We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Birmingham South (Longbridge Station) Hotel
Ranked #7 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a disappointment”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We were looking forward to staying in this Premier Inn as it indicated it was fairly new on the website. What a disappointment !! We stayed with our 11 year old son on 19th August in a family room. The first problem is that one of our pillows was covered in blood stains. On returning this to reception the girl's attitude was one of why were we complaining - it was only a few stains. At least the young man on reception was sympathetic and changed the pillow for us. The toilet seat was loose so you had to be very careful when you sat on it and when getting in the shower in the morning there were hairs over the bath and tiles where someone with long hair had washed their hair. It clearly had not been cleaned properly. The pillows had practically no filling in them and when we mentioned this to reception they informed us they were waiting for new pillows to arrive. The only up side is that they did refund the money for our stay but I would not recommend anyone choose this Premier Inn to stay in. Although it is less than a year old the cleanliness is not the usual standard of Premier Inns.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Birmingham South (Longbridge Station) Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    126
    38
    18
    8
See reviews for
175
111
24
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Sunlight, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2014

An excellent value budget hotel. Basic but clean room as you would expect. Very friendly staff who made us feel welcome. The location is handy with a Sainsbury's opposite and Costa and a deli nearby. We had a great night's sleep!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

A new hotel so all fixtures and fittings in good nick and nice staff in a lovely urban regeneration setting. Excellent local rail links. Website has wrong postcode for Sat Navs takes you to a residential dead end two miles away. Look up longbridge sainsburys and use that to find it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsInformation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clackmannan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Our second stay at this new Premier Inn. We were impressed last time and many more people seem to have discovered this gem. The rooms are maintained to a standard I would expect from this group. In general we choose to stay at independent accommodation but this premier inn does give great value and personal feel. I will especially commend the charm and courtesy of Gemma on reception and Jo in the restaurant. Jo dealt in an entirely professional manner with a rude customer and is to be congratulated. Gemma was unfailingly pleasant and welcoming.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nickmoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Ideally located for Longbridge Railway Station with easy access into Birmingham. After an initial hiccup with checking in and finding our room not ready the stay was relaxing and peaceful. Opposite the hotel is a very large Sainsbury’s which was useful, and also has an ATM outside. The Beefeater restaurant located on the first floor was pleasant, as were the staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cloudlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Staff very welcoming. New hotel so rooms excellent. Travelled with daughter her husband and baby so brand new travel cot. Handy having restaurant on site and great breakfast. Only problem being a new hotel sat nav did not recognise postcode so a tip put in postcode for long bridge station and take turning when you see sainsbury's.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burry Port, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

First time at a premier inn with my 2 children and mam, was fantastic will deffinately go again :)
The staff were super friendly and the area was lovely, with a supermarket right across the street!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
910 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
2,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
3,666 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#28 of 117 in Birmingham
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham South (Longbridge Station) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham South (Longbridge Station) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham South (Longbridge Station) Hotel
Address: 1 High Street | Longbridge, Birmingham B31 2UQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham South (Longbridge Station) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built as part of Europe's biggest regeneration project, Premier Inn Birmingham South (Longbridge Station) is based in the city's financial district. With the train station directly opposite, you're within easy reach of some great tourist attractions, as well as handy transport links by rail and road. For the chocoholics among you, treat yourself to Cadbury World in Bournville. Get face-to-face with sharks at the Sealife Centre. Pick up some German delicacies during the festive months at the Frankfurt Christmas Market. Or take off to the fairway Lickey Hills Golf. However you spend your day, you'll find everything you need to relax and recharge in our spacious rooms and tasty restaurant. Directions: Exit M5, J4 and take the exit for A38 towards Birmingham. Continue for 3 miles passing Morrisons and McDonald's until reaching a roundabout - take 1st exit towards A38 (B'ham). Turn right at the first set of traffic lights signposted Longbridge train station. Take first right at Sainsburys approaching Longbridge town and the hotel is on the right. The car park is located next to the college and is signposted. Car park Sat Nav postcode - B31 2TW ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing