We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An okay stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Ranked #72 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“An okay stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

Stayed here on a brief over-nighter on business - spent only around 8 hours here after arriving very late (phoned ahead to let them know) and whisked away at 07:30 the following morning. Very good room on the twenty-something floor - quiet, comfortable and well-equipped with everthying that I needed for a quick crash and dash. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sub_three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    716
    512
    272
    158
See reviews for
128
761
124
735
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

So what made me say the hotel was "good" ????

Location - it is in the middle of the city centre and really easy to get to things. The Bullring shopping centre is about two minutes walk away.

Rooms - pleasant decoration, maintained, clean and well lit.

Food - I didn't have my evening meal in the hotel, as there was a better choice of food offered in local restaurants. However, the choice of food offered at breakfast was very good.

Disabled access - good access.

Security - I felt safe whilst staying here. Fire extinguishers were visible. Also, the hotel had that nice touch where the lift doesn't work for non guests, as they don't have a validated room card to swipe across the lift control.



So what made me avoid saying the hotel was "excellent" ???

Ease of finding - It was a bit of a mare to find out how to get into it whilst driving. For those that know the feeling of looking at where you want to be and having to drive around the roundabout a couple of times to figure out where to get off .............. it was one of those scenarios.............. even with the Sat Nav!!

Parking - I had been told when the booking was made that it had guest parking........ what they didn't tell me was that I had to park in the local NCP car park and walk back around the corner down a dark and rather dodgy looking street ........... then pay £14 for this privilege.

Arrival at the hotel - after driving around the hotel twice, I had to stop right in front of the hotel in their "drop off" point to then run in and ask where the parking was. If anyone has ever asked a fairly decent question and then been rebuked by a rather discourteous front of house member of staff, this was one of those occassions!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 14th floor have a nice view and are high enough up that you do not hear the traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luckybear_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Check in was prompt and courteous. My room facing onto Holloway Circus was a bit noisy until the small hours due to traffic.
Evening meal served to our large group was very ordinary. The waiting staff however were very attentive.
Check out again was prompt and polite.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VeruMontanum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

Very noisy airconditioning units right outside our window (Room 510) which we were told belonged to the hotel next door. The hotel should not rent this room out. The noise woke us up at 3.15am even though we had been told it would stop at 12.30 so we did not change rooms, and we were reluctant to change rooms in the middle of the night. The breakfast was plentiful but lukewarm. The wifi did not work on my iPad. We mentioned our experience to the receptionist when checking out and were eventually offered a 20% discount, which worked out as free breakfast. We had a great time in Birmingham and will definitely come again but we won't stay at the Radisson and advise anyone thinking of staying there to make sure they do not stay in Room 510.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsKnol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Midlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

My partner and I got this on a deal and were pleasantly suprised by the room, it was perfect. Very tastfully done, and very welcoming.
The hotel in itself was very nice, the staff friendly and helpful. We were out for the evening and came back to have a meal in the hotels restaurant which was great, I would eat here again.
The only problem we had was how noisy it was, our room was on the main road, but i would have thought the noise would have been blocked out with glazing etc. We could hear taxis beeping their horns still at 3am, it was so annoying.
If it hadnt have been for that it would have been a perfect stay

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank srhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

I booked a suite for 1 night which cost me £189 as a bday treat for my partner and I was not very impressed. Don't get me wrong the hotel was nice the staff were friendly and helpful but when we got to our room there were big stains on the carpet in the living area and the bedroom and the shower needed to be re grouted and was black in the corner. The breakfast was great eat as much as you want and lots of choice. The parking was another let down an NCP at the side of the hotel which cost us £14 on top of the 189 I had already spent.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K8lovesaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

I was a bit undecisive weather to book this hotel as some of the reviews hadn't been up to much..... but i am so glad i did, the hotel was lovely, rooms are bright airy and clean, staff very friendly and efficient. I would definitely stay here again.... it was by far the cheapest but the price is not reflected in rooms or location. Both were ideal! :-)

Room Tip: Try and get a high floor room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annaspanna0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,281 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#12 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Address: 12 Holloway Circus Queensway | Queensway, Birmingham B1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel in Birmingham soars above the cityscape in an impressive 39-storey structure near the business district, convention centre and shopping complexes. The large 170,000 square foot John Lewis and the new grand central station on New Street are just a 3-minute walk from the hotel. The hotel also has NCP parking facilities directly behind on St. Jude's Passage. Designed by Matteo Thun, the 211 contemporary rooms and suites showcase modern accents and furnishings and provide amenities such as Free high-speed, wireless Internet. The on-site dining option for guests is the award-winning Filini Italian restaurant. To sip a cocktail or enjoy a beer, step into one of the 2 hotel bars, and keep fit in the 18th-floor fitness centre, where skyline city views enhance your workout experience. The hotel's flexible meeting facilities surround up to 130 attendees with generous meeting spaces and equipment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Rezidor and Odigeo so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Radisson Birmingham
Birmingham Radisson
Radisson Sas Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing