We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Birmingham South (Longbridge Station) Hotel
Ranked #11 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is a new hotel with 3 floors.(2 lifts) We stayed 2 nights having booked it on line about 6 weeks earlier @ £29 a night.
On arrival, received a warm greeting from the receptionist. There is a small modern lounge and reception area with comfortable seating near to reception for guests to use.

Our room was very similar to previous Premier Inns we have stayed at, but everything is still new and in excellent condition. The room had air conditioning. Had a reasonable nights sleep after but the bed was far too hard so spoke to 'Housekeeping' who provided an additional Quilt to lie on the second night. There are spare pillows if required.

The only issue I would raise is that with our room being at the rear we were aware of the constant noise from what appeared to be three extractor fans/ chimneys below our room which were running constantly and made a droning noise until about midnight. This made it difficult to get to sleep?

The hotel is attached on the first floor to a Beefeater Pub/Restaurant on one side and the other end of the building is a Costa Coffee that opens at 6:30am. Opposite is a large Sainsburys store which has a cafe that opens at 7:30am and next to it is a Greggs Bakery. You are spoilt for for food outlets which are all within 50 yards.
Free Wi-fi for 30 minutes a day is available, although 3G was intermittent.

There is a car park which costs £3:00 per day, but you needs collect a voucher from reception.

I will certainly have no hesitation about returning here in the future.

Room Tip: Select a front facing room as there are 3 extractor chimneys at the rear corner which drones until a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

Very welcoming staff. So clean and sparkly new. Special mention for Jo who thrilled my daughter with the smiley face on her egg. Nothing was too much trouble. A credit to the the company. Thank you. Will be staying again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Scoobydavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We were looking forward to staying in this Premier Inn as it indicated it was fairly new on the website. What a disappointment !! We stayed with our 11 year old son on 19th August in a family room. The first problem is that one of our pillows was covered in blood stains. On returning this to reception the girl's attitude was one of why were we complaining - it was only a few stains. At least the young man on reception was sympathetic and changed the pillow for us. The toilet seat was loose so you had to be very careful when you sat on it and when getting in the shower in the morning there were hairs over the bath and tiles where someone with long hair had washed their hair. It clearly had not been cleaned properly. The pillows had practically no filling in them and when we mentioned this to reception they informed us they were waiting for new pillows to arrive. The only up side is that they did refund the money for our stay but I would not recommend anyone choose this Premier Inn to stay in. Although it is less than a year old the cleanliness is not the usual standard of Premier Inns.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Birmingham South (Longbridge Station) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

An excellent value budget hotel. Basic but clean room as you would expect. Very friendly staff who made us feel welcome. The location is handy with a Sainsbury's opposite and Costa and a deli nearby. We had a great night's sleep!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

A new hotel so all fixtures and fittings in good nick and nice staff in a lovely urban regeneration setting. Excellent local rail links. Website has wrong postcode for Sat Navs takes you to a residential dead end two miles away. Look up longbridge sainsburys and use that to find it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsInformation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Our second stay at this new Premier Inn. We were impressed last time and many more people seem to have discovered this gem. The rooms are maintained to a standard I would expect from this group. In general we choose to stay at independent accommodation but this premier inn does give great value and personal feel. I will especially commend the charm and courtesy of Gemma on reception and Jo in the restaurant. Jo dealt in an entirely professional manner with a rude customer and is to be congratulated. Gemma was unfailingly pleasant and welcoming.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nickmoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Ideally located for Longbridge Railway Station with easy access into Birmingham. After an initial hiccup with checking in and finding our room not ready the stay was relaxing and peaceful. Opposite the hotel is a very large Sainsbury’s which was useful, and also has an ATM outside. The Beefeater restaurant located on the first floor was pleasant, as were the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cloudlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
1,003 reviews
Ladywood
EasyHotel Birmingham
EasyHotel Birmingham
#3 of 118 in Birmingham
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,581 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham South (Longbridge Station) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham South (Longbridge Station) Hotel

Address: 1 High Street | Longbridge, Birmingham B31 2UQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £45 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham South (Longbridge Station) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built as part of Europe's biggest regeneration project, Premier Inn Birmingham South (Longbridge Station) is based in the city's financial district. With the train station directly opposite, you're within easy reach of some great tourist attractions, as well as handy transport links by rail and road. For the chocoholics among you, treat yourself to Cadbury World in Bournville. Get face-to-face with sharks at the Sealife Centre. Pick up some German delicacies during the festive months at the Frankfurt Christmas Market. Or take off to the fairway Lickey Hills Golf. However you spend your day, you'll find everything you need to relax and recharge in our spacious rooms and tasty restaurant. Directions: Exit M5, J4 and take the exit for A38 towards Birmingham. Continue for 3 miles passing Morrisons and McDonald's until reaching a roundabout - take 1st exit towards A38 (B'ham). Turn right at the first set of traffic lights signposted Longbridge train station. Take first right at Sainsburys approaching Longbridge town and the hotel is on the right. The car park is located next to the college and is signposted. Car park Sat Nav postcode - B31 2TW ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham South (Longbridge Station) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing