We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, nice room & friendly staffs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Ranked #69 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I visited the hotel for a meeting in ICC Birmingham. Its near the New Street stn but 15 minutes walk to ICC. Hyatt and Crowne Plaza are nearer to ICC. The hotel is a towering blue building with 18 floor of well appointed decorated colourful and comfortable bedroom with excellent lemon grass scented toiletries range. I was given a corner room with was fabulous in size , great view , big closet and working space room No 1 in each floor. The gym at the top floor is small meant only for cardio. Breakfast is pretty basic and choices of typical english breakfast. The reception can be pretty busy at check ins so there may be long queues but the staffs are friendly and accomodating. Its a great location for bull ring and mailbox shopping center and new street stn is just 10 minutes walk. Overall i have enjoyed my stay though i dont particularly enjoy the city.

Room Tip: corner room no 1 in each floor. the higher the better facing the front rather than the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FABREE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah_duffield, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Dear guestManagerguests,

Thank you for your positive review, I'm really glad you were happy with the overall service I'm the hotel and will be sure to read your comments in our next team meeting!

Thank you for sharing your room advice, indeed the corner rooms are larger and more enjoyable, I'm sure other reviewers will find this helpful.

We hope to hear from you soon, thank you once again for spending the time to share your experience.

Kind regards,
Sarah Duffield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,927 - 1,933 of 2,326 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

hi stayed last weekend for 2 nights,lovly hotel staff were pleasant and friendly.We booked the business class room,very nice 18th floor lovly views,the bed was comfy but i found the bedroom a little small when u compare to some business rooms,bathroom a little dated and small but had all the usual goodies.Tea and coffee great but no biscuists.the only other downside was the spa 1 sauna no steam the gym was okay.Would i stay again yes good location great breakfast friendly staff clean hotel.Might upgrade to the suite end of May when im next in town.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonCaramel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah_duffield, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent review - I am happy to hear your overall stay was comfortable. I'm sorry the room size was not up to standard, we do have business corner rooms ending in room numbers "01" and "21" you may request these rooms next time you book, they are much more spacious, alternatively as you mentioned to try one of our suites, our suites are very spacious and have a separate lounge area.

If you want to stay again, please do get in touch, my email is below , we can look at the best available rate and room in the hotel.

Have a great week, we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon

Best regards,
Sarah Duffield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Booked in to business class for a three night stay. Room wad spacious, bed was really comfey, clean rooms and good breakfast. Would stay here in Birmingham again. Really good view from room.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fingle08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah_duffield, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Dear guests,

Thank you for your review, I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay away from london! I hope you will come back further north again so we can welcome you and your partner back.

Enjoy the week, and hopefully london is not as rainy as Birmingham currently is?!

All the best,
Sarah Duffield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

My partner and I stayed here at the Radisson Blu for one night having paid just £87 for just the room, booked through Hotels.com

Arriving around the back (not pretty) for the NCP is handy and 24hrs costs a concessioned £14. mind you step around the urine in the lift! This isnt representive of the Hotel however!

We were checked in extremely efficiently by Yu who was very knowledgable of the area when quizzed with afew sample questions. She later arranged us a taxi which arrived in a matter of seconds. All the staff we encountered during our stay were both smiley and polite, oozing ability without being in your face. A quick swipe of the c.card , two room keys and we were off to the 7th floor in the 100mph lift.

First off, what a stunning view of the city from the room through the floor to ceiling window the whole width of the room. If you suffer from vertigo, suggest you stay only on the 2nd floor as you could end up on the 18th which is ALONG way down!

Overall we found the room very comfortable, but as other have said it might be bordering on slightly dated, BUT still minimalist chic, comfortable and try as I might, couldnt find any dust. Mini bar stocked to the hilt but at £2 for a Mars Bar and £7 for a nibble, we were too frightened to touch, but the Complimentary papers and magazines almost made up for it!!

Twin bed pushed together was extremely comfortable and for once the shower was both powerful and stayed at one temperature. The air con worked fine and was quiet so great for those light sleepers.

Now the room price doesnt include brekfast which is £15pp if you choose to take it. I would strongly suggest spending your money on dinner taking the excellant pre-theatre menu served 5-7:30pm for almost the same price, but 3 excellant courses and not luke warm slightly dry bacon, cardboard toast etc.

We took dinner in Filini's before seeing our show and it was excellant. Even more so when it was £50 for 2 inc drinks. Service was swift, efficient and unobtrusive, with alittle urgency but not rushed. I can recommend the Chicken wrapped in parma ham with the pesto mash. Superb!

Check out was painless once more and the bill correctly calculated with our extra's added just by quoting the room number , I dont like to carry my wallet in hotels.

So to sum up, less than £90 for B1 1BT postcode hotel, topped off with a great restaurant, let down by a buffet style expensive rubbery brekfast. Would I stay again - too right!

Room Tip: Low floor if you dont like heights although there will be alittle street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timbo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah_duffield, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review - its really nice to hear you were happy with each service encountered! I'm sure other viewers will find all your tips helpful.

I was sorry to hear about breakfast, I'd be grateful if you are able to drop me a mail on the specific items you were not satffied with so I can pass this into my head chef.

We really hope to see you again, please feel free to contact me directly so we can make the arrangements for you smoothly.

Have a great week.

Kind regards,
Sarah Duffield
Rooms Division Manager
sarah.duffield@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Me and my girlfriend went for a shopping trip and this hotel was great. Had a great view of the city. Ate in the restaurant and had breakfast. Couldnt fault a thing. Nothing was an effort for any of the staff.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cantonap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah_duffield, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear guest,

I thank you for such a positive review! I am glad you and your partner had a great time, weekends are for relaxing and for good times, so that's nice to see we were able to make this happen.

I do hope we will have the pleasure in welcoming you both back very soon.

Have a great week ahead.

Kind regards,
Sarah Duffield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We were happy with the hotel - the rooms were small and had no real closets but the view was impressive with on whole glass wall. The beds were comfy and the service good. We liked the added security of having to have a card key to use the elevators and breakfast was closely monitored to prevent freeloaders. Only drawback was the price and the need for renovations in the near future.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markkkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah_duffield, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear guest,

Many thanks for your recent review with us, I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you also for your feedback on our product, we do plan to do some soft refurb throughout the hotel in the foreseeable future.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again, please feel free to get in touch directly so we can ensure you another smooth and comfortable visit.

Kind regards,
Sarah Duffield
Sarah.Duffield@Radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for one night 7th-8th April. We booked using Trivago comparison website and actually booked through lastminute.com, bagging a room for only £71.20!! Bargain compared to the £120 a night price the hotel and other sites offered. Room was clean and looked nice, worth £70 but certainly not £120! All facilities were good except the iron, it was terrible. The sort that doesn't accept water so you don't have steam?? Rubbish!! and the view also wasn't the best but that's because we were only on the 6th floor.

Once we returned from our night out, and decided to sleep we found we couldn't due to horrific noise coming from outside! Unfortunately our room was directly opposite the hotels generators and the constant humming was very loud. We instantly complained and were very impressed with the service, we were instantly upgraded to the 16th floor which was lovely and quite, with free wi-fi and coffee machine! We were also promised a discount, and in the morning given our bar bill (£12) and parking (£12)for free! Perfect .

Overall great location in the centre of Birmingham, rooms about average so dont pay more than £70 and excellent service !

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
952 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,146 reviews
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
2,344 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#14 of 118 in Birmingham
2,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham

Address: 12 Holloway Circus Queensway | Queensway, Birmingham B1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £66 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel in Birmingham soars above the cityscape in an impressive 39-storey structure near the business district, convention centre and shopping complexes. The large 170,000 square foot John Lewis and the new grand central station on New Street are just a 3-minute walk from the hotel. The hotel also has NCP parking facilities directly behind on St. Jude's Passage. The 211 contemporary rooms and suites showcase modern accents and furnishings and provide amenities such as Free high-speed, wireless Internet. Experience the unique twist on the classic British Brasserie in on-site Collage restaurant. From sumptuous steaks and smoked haddock kedgeree to a classic British cheeseboard, enter the world of Collage where the theatre of service and unforgettable dishes are the order of the day. Enjoy a cocktail or beer at our Lobby bar or the Collage bar. Keep fit in the 18th-floor fitness centre, where skyline city views enhance your workout experience. The hotel's flexible meeting facilities surround up to 130 attendees with generous meeting spaces and equipment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Radisson Birmingham
Birmingham Radisson
Radisson Sas Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing