Staybridge Suites Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

Dear Cymrobangor,

Many thanks for taking the time for posting review on your recent stay with us. Glad to hear you had had a fantastic time and enjoyed all aspects o the hotel. Thank you for your wonderful notes about the hotel

Looking forward to have the pleasure of your company again in the future

Bee Bee Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (893)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

663 - 669 of 893 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

Excellent hotel, Rooms are modern and contemporary, with space to work and also kitchen facilities to cook for yourself.

Open plan area for breakfast works really well, very spacious.

There is no restaurant on site but you can buy food to cook in your room or otherwise Sainsbury's is just around the corner. Also there are plenty of restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RutgerKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaybridgeTeam, Deputy Manager at Staybridge Suites Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

Dear RudgerKG,

Many thanks for taking the time for posting review on your recent stay. Great to hear you have had a fantastic stay and enjoyed all aspects of the hotel

Looking forward to welcoming you back

Bee Bee Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I usually stay at the Holiday Inn in Birmingham but tried the Staybridge for a change as it was offering a cheaper rather than HI but I still get the IHG reward points.

Ive stayed in a couple of other Staybridge before, Newcastle / Liverpool, but found this one perfect.

It is accessed on Corporation Street right across from House Of Fraser

Massive reception area and seating with many different TV's all showing different channels, very comfortable sofas etc, allowing you to stay in the hotel and spend a lot less on drinks than you would do in other hotels such as Holiday Inn, the "pantry" in reception has plenty of different drinks / wine that can be bought and i doubt they would stop you buying your own.

The managers welcome drinks evenings are great, free drinks from 630-730 every Tue / Wed / Thurs is a great touch, draught beer, wine etc all available with some great nibbles, pork pie, crisps, different breads, pizza, as its FREE its a great benefit.

Dont listen to other reviews moaning about the breakfast, the breakfast area is massive (unlike many other hotels like Holiday Inn Express) and has plenty of tables, the only thing you cook yourself is toast and thats the same as every other hotel. The hot food is sitting cooked and read to help yourself with, but considering the breakfast is FREE instead of £14.95 in the Holiday Inn I dont know how anyone can complain about it. Great choice of cereals, choices of bread types and not just a white and a brown loaf left out.

The rooms were great like other staybridge, full kitchen was very good and the bed was very comfortable + a very well laid out bathroom

A platinum priority club member also gets £5 of free items from "the pantry" which is great

I only paid £58 to stay one night, but consider that even if it was more the benefit of the managers welcome drinks and the free proper breakfast are probably worth £20

Id recommend this to anyone for location (less than 5 mins from new st station) staff were great and very chatty

Very well done for such as great hotel a+++

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaybridgeTeam, Deputy Manager at Staybridge Suites Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear Jason M

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a fantastic review. Glad to hear you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel and had a memorable stay with us. Very pleased to learn you enjoyed our Social Evening and appreciated our complementary breakfast. We greatly appreciate your recommendations to friends and family

Looking forward to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon

Bee Bee Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I found this apartment hotel by using trip advisor. My husband and I were visiting Birmingham for the T20 cricket finals at Edgbaston. The reviews were good as was the price. Although initially hard to find in the dark it was worth the effort.

Set close to the bullring and easy walk of the cathedral. Everything clean bright and freshly decorated. The "suite" comprised a very good sized room with fully equipped kitchen with breakfast bar, small clean shower room and sitting/lounge area with large TV and armchair . Buffet breakfast not the best I've had but more than adequate . Free wifi access everywhere without fuss! All in all very good. Everyone in Birmingham very friendly especially the cabbies!

Only downside of trip was that Hampshire lost in the semi finals!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Janem1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaybridgeTeam, Deputy Manager at Staybridge Suites Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Janem1956,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a positive review. We are delighted that you found us on Trip Advisor and we have lived up to you expectations.

Hope to see you soon

Looking forward to welcoming you back

Bee Bee Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I was here staying for business for a night and sorry to say I won't be returning. I'd say the overall feel of this place is a cross between a budget hotel and a backpackers. The apartments are nice enough, clean and spacious but if you usually stay in hotels and expect a hotel standard of service here then you will be disappointed. I didn't like the breakfast arrangements where you have to make it yourself, too crowded with all the other guests about and very confusing! My personal preference is for a hotel or a serviced apartment. I think Staybridge try to be something in between and it didn't really work for me.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LJC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaybridgeTeam, Deputy Manager at Staybridge Suites Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear LJC2013,

Thank you for taking the time for posting review. We are very sorry to hear Staybridge is not to you liking. In Staybridge, we promote the 'home away from home' concept hence it is a limited service hotel with a relaxing ambience

Bee Bee Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Amazing Hotel the Best i have stayed in yet and would stay here again. The building is in a Wonderful and fresh condition which gives you that feeling that you can just relax and have peace.
The Room is amazing and they provide everything you will need for your stay Cooker, Dishwasher etc
My only bad point i would say is that they need more staff at reception and the clock in the room i stayed in was in a place you could not see it also the TV was low down and in front of the Sofa so whilst you was in bed you couldnt see the TV So we had to move the sofa out of the way and then just about could watch.
Otherwise overall This is a great place to stay and would recommend it to all =)

Room Tip: Highest Floor You Can Enjoy the SunSet =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sonnyshh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaybridgeTeam, Deputy Manager at Staybridge Suites Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Sonnyshh,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a positive review. We will surely take on board of you feedback and to take every step possible to further improving the standard. I am very sure that our team will be delighted by you kind commendation.

We hope to see you soon and look forward to welcoming you back

Bee Bee Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We were very fortunate to win a 2 night stay here in a raffle.

We stayed on the 8th-10th of August in a suite on the 10th floor

Finding the hotel was very easy (but we know our way around Birmingham) it’s situated opposite house of Frasier. There is no car parking on site but there is a NCP Car Park a 2 minute walk away and the hotel will validate your ticket so it’s a total of £8 per day rather than £20 odd.

The reception is located on the 2nd floor all other floors need a key card to access. We were greeted by a lady called Jacqueline who checked us in (check in is after 3pm) and explained about breakfast, and the larder on site where you can purchase food, snacks and drinks to be charged to your room alternatively there is a Sainsbury’s on the next street open until 9.30pm, the hotel will also pick up your shopping before you check in and deliver it to your room before you arrive.

We went up to our suite 1011 and boy were we surprised it was gigantic! A living room with TV, sofa, chair, desk and with a view over Birmingham city centre, a kitchen with hob, microwave/cooker, kettle, toaster, fridge and plates and cutlery, bathroom with bath, shower, towels and soaps and bedroom with desk, another TV, MASSIVE bed, wardrobes, safe and washing basket. We settled in nicely it was honestly like staying in somebody’s house rather than a hotel.

Breakfast in the morning was served just around the corner from reception a consisted of, a varied hot buffet first morning was baked beans, bacon and cheese omelette second morning was scrambled egg, baked beans and sausages, alongside this was the usual selection of fruits, cereals, breads, coffee, teas, fruit juices and for the first time ever in any hotel I have ever stayed in they had soya milk! (You get 5 stars just for this) the staff in the breakfast area were polite and efficient and cleaned the tables quicker than I have ever seen.

Every time we had a question there was a member of staff available, it always seemed to be Jacqueline she did seem to be there a lot and she was fantastic! She genuinely seemed interested in what brought us to Birmingham and what we had planned.
Check out was easy enough (check out is before 11am)

On site they also have a large lounge area, a gym, laundry room and a room which could be hired for meetings.

I would have gladly paid to stay here and next time we visit Birmingham we will be. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Higher up the better view and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbehroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaybridgeTeam, Deputy Manager at Staybridge Suites Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Bobbehroo,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a very informative and fantastic review. You kind complement and high regard of our team will be passed on to the team. I am very sure the team will be delighted by such a positive review.

We hope to see you soon

Looking forward to welcoming you back

Bee Bee Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
952 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,145 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Birmingham

Address: Corporation Street 1 Martineau Place, Birmingham B2 4UW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £79 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Birmingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers a "home-from-home" environment for all types of guest. Relax and un-wind in The Den, making use of FREE WiFi. Enjoy your FREE breakfast in the Hub Kitchen or take it to your room. Get fit in our FREE Exercise Room before grabbing a coffee from our 24/7 coffee machine! All our suites include a fully-equipped kitchen so you can prepare yourself a meal in the evening, or attend the Evening Social on a Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday for complimentary drinks and nibbles! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staybridge Suites Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing