We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well Positioned” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Ranked #72 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
UK
Level Contributor
176 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Well Positioned”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We recently stayed here for one night.

The hotel is well positioned, being a short stroll from New Street Station and car parking next door (extra charge but £5 off when staying at the hotel, need to collect the ticket when leaving).

The hotel is clean and tidy throughout. Good views across the city from the higher floors. Bathrooms have heated flooring which was quite nice. Beds were a bit soft for our liking but were very large! Although our room was near the elevators there was no noise.

We got a really good price for the stay and breakfast was included (although on leaving they tried to charge us for this, although to be fair as soon as we questioned it they backed down). Breakfast was excellent, there was little that wasn't on the menu, hot or cold, and the ability to order other items which were not on the buffet (porridge was ordered by one of our party but took several prompts and about 20 mins to arrive!).

Would stay again if the price was right.

Room Tip: Best views from higher floors. Business rooms had quality coffee making facilities, others just had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mickeybUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah_duffield, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear sir,

Thank you for your fantastic review! , it's really nice you have taken the time to share your experience with others. I do hope we have he pleasure in welcoming you back in the future, please drop me an email or give me a call and we will ensure the best possible service is delivered for you upon your next stay.

Have a great week.

Kind regards,

Sarah Duffield
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Sarah.duffield@radissonblu.com
DD: 0121 654 6010
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    716
    512
    272
    158
See reviews for
128
761
124
735
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Chose this hotel as we were travelling by train and it is situated near to New St station. Reception staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful. Had booked a twin room but none were available, however, as the beds zip together, staff arranged for beds to be rearranged. Then one of the beds collapsed and had to change rooms, all this was done quickly so was no real inconvenience. Decor is really strange in the rooms known as 'fresh rooms' and was not to my taste, as was very bright and garish. Bathrooms rather dark.Did not eat in the hotel so cannot comment about the standard of food. Overall stay was fine but found the experience rather souless.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah_duffield, Rooms Division manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review, it always helps us as a management team to learn both the positive aspects of your stay and equally areas in which we can improve.

I was very happy to hear the reception team were friendly and you were made to feel welcome.I a m very concerned to hear about the situation with your bed? If you would be so kind to send me more details that would be most useful.

Once again, I thank you for your review, at Radisson blu we are always look to hear what our guests say, this way we can constantly strive to deliver our promise 100% guest satisfaction. I have left my details below for you, please contact me if you wish to discuss further or would like to make a future reservation.

Have a great week.

Kind regards,

Sarah Duffield
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Sarah.duffield@radissonblu.com
DD: 0121 654 6010
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

This hotel is very central in Birmingham. It is nice and clean and the staff are very helpful. There is free wireless internet in the rooms.

As they don’t have free parking you have to park your car in the NCP carpark next door at a cost of an extra GBP 15 or so.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexBig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

The Radisson Blu might have had its heydays long time ago. Depsite looking very modern from the outside the interior is rather old. The rooms have an odd architecture with a long aisle and rather small room attched to the aisle. The double bed has been actually two single beds. Everything looks like being a bit over aging.

In particlur the bathromm has more resemblance to home for the elderly or hospital bath room (very low/ uncomfortbale) sinks, support for using the loo and a tip-upseat in the shower.

You can see the paint splinting at the doors.

The reception desk service is friendly and helpful. Parking is offered next door. But the parking there is only for small cars and everything bigger than Volkswagen Golf will make it an experience of its own.You might be forced to some acrobatics to enter the car from the left as the parking slots are that narrow.

I would only recommend this hotel if you really have to stay in the city center of Birmingham.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rouwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slough
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Nice room, internet was good car-parking is just behind hotel i minute walk, Bathroom was small but nicely presented , shower was good TV was great nice size and good selection of channels my view of the downtown city centre was nice large windows , comfortable bed , parking is quite hard to find but very convenient . Breakfast was buffet style and huge selection
service was good with a smile i would stay again

Room Tip: try and get city side and not car park side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psb79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Living quite near Birmingham, I wouldn't normally stay over in town but have done so from time to time when business requires, so I have stayed in a couple of other hotels, especially the Hyatt, which is a bit further away from the station. It's odd that Birmingham doesn't currently have a five start hotel when Manchester has two or three, but of the possible candidates for five star-dom, either of those hotels would be worthy of consideration. I should say, though, I got upgraded to a business class room at check-in (thank-you kind receptionist) and staying on the 18th floor gives you THE most panoramic views of the city. Now it is fair to say that some people are a bit prejudiced against Birmingham, but I think the views from the 18th floor would inspire the hearts of most. If you go for a business room you also get a Nespresso machine so you can sit back, sip and admire the view. Did you know that one in four Swiss households have a Nespresso machine, incidentally?

Fancy a drink in the bar? Ah. Well, perhaps I'm just a bit old fashioned but I quite like a pint of beer - you know, proper beer rather than lager. Well they don't, er, sell it. In fact there was considerable confusion as to what it was, so much so that I ended up with pint of Guinness. Hey-ho. If the manager is reading this, it might be worth getting a few bottles of London Pride for the fridge - on the off-chance I might not be the only one who wanted it!

Breakfast - jolly nice. Regularly replenished buffet, and a fresh-to-cook order service for a few other things. They don't do kippers though - yes, as you'll probably have picked up, I have some funny tastes - unlike their Glasgow branch (if you've read my other most recent review!).

Would I recommend this hotel? I don't know how much the company paid for it, so in the absence of that knowledge I'd recommend. It's very handy for New Street Station (less than five minutes' walk).

What would I have done if I'd had a longer stay? I'd have used the gym that happened to be on the same floor as me. The torture of using the rowing machine never seems as bad when you've got a view from a high window, and if you've really got an imagination you could pretend you were in a flight simulator. Or perhaps not...

So, pack yourself a couple of bottles of ale and check out the rates!

Room Tip: Ask for a business room on the 18th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 339334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed at this hotel on the 18th Feb for 1 night. I was in the business room on the 18th Floor and my 2 freinds were in a standard room on the 14th Floor. Great Views over Birmingham. Staff are very friendly and rooms are very modern and clean. There is a Gym that is complimentary - you just need to speak to reception to sign some H&S and to be given a card to be able to use it.
Would stay here again, brilliant location, close to the bullring, and broad street aswell as the mailbox.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_D010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,126 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,280 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#12 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Address: 12 Holloway Circus Queensway | Queensway, Birmingham B1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel in Birmingham soars above the cityscape in an impressive 39-storey structure near the business district, convention centre and shopping complexes. The large 170,000 square foot John Lewis and the new grand central station on New Street are just a 3-minute walk from the hotel. The hotel also has NCP parking facilities directly behind on St. Jude's Passage. Designed by Matteo Thun, the 211 contemporary rooms and suites showcase modern accents and furnishings and provide amenities such as Free high-speed, wireless Internet. The on-site dining option for guests is the award-winning Filini Italian restaurant. To sip a cocktail or enjoy a beer, step into one of the 2 hotel bars, and keep fit in the 18th-floor fitness centre, where skyline city views enhance your workout experience. The hotel's flexible meeting facilities surround up to 130 attendees with generous meeting spaces and equipment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Radisson Birmingham
Birmingham Radisson
Radisson Sas Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing