We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality hotel - bright at night though”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Ranked #72 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
uk
Level 6 Contributor
431 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
“High quality hotel - bright at night though”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Very well located near to New Street station. However my room overlooked a roundabout with not only loads of streetlights but also an incredibly bright illuminated hoarding on it (one of those electronic ones whch flash different adverts) and the light shone over the top of the blinds, keeping me awake. There are no curtains as such, just a net and the blind, which didn't do the job properly (and bear in mind we are talking floor-to-ceiling windows, so lots of light does come in.) I would suggest requesting a room round the back of the hotel if you are as sensitive to light as I am. And I would suggest to the hotel management that they fit curtains in addition to the blinds, to assist in keeping the rooms dark.

Otherwise, a very nice room with all mod cons and a comfy bed. It was quiet and the bathroom was good, though the taps in the bath take some getting used to. Relaxing ambience in the rooms and corridors. I had a meal there which was delicious, though inevitably expensive. The welcome at reception was extremely good, too. All in all I would recommend it, but the issue with light would make me cautious about which rooms I get in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfuhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    751
    525
    284
    168
See reviews for
135
801
136
777
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cannich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel last night and were very impressed. It was very clean, quiet, comfortable, well equipped and the staff had excellent customer service skills. (Perhaps with the exception of the security staff who were a little hostile.) We stayed at the hotel next door last time, where we could hear lots of city noise, so we were particularly happy with the silence at Radisson Blu. Check in and check out was efficient and friendly. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: 14th floor was absolutely silent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgieGirl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We went to Birmingham last weekend for a meal for our anniversary and at the last minute decided to stay over aswell. We had a quick look on the internet. The Radisson was a decent price and perfectly position to access by car with good parking available behind the hotel. And it is positioned weel to access all that Birmingham has to offer by foot. We ate elsewhere, but the menu looked tasty. We had breakfast the next morning, which was good, with plenty of choices. All the staff were very helpful and pleasant. The bed was one the most comfortable we have stayed in. Definitely, would stay again

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up. The views are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s4hom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Booked here for one night as part of a birthday weekender in Birmingham. Staff were polite, friendly and courteous, but the state of the hotel is not great. From the outside, the it looks quite swish, but inside it doesn't live up to that. Rooms were reasonably spacious, but nothing special and quite tatty decor. Scratches and dirty marks all over the paintwork and furniture, bathroom tiles dirty, curtains and bed linen frayed, shower water pressure very poor. Actually got to stay for free as part of a loyalty points reward scheme, but I probably wouldn't pay to stay here given the choice. However, nice touch was some free chocolate truffles when we arrived with 'happy birthday' written in chocolate on the plate, which we thought was lovely! Breakfast buffet next morning was fine, pretty standard fare and again good service from staff. Overall, fine if you're just looking for somewhere to rest your head on a weekend in the city, but probably not for a special trip - try Malmaison or Hotel du Vin instead.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I stayed here with a group of girls for a hen weekend.

Impressive exterior and reception, although we had to park about 5 mins away the car park does not look very inviting, but we had no issues with security.

Check-in was very smooth although we found that our rooms could not be on the same floor although we were on 1 booking (this may have been due to the nature of the trip).

The rooms are lovely, all facilities were in use. They have a minibar that is chargeable via a weight sensor so be careful when opening things as this will not be missed - great idea!

Toiletries included in the rooms I stayed on the 12th floor so had a great view of the city!

Breakfast - the selection is to suit all dietary requirements you have all options (continental, cooked, fruit etc) available and will be satisfied.

Great for couples, business travellers, family, friends and Solo travellers in my opinion due to its central location.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brit_andJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

The hotel staff were correct, but uninterested, whenever I was in contact with them, both in reception and at breakfast.
The complimentary Nespresso capsules were not filled up, even when I specifically ask the reception to do this after two days.
Stayed in a business class corner room, wich was spacious and had a comfortable bed, although the color sceme made me think of the musical "Hair".
The room was clean, except for the bathroom.
The toilet had not been cleaned good enough, and there was old urin staines between the toilet seat and the water tank.
This was corrected after I made housekeeping aware of it.
The hotel is situated along the ring road and by a large roundabout, and there was a significant amount of traffic noice, even though the room was on the 10th floor.
But the worst noice was from a loose rubber band outside one of the windows.
It was blowing, and the loose band hit the window with loud bangs all through the night.
This woke me up several times.
The hotel has a nice breakfast buffet, and is well situated both for access by car (parking garage near by) and train.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room as high up as possible, as there is a significant amount of traffic noice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddawg01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, the location of the hotel is fantastic, really central and everything is accessible. The NCP car park (which the hotel recommend) behind the hotel - hmmm, unless you drive a mini beware! The spaces are tiny, being that we have a volvo estate found parking a bit tricky, and actually had to climb in through the boot as people had parked so close! Staff in the hotel are very knowledgeable and friendly, I used the gym which is good, especially as I was the only person in there, fab. The tv in our room wasnt working but someone was sent up within 2 mins of us calling and fixed it quickly. We found the bar a bit disapointing, its tiny, with no real atmosphere, but there are plenty of great ones nearby (try The Mailbox), but it would have been nice to have it as an option. This hotel "does the job" but I wouldnt book if you wanted a romantic time away, its ok for a stop over, or business trip etc. That said, we both slept for England which was great!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lianneandcarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
930 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,454 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
3,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
2,285 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#13 of 117 in Birmingham
2,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Address: 12 Holloway Circus Queensway | Queensway, Birmingham B1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel in Birmingham soars above the cityscape in an impressive 39-storey structure near the business district, convention centre and shopping complexes. The large 170,000 square foot John Lewis and the new grand central station on New Street are just a 3-minute walk from the hotel. The hotel also has NCP parking facilities directly behind on St. Jude's Passage. The 211 contemporary rooms and suites showcase modern accents and furnishings and provide amenities such as Free high-speed, wireless Internet. Experience the unique twist on the classic British Brasserie in on-site Collage restaurant. From sumptuous steaks and smoked haddock kedgeree to a classic British cheeseboard, enter the world of Collage where the theatre of service and unforgettable dishes are the order of the day. Enjoy a cocktail or beer at our Lobby bar or the Collage bar. Keep fit in the 18th-floor fitness centre, where skyline city views enhance your workout experience. The hotel's flexible meeting facilities surround up to 130 attendees with generous meeting spaces and equipment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Radisson Birmingham
Birmingham Radisson
Radisson Sas Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing