We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Night In Birmingham 23/02/13”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Ranked #74 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Night In Birmingham 23/02/13”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Never been to Birmingham before but as it was my 50th my husband booked us into the Radisson Blu as a surprise and wow was it a fabulous surprise. The reception staff were impecable....could answer any question I had. He asked if we wanted a higher floor which we accepted...room 1511. The view was exceptional...the Birmingham skyline....absolutely fabulous. The bed was H U G E and so comfortable!! The room had air-conditioning so could turn up the heat to make it toasty.
Everything was perfect. Close to everything...The Bull Ring....the Jewellery Quarter...China Town. We ate at the only Indian restaurant in China Town and it was exceptional. So much to do...so little time. Would recommend this hotel highly!!! Can't wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caz1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah_duffield, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Dear Guest,

I am happy to read your review! Thank you very much for your kind words, it really helps the staff to feel motivated with such great praise.

The hotel is indeed located near all the main attractions, we are bang in the city centre so a little walk here and there is hassle free!

We are looking forward to looking after you again, until the next time, have a fab week.

Sarah Duffield
Rooms Division Manager
Sarah.duffield@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    729
    521
    280
    167
See reviews for
130
785
134
755
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We had a very enjoyable Saturday night stay. Martin at the reception was very accommodating and provided first class customer service.The room upgrade we were given was a great surprise. It was fantastically spacious with a fine view of the Birmingham skyline. High quality bedding with exceptional German pillows. Lovely breakfast with much variety. No trouble from traffic noise.
A highly recommended hotel!
Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinarelloopera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah_duffield, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for a fantastic review - I am glad you were happy with the service, I will be sure to pass the compliments onto Martin, I am sure he will be happy to read of your praise.

Regarding the pillows, we do have some lovely new ones, very big and comfy! We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best,

Sarah Duffield
Rooms Division Manager
Sarah.duffield@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a business trip in Birmingham. My room was fine (1104), good size and all the usual kit. We'd booked ahead so were surprised that it took so long for food orders to be taken, given that there was only one other table in use. We were a party of 17, and the food took forever to arrive. The pizzas turned up one after the other long after the rest of us had finished our main courses, but still appeared on the bill. Not recommended and expensive for what it was. There's a cost cutter round the corner for emergencies and china town is close.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Captain_Cook_9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We stayed here just before Christmas and took the option to upgrade our room. Whilst the rooms were clean and tidy, they are starting to look dated and need a refresh. The room was large and the bed was comfortable, however the heating was totally inadequate for the size of the room (1 wall heater). The bathroom was clean but every now and again you did get a sewage smell from the drain. Overall I wouldn’t pay to stay there again and have stopped at the Holiday Inn next door, which is cheaper and the rooms are Fresher and warm!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah_duffield, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent review - I regret to read your stay was not as comfortable as it should of been. if you would be so kind to email me with further details I can investigate internally and look to rectify any maintenance issues withing the room, we also appreciate the feedback from our guests whilst they are in the hotel so we can resolve the situation immediately.

I do hope otherwise you has a enjoyable visit and hope to hear from you soon.


Best regards,

Sarah Duffield
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013 via mobile

I travelled on business and can say this was one of the better city centre hotels I've stayed in. Lovely spacious room and big comfy bed. Great breakfast! Great central location but as a lone woman I felt a bit uneasy venturing about on foot in the dark as lots of traffic and not many pedestrians.
Room was a bit cold and I couldn't get any heating going but bed was lovely and warm.

Ask for a higher floor if you are bothered by road noise.

Beware of the touch sensitive 'on the shelf' mini bar if you don't want a big bill, especially if you are staying with children!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mutley1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah_duffield, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for spending the time to write about your recent stay - It was really nice to read your praise relating to the room and breakfast! The two very important parts of the visit, Chef will be happy to read of this.

In terms of the room allocation, I would agree with your comment that higher up is your best bet if you are a light sleeper due to the city traffic.

Until the next time, We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Best wishes,

Sarah Duffield
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Great central location, close to New Street Station. The views from the 11th floor are superb, just beware of the floor-to-ceiling windows if you happen to be a vertigo sufferer, can be quite a shock to wake up, open the curtains and feel like you're about to fall head-first into the Holloway Circus roundabout!

The breakfast buffet was included in the room price and it was very good with a lot of different hot and cold options.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FiddleGirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah_duffield, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words, indeed we have some high floors all the way up to the 18th, on the other hand, our rooms start from the 5th floor so for those who don't like high up we can of course accommodate for this also,

We hope to see you again soon! Thank you once again for your review.

Kind regards,

Sarah Duffield
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW ENGLAND
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Mrs HJ and I were booked to see an exhibition at the NEC. Having not been to Birmingham since my childhood we thought we would book a hotel the night before, see what the city had to offer and trundle over the the show the next day.

We stayed here and got a reasonable tariff as we booked on the morning of the stay. I have stayed at the Radisson in Manchester which is quite superb and had high hopes of this hotel based upon that previous experience.

We were given a room on the 14th floor which had a great view of the city, and the room itself was more than adequate. The bathroom was a huge disappointment and needed a refurbishment as the tiling was ageing and the lighting crude.

The hotel is on the edge of China town and the selection of Asian food on our doorstep was excellent.

The lobby area and bar is rather thin and feels too close to the front door. Bed quality was good and the TV selection of channels reasonable, though we didn't watch much as we were in a hurry.

Car parking is a short walk and about £12 a night on the local NCP - if you ask they will let you out of the service door to get to the car park which is behind the hotel - saving a walk of 3-400 metres.

Drinks were pricey and there was little atmosphere in the bar.

We decided to go to the duelling pianos bar a 7-8 minute walk or £5 in a taxi. It was quiet before about 21:30 but after that - what a night. As a musician myself I have never seen anything quite like this. Both pianists are absolutely superb and we stayed until the bitter end having danced and drank far too much.

The following day we felt to 'fragile' to go to the exhibition, had a lie in and trundled back the 2 hours home.

We had breakfast first which was rather poor - the hot food was barely warm and the fresh juice tasted as though it was concentrated.

Staff were perfunctory but not particlularly friendly.

A satisfactory hotel, not particularly memorable but does the job for what we required.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Huntley_Jacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah_duffield, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review, We really appreciate both positive and constructive comments, it constantly allows us to review and improve our overall guest service.

I am happy to see you were overall satisfied with your stay. However, if you would like to return and feel there is something we can offer to make your visit more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact me directly thus assuring you the best possible attention and service in the future.

Looking forward to hearing from you again soon.

Sarah Duffield
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
2,389 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
910 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#8 of 117 in Birmingham
2,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
2,229 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#11 of 117 in Birmingham
2,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Address: 12 Holloway Circus Queensway | Queensway, Birmingham B1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel in Birmingham soars above the cityscape in an impressive 39-storey structure near the business district, convention centre and shopping complexes. The large 170,000 square foot John Lewis and the new grand central station on New Street are just a 3-minute walk from the hotel. The hotel also has NCP parking facilities directly behind on St. Jude's Passage. The 211 contemporary rooms and suites showcase modern accents and furnishings and provide amenities such as Free high-speed, wireless Internet. Experience the unique twist on the classic British Brasserie in on-site Collage restaurant. From sumptuous steaks and smoked haddock kedgeree to a classic British cheeseboard, enter the world of Collage where the theatre of service and unforgettable dishes are the order of the day. Enjoy a cocktail or beer at our Lobby bar or the Collage bar. Keep fit in the 18th-floor fitness centre, where skyline city views enhance your workout experience. The hotel's flexible meeting facilities surround up to 130 attendees with generous meeting spaces and equipment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Radisson Birmingham
Birmingham Radisson
Radisson Sas Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing