We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location - free internet, pay extra for parking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Ranked #75 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Central Location - free internet, pay extra for parking”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This hotel is very central in Birmingham. It is nice and clean and the staff are very helpful. There is free wireless internet in the rooms.

As they don’t have free parking you have to park your car in the NCP carpark next door at a cost of an extra GBP 15 or so.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexBig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    725
    519
    278
    165
See reviews for
129
778
131
753
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

The Radisson Blu might have had its heydays long time ago. Depsite looking very modern from the outside the interior is rather old. The rooms have an odd architecture with a long aisle and rather small room attched to the aisle. The double bed has been actually two single beds. Everything looks like being a bit over aging.

In particlur the bathromm has more resemblance to home for the elderly or hospital bath room (very low/ uncomfortbale) sinks, support for using the loo and a tip-upseat in the shower.

You can see the paint splinting at the doors.

The reception desk service is friendly and helpful. Parking is offered next door. But the parking there is only for small cars and everything bigger than Volkswagen Golf will make it an experience of its own.You might be forced to some acrobatics to enter the car from the left as the parking slots are that narrow.

I would only recommend this hotel if you really have to stay in the city center of Birmingham.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rouwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slough
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Nice room, internet was good car-parking is just behind hotel i minute walk, Bathroom was small but nicely presented , shower was good TV was great nice size and good selection of channels my view of the downtown city centre was nice large windows , comfortable bed , parking is quite hard to find but very convenient . Breakfast was buffet style and huge selection
service was good with a smile i would stay again

Room Tip: try and get city side and not car park side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psb79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Living quite near Birmingham, I wouldn't normally stay over in town but have done so from time to time when business requires, so I have stayed in a couple of other hotels, especially the Hyatt, which is a bit further away from the station. It's odd that Birmingham doesn't currently have a five start hotel when Manchester has two or three, but of the possible candidates for five star-dom, either of those hotels would be worthy of consideration. I should say, though, I got upgraded to a business class room at check-in (thank-you kind receptionist) and staying on the 18th floor gives you THE most panoramic views of the city. Now it is fair to say that some people are a bit prejudiced against Birmingham, but I think the views from the 18th floor would inspire the hearts of most. If you go for a business room you also get a Nespresso machine so you can sit back, sip and admire the view. Did you know that one in four Swiss households have a Nespresso machine, incidentally?

Fancy a drink in the bar? Ah. Well, perhaps I'm just a bit old fashioned but I quite like a pint of beer - you know, proper beer rather than lager. Well they don't, er, sell it. In fact there was considerable confusion as to what it was, so much so that I ended up with pint of Guinness. Hey-ho. If the manager is reading this, it might be worth getting a few bottles of London Pride for the fridge - on the off-chance I might not be the only one who wanted it!

Breakfast - jolly nice. Regularly replenished buffet, and a fresh-to-cook order service for a few other things. They don't do kippers though - yes, as you'll probably have picked up, I have some funny tastes - unlike their Glasgow branch (if you've read my other most recent review!).

Would I recommend this hotel? I don't know how much the company paid for it, so in the absence of that knowledge I'd recommend. It's very handy for New Street Station (less than five minutes' walk).

What would I have done if I'd had a longer stay? I'd have used the gym that happened to be on the same floor as me. The torture of using the rowing machine never seems as bad when you've got a view from a high window, and if you've really got an imagination you could pretend you were in a flight simulator. Or perhaps not...

So, pack yourself a couple of bottles of ale and check out the rates!

Room Tip: Ask for a business room on the 18th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 339334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed at this hotel on the 18th Feb for 1 night. I was in the business room on the 18th Floor and my 2 freinds were in a standard room on the 14th Floor. Great Views over Birmingham. Staff are very friendly and rooms are very modern and clean. There is a Gym that is complimentary - you just need to speak to reception to sign some H&S and to be given a card to be able to use it.
Would stay here again, brilliant location, close to the bullring, and broad street aswell as the mailbox.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_D010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My partner and I stayed at the raddison for a valentines day treat. The location is amazing. Down the road from the train station (2 min walk) we walked to broad street in the day for lunch that took about 5-10 mins then on the evening went to the Arcadian which is literally on the door step which is full Of bars the comedy club etc.

The room itself was gorgeous with floor the Celling windows mini bar iron hair dryer etc. even a free pair of slippers! The bathroom was nicely done with good shower over the bath. Staff were friendly.

My only negatives would be the £50 deposit we weren't pre warned about which was charged on top of hOtel cost. Luckily we had it spare in the bank. It will take 3-5 days to be put back in. Also the mini bar is sensored so becareful not to pick things up as you could be charged! Only other thing I wasn't too keen on the carpet but apart from that my favourite hotel in Birmingham and we have stayed most around the city centre as we stay in brum a few times a year for nights out.

Will definately be returning soon!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura8282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2012

My wife and I stayed for a weekend away from the family. The staff were lovely and the room was great, but a bit small. We walked around the city all weekend and this was an ideal base to do so. Just around the corner is The Electric Cinema which is well worth booking a sofa in, if you can!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Very-Tall-Bloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#25 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,891 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,358 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#12 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Address: 12 Holloway Circus Queensway | Queensway, Birmingham B1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel in Birmingham soars above the cityscape in an impressive 39-storey structure near the business district, convention centre and shopping complexes. The large 170,000 square foot John Lewis and the new grand central station on New Street are just a 3-minute walk from the hotel. The hotel also has NCP parking facilities directly behind on St. Jude's Passage. The 211 contemporary rooms and suites showcase modern accents and furnishings and provide amenities such as Free high-speed, wireless Internet. Experience the unique twist on the classic British Brasserie in on-site Collage restaurant. From sumptuous steaks and smoked haddock kedgeree to a classic British cheeseboard, enter the world of Collage where the theatre of service and unforgettable dishes are the order of the day. Enjoy a cocktail or beer at our Lobby bar or the Collage bar. Keep fit in the 18th-floor fitness centre, where skyline city views enhance your workout experience. The hotel's flexible meeting facilities surround up to 130 attendees with generous meeting spaces and equipment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Priceline, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Radisson Birmingham
Birmingham Radisson
Radisson Sas Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing