We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Accomodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Ranked #72 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Coventry
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Accomodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

Stayed here for a weekend recently in December and I must say the hotel and all it's staff were absolutely excellent.I had problems getting in to my room at around midnight but no trouble a quick trip back to reception and my room card was sorted.
Excellent location for the centre of Birmingham with all the major areas within a 5/10 minute walk
and with Chinatown and the Theatre just across the road.
Parking is in a nearby car park with the hotel offering a discount to bring a 24 hour charge down to £15.
Cannot comment on the bar/resteraunt as I never used them as Birmingham has too many good places to eat and drink.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PETER R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah_duffield, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 22 January 2012
Dear sir,

I am so glad to hear you had a great stay with us! Thank you for spending the time to tell others on trip advisor! Please feel free to contact me if you are in the Birmingham area again.

We hope to see you again in 2012!

Kind regards,

Sarah Duffield
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Sarah.duffield@radissonblu.com
DD: 0121 654 6010
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    716
    512
    272
    158
See reviews for
128
761
124
735
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

Nice hotel tidy and clean.

only gripe was the t.v in the rooms dont get the best reception.

We order a bottle of prosseco for the room on arrival and after arriving it was not there so asked them to have it there in the room for when we get back from shopping but still was not there, Eventualy third time lucky we got it!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah_duffield, Rooms DIvision Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 22 January 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review and recent stay with us. I have left you a message to obtain further details on your stay so that we can investigate, my assurances this is not inherent of our usual standards, please do get in touch when you have a moment.

Kind regards,

Sarah Duffield
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Sarah.duffield@radissonblu.com
DD: 0121 654 6010
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
119 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

I love the hotel, the car park is not safe, so leave the car or find another place to park!

The hotel has quite a funky feel and the food is very good. The views from the rooms I've stayed always offer great views.

I've never been disappointed with any of my stays here.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SSgt_Fury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah_duffield, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 22 January 2012
Dear guest,

Happy new year! Thank you for your kind review, we hope to welcome you back shortly! Together with ncp we are looking to improve the car parking, your comments are appreciated.

Have a great week.

Kind regards,
Sarah Duffield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,308 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

I stayed here to attend an event hosed by a client. The hotel was fairly good in most areas and the bed was very comfortable although the soft furnishings in the room were past their best. The main negative point was, I was with a number of clients and colleagues and after the event had finished (this was in a private suite) some of us made our way to the residents bar for a late drink. When we arrived, the bar area was open but there was only one member of staff who was on the front desk. We asked politely where we could get a drink and was told the bar was closed and the only way a guest could have a drink was to go to their room and order room service or use the mini bar. Now I can understand this in a small hotel or in a quiet town but we were supposed to be in a 4 star international chain hotel in Britain's second city. Every other hotel of a similar standard I have stayed at usually allows residents to have drinks in the bar area, maybe served by the night porter but this kind of put a dampener on the evening and especially considering my client had spent thousands of pounds with the hotel on their event earlier in the evening and the number of guests attending the event gave the hotel thousands of pounds more in accommodation revenue.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mikeo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah_duffield, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 19 December 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your recent visit with us - I hope that you enjoyed the event you attended and that you are now ready to relax and enjoy the Festive Season.

After reading your review, I am sorry to hear that it was some what difficuit to get a drink, we normally say for guests staying in house to leave the bar area open until around 2am, would yu be so kind to provide me with more details? I would definately agree that service should of been available to you being a resident with us.

I have left my details below, and hope that you make contact so that we can discuss this further
Have a great week.

Kind Regards,

Sarah Duffield
Rooms Division Manager
Sarah.Duffield@Radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

Radisson are excellent for room value and they've proved it with this hotel. Ideally placed and excellent room prices at around £73.The free wireless internet is excellent although higher rooms do get a poor reception, however Ethernet your way to guarentee a usable connection.

My only complaints were the Spa which had a tiny gym and the drinks, which came to £4.80 a pint. The service at the bar is quite poor and they even ran out of draft beer in the afternoon?

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeJayCeeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah_duffield, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 19 December 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Radisson Blu - Im glad to see that you found our accommodation prices competitive and will pass your feedback onto our food & beverage manager with regards to the prices of beer, we are always reviewing our menus and looking at this from our customers perspective so thank you for sharing your opinion with us
.
I hope that you will get back in touch next time you are visiting Birmingham, please do get in contact so that we can ensure you receive the best possible service and guest care.

Hope to hear from you soon.

Kind Regards,

Sarah Duffield
Rooms Division Manager

Sarah.Duffield@Radissonblu.com
Contact number: +44 121 654 6000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

I used to like staying at the Raddisson, the bling factor of this Hotel is obvious; The outside of the building is impressive, so it the professional, helpful service at reception. The rooms too, with the floor to ceiling windows and stylish room design are excellent. But where all of this is let down increasingly as time goes on is that the rooms are looking increasingly tired.
Scuff marks appearing on the walls over time I can ignore to a degree but the last time I stayed there I ended up picking hairs off of the throw that they put over the bottom of the bed for half an hour and another half an hour scraping 'something' that was stuck in the carpet at various location in the room becuase I didn't want my guest who was arriving later to see this.

These are very small failures but they take the edge of what should be a special occation and if I want to impress someone, the Raddisson is sadly no-longer my choice

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ObjectiveAccount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah_duffield, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 19 December 2011
Dear Sir/Madame,

I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay here with us in Birmingham. I do apologise for any housekeeping issues which you experienced during your stay, this is clearly not acceptable and not inherent of our usually excellent standards of accommodation and care.

May I ask you to provide me with further details if you have a moment, it is useful for us to investigate further into the matter and action accordingly. I have left my details below and hope to hear from you soon.

Until then, have a great Christmas and thank you once again for your review and time.

Kind Regards,

Sarah Duffield

Rooms Divisiom Manager
Sarah.Duffield@Radissonblu.com
Contact number: +44 121 654 6000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

Really good clean hotel. Its in a great location for Birmingham city centre and a short walk from New Street station. The hotel staff were friendly and efficient and tried to get 4 colleagues on the same floor.

The room was a really good size, clean and modern. Really don't have a bad word to say about it. Only thing is that the bar was understaffed at a really busy time but again the barmaid was really friendly and apologised for our wait.

Room Tip: the wind was a little bothersome so try to ask for a room on a lower floor to reduce the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frequentflyerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah_duffield, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 19 December 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for spending the time to put your experience with us in writing! I am glad that you found the room comfortable and your were happy with the service which you received, I will be sure to share your kind comments onto the bar staff as well as addressing the staffing to our food & beverage manager.

Please do get in touch with us again when you are in Birmingham! Have a great Christmas, and a happy new year from all the staff at Radisson Blu!

Kind Regards,

Sarah Duffield
Rooms Division Manager

Sarah.Duffield@Radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,281 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#12 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Address: 12 Holloway Circus Queensway | Queensway, Birmingham B1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel in Birmingham soars above the cityscape in an impressive 39-storey structure near the business district, convention centre and shopping complexes. The large 170,000 square foot John Lewis and the new grand central station on New Street are just a 3-minute walk from the hotel. The hotel also has NCP parking facilities directly behind on St. Jude's Passage. Designed by Matteo Thun, the 211 contemporary rooms and suites showcase modern accents and furnishings and provide amenities such as Free high-speed, wireless Internet. The on-site dining option for guests is the award-winning Filini Italian restaurant. To sip a cocktail or enjoy a beer, step into one of the 2 hotel bars, and keep fit in the 18th-floor fitness centre, where skyline city views enhance your workout experience. The hotel's flexible meeting facilities surround up to 130 attendees with generous meeting spaces and equipment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Rezidor and Priceline so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Radisson Birmingham
Birmingham Radisson
Radisson Sas Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing