We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Ranked #69 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 14 March 2013

we found the rooms to be ok but the tv did not work that well...we enjoyed the resturant although the portions are small, this hotel is in a good location easy to get to city center...yes we would return ;0)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,704 - 1,710 of 2,328 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2013

Good location in the middle of the city near the Bullring. Easy to find, they have a drop off area in front and a deal with the NCP around the corner for a little bit cheaper parking. The room and bathroom were both clean and the view from the higher floors is good. The decor in the room seemed a bit tired. The view from the gym on the top floor is amazing! We would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arizona223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Stayed here in October 2012. We had a suite rather than a room which was lovely. A living room and a bedroom, shower as well as a bath, two toilets, tv in living room as well as the bedroom. There are multiple places to hand your clothes.

The shower is big enough to hold two people, so it is ideal for romantic stays.

It is situated about 5 mins walk away from New Street train station and a mass of eateries and nightclubs.

The one drawback is that there is not parking. The parking suggested by the hotel is extortionate, the surrounding roads are limited, although Sundays are free. We had to park in a 24 hour car park about ten mins walk away.

Breakfast was the usual, you could also ask for fried eggs,although this is not advertised and I only knew from hearing someone else ask also. Both days I had to wait over 20 minutes for these, so ask early and keep reminding them.

The breakfast room also over looks the hustle and bustle of the the route into the city centre. The suite are ideal for photoshoots.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We stayed en famille in two rooms on the seventh and eight floors for one night while shopping and going out in central Birmingham. The fact that its a huge blue glass tower makes it easy to find in the city centre's difficult one way system. We parked outside in the slip road to drop off luggage which was good and then parked in the rather grim NCP place round the corner (but which has a deal with the hotel making it considerably cheaper to park there.) Front desk staff were v helpful (young Russian chappie) and two of us had a drink in the ground floor lobby bar, which was fine but later in the evening was v crowded so we gave it a miss later on.
Our rooms were good with interesting views and plenty of space. Wifi was fine and bathrooms big and warm. The decor was a bit "tired" and could do with a refresh. Key positive point was that even tho this was a Friday night and there were people there on a hen night, the rooms were quiet and we didn't hear any corridor sound. In fact we had a really good night sleep.
So the one issue which was disappointing was that we planned to eat in the hotel restaurant but as it closes at ten and we wouldn't be back till ten fifteen that wasn't going to happen. I guess with so much happening in terms of night life around the hotel it probably isn't worth them competing.
Two of us used the gym in the morning and the view was pretty awesome from the 19th floor.
We would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: The odd numbered rooms look out to the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treacleonbusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

This hotel gives the impression of being smart and cosmopolitan. Our bedroom on the 17th floor was tatty and disappointing. The curtains were hanging off the rail, there were several stains on the carpet, the TV remote didn't work and we couldn't work the coffee machine as the were no instructions. The staff were professional, but every time we passed through reception there was someone complaining or challenging their bill. We may have been unlucky with our room, but bearing in mind the cost of staying here, there are better value hotels. We were taken in by the smart facade and were disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah_duffield, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Dear Carron,

Thank you for your review - I apologise sincerely you were not satisfied with your room, to read of your experience and accommodation standard is clearly not acceptable, I would be very grateful if you could provide the hotel with further details so we can investigate internally and resolve any issues immediately.

Please contact my colleague Dimpy Wason to provide your details so we can work together and resolve your previous encounter positively. You can email dimpy on Dimpy.Wason@radissonblu.com

Thank you for your time, we look forward to hearing from you.

Best regards,

Sarah Duffield
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I arranged to stay here as it was my birthday and as this was supposed to be a four star hotel I wanted a treat. Check in was good with nice reception staff, I asked for a room high up and we were put in the 11th. Room was ok view was fab. Bed was big but looked like 2 beds put together which was fine. Decor not bad but not the wow factor I was hoping for. Bathroom could have done with updating however it was clean. We went shopping which is why the location was good. We had reserved a table in the hotel restaurant which was Italian. When we went for dinner we were shown to a nice table and given a menu. I didn't feel that there was much choice on the menu so opted for a pasta dish. Wine list was extensive and as I'm not a connoisseur in wine asked the waitress to recommend a medium to sweet. The one she picked was actually dry and I wasnt going to pay the prices for a wine I didn't like therefore opted for lager ad they only had a choice of 2. Overall meal was ok but not brilliant. Went to bed and had a rubbish night sleep due to traffic and the pillows were far to soft. Breakfast was fine had a good selection of hot and cold food.
Overall stay ok but would not stay here again. I find premier inns much nicer and much cheaper!!!!!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank EMMA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah_duffield, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Dear Emma,

Thak you for your recent stay. After reading through your review I was pleased that we delivered in service, I would of liked for you to be 100% satisfied and apologise that we were not able to meet your expectations.

Being in the city centre, there can be noise outside, higher up and back facing rooms can be a better option to avoid hearing any traffic. I am sorry you found the pillows unsuitable, we do have new ones on the way and also can change any pillows during yor stay to make you more comfortable.

I would like to thank you again for your review and hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to Radisson Blu in the near future.

Best regards,
Sarah Duffield
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I booked a business class room for my Husband & daughter when they stayed in BIrmingham to look for an apartment ,they were very pleased with the hotel,spacious room,great view,etc.
However, when i went the to visit her,i booked a business class room but it was nothing as they had said,so i was very disappointed,small room, 2 single beds with a view on the back rooftop,mmm!
So,i'am going to give it another try, because it is my husbands birthday,and i want him to enjoy his stay,so i hope they will give me the corner room on the highest possible floor with view on Holloway Circus,as requested wile booking the room.

Josée

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoseeBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah_duffield, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Dear Josee,

Thank you for yor review - I am sorry to read you were previously disappointed in the room allocated for your daughter. It would be great if you could give the hotel a quick call with your details so we can locate your booking and ensure you revieve the best possible room for the category you have booked.

You may contact myself until Wednesday or alternatively Russell Markou, our Operations Director by calling the hotel 01216546000, I hope you enjoy your stay, thank you for thinking of us again.

Best regards,

Sarah Duffield
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
954 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,149 reviews
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
2,345 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#14 of 118 in Birmingham
2,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham

Address: 12 Holloway Circus Queensway | Queensway, Birmingham B1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £66 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel in Birmingham soars above the cityscape in an impressive 39-storey structure near the business district, convention centre and shopping complexes. The large 170,000 square foot John Lewis and the new grand central station on New Street are just a 3-minute walk from the hotel. The hotel also has NCP parking facilities directly behind on St. Jude's Passage. The 211 contemporary rooms and suites showcase modern accents and furnishings and provide amenities such as Free high-speed, wireless Internet. Experience the unique twist on the classic British Brasserie in on-site Collage restaurant. From sumptuous steaks and smoked haddock kedgeree to a classic British cheeseboard, enter the world of Collage where the theatre of service and unforgettable dishes are the order of the day. Enjoy a cocktail or beer at our Lobby bar or the Collage bar. Keep fit in the 18th-floor fitness centre, where skyline city views enhance your workout experience. The hotel's flexible meeting facilities surround up to 130 attendees with generous meeting spaces and equipment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Radisson Birmingham
Birmingham Radisson
Radisson Sas Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing