We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night Stop Over.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Ranked #63 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We live in Birmingham, but after seeing a show at the Hippodrome we decided on a one night stay at The Radison Blu to save going home. We were not dissappointed. The hotel is in a great location, just a short walk from the main railway station, New Street, and the famous Bull Ring shopping centre. The room was very pleasant, comfortable bed, flat screen TV and a clean bathroom. There is also a great view from the room we stayed in of Birmingham with a wall to ceiling window some 7 floors up. Ok, it's not the Manhattan skyline, but, still it is very nice. We had breakfast next morning which was very good, help yourself type food. All in all, a very nice stop over in our home city.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trev403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell M, Director of Operations at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel following your recent stay.

Indeed we are very fortunate to be so close to Birmingham New street train station and both the Alexandra and Hippodrome theatres, why not try out our pre-theatre menu in our Filini restaurant the next time you stay? New chef, new menu - I am certain you will be impressed with the new offering.

I'm very happy to read you enjoyed the views from the 7th floor - the next time you book be sure to request a higher floor, perhaps the 18th? The views across Birmingham are breath-taking.

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon.

Warm regards,

Russell Markou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,649 - 1,655 of 2,372 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

well what can you say curtain missing broken chair cigaretts burns in carpet stains on the duvet they dont seem to care to much helpfull man on reception when e
we cheecked in and lovely polite bar maid

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell M, Director of Operations at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

Thank you for your review regarding your stay with us.

I appreciate your comments and I am sorry that you got the impression that we don't seem to care - I can assure that we care very much for every single one of our guests and we take pride in making every effort to ensure that all of our guests leave our hotel happy, if issues are brought to the attention of our staff during the guest stay then we jump into action to resolve it to the satisfaction of the guest, our staff are empowered to use their initiative to solve all problems - although in your case it seems that we missed a couple of items during the room inspection which has been followed up on and resolved, again, please accept our apologies for this and for any discomfort caused.

All of our rooms are equipped with sheers and black-out curtains, I can assure you these are in every room, however, in some rooms they are discreetly tucked into alcoves to allow maximum light into the room during the day. In regard to the carpet, we do have a small number of carpets that have become stained over the past few weeks, whilst they are clean I appreciate they could look unsightly, these carpets are being changed over the next few weeks.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon where I am certain you will see that your previous visit was an unfortunate one-off occurrence. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel should you wish to discuss further.

Warm regards,

Russell Markou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

MAIN POINT - This hotel has a perfect location. Short walk from the train station, bull ring shopping centre and Arcadian (bars, clubs, china town). Therefore everything is a short distance away.

Hotel itself is clean, modern and friendly. Rooms are brightly decorated with decent flatscreen TV and comfy bed. Not the most luxurious hotel but definitely to our taste as a young couple.

Staff were friendly on check in but we seemed to get at a busy time and this did take 20 mins or so. So we went for a drink in the bar. £11 for 2 drinks later (not cocktails - beer and small wine) we were sorted.

Breakfast excellent. Lots of healthy options with fruit etc, cereal and an English hot selection which was very nice. Breakfast room is very smart too.

Overall, I have stayed in many Birmingham hotels and this is definitely in the top 2!!!

Room Tip: Went via Trivago. Got room for less than £95
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell M, Director of Operations at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to pass on your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I can see that overall you had a delightful stay, it's always lovely to read such positive comments about our location, rooms, food offering and our genuinely friendly staff; the team will be very happy to read these comments which will only add to their motivation to continue to exceed our guest expectations.

We hope that soon we will be your number 1 hotel of choice in Birmingham and we look forward to welcoming you back to us.

Warm regards,

Russell Markou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Stayed here overnight as we managed to get a cheap deal which meant it was just as cheap as getting a taxi home after our night out. Booked a twin with city view but at check in had a double rear facing room. Reception staff soon got this sorted and I got the room I wanted. Stayed here before and the hotel and room was as good as ever. Bed really comfy, had no problems sleeping. Swift check out. Will keep an eye out for deals and will be back.

Room Tip: Have a room on a higher floor to appreciate the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colette d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell M, Director of Operations at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

You are right to recommend the high floors; the views of the city are very impressive!

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to us very soon.

Warm Regards,

Russell Markou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The hotel is very convenient for Birmingham New Street railway station - once you know which exit to use! (It's one of the new exits and I think it's called Hill Street but please do check in case I've made a mistake). Our room was at the front of the hotel overlooking the roundabout but we weren't bothered by the traffic noise. The room decoration was a little tired looking but the bed was very comfortable and we had no complaints. Out of all the hotels we've stayed in in Birmingham this is our fave so far!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Widmerpoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell M, Director of Operations at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback further to your recent stay - I am delighted to read that we are your hotel of choice in Birmingham - we make every effort to ensure all of our guests enjoy their stay and we never grow tired of hearing positive feedback, thank you once again.

You are correct in regard to the New Street train station exit, the easiest way to find us is by exiting the station via the Hill Street exit, we are literally a 3 minute walk from there.

We look forward to seeing you at our hotel again very soon

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Stayed here overnight for my daughters birthday at her request having frequently passed by this familiar Birmingham landmark.This hotel is an easy walk from New Street train station.I chose this hotel partly because of the ability to prebook twin rooms and the free wifi.Check in was immediately uninspiring when I was told the room was still being cleaned despite it being 6.15pm.I had reserved a twin room but was given a double and frustratingly this took 3 hours to rectify.The room was bright and clean but the decor is dated.The beds were soft with springy mattresses.The shower was over the bath and was hot but difficult to control the temperature.Sumputous looking toiletries but on closer inspection 2 conditioners and no shampoo.The free wifi worked well. Disappointingly the gym and spa were closed for refurbishment until July 2.Weekend guests beware though unless the hours change with the new facility the gym closes at 6pm Saturday and is not open on Sunday.The hotel was saved by its food.We had an excellent dinner in the Filini Restaurant with friendly personable service overlooking the Holloway Circus Queensway roundabout where we have sat previously in many a traffic jam.The food was full of flavour and beautifully presented . My daughter's dessert plate was decorated with Happy Birthday which was a special touch and a delightful surprise.The breakfast buffet was quite extensive with a choice of 6 juices, 2 kinds of sausage and black pudding in addition to the usual hotel hot fare.The pastries were fresh and crisp.Gluten free bread was available on request as were nutella pots to the satisfaction of my young daughter. Check out was efficient and instant. There are plenty other hotels in Birmingham centre which are better value for money with better service and rooms.I probably would not stay here again but would revisit the restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveldoc65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell M, Director of Operations at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

Thank you for your feedback further to your recent stay - Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues encountered at check-in and in regard to your bathroom amenities, oversights on our behalf which have been followed up on with our executive housekeeper; rest assured this will not occur again.

I'm delighted to read that your visit to our Filini restaurant was a lot more pleasurable, our team work extremely hard to create positively memorable experiences for all our guests and it's great to read that you enjoyed it so much that you would return, this is a great success! The restaurant and kitchen teams were very overjoyed to read your comments which only motivates them to continue to improve further - our new menu was launched last week so we hope you come back soon and we would welcome your feedback.

Disappointing to read that you wouldn't stay with us again, at your convenience please can you contact me at the hotel as I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you.

Warm regards,

Russell Markou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Stayed for one night to combine a shopping trip and a concert at the NEC.
Wrong location for the NEC - £20 in a taxi to the venue but the Bull Ring shopping centre was just a 5 minute walk away.
Check in was ok despite being given a double when I had booked a twin, upgraded to business suite for free by way of apology.
Offered a smoking room (floor 12) but declined in favour of upgrade.
Room was on 17th floor looking out onto the centre (roundabout) great for people watching! Room was clean, comfortable and quiet.
Breakfast delivered to room for tray charge of £3.50 but unfortunately it was nothing to write home about.
Hotel bar is pricey and was quite busy so atmosphere was good. Shuts for residents at midnight.
Check out was fast and NCP parking ticket was validated and cost £14 instead of £24 for 24 hours: they even allowed us to leave the car there whilst we went shopping and then validated the ticket again on our return 4 hours later with no extra charge.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing the road have better views and less noise Floor 12 for smokers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welsh696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell M, Director of Operations at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Many thanks for your review of our hotel.

I'm really pleased to read that overall you had a pleasant stay with us - please accept our apologies for the incorrect room type being allocated, I'm happy to see that our team resolved this to your satisfaction and I sincerely hope this caused you minimal inconvenience.

In regard to the bar closing at midnight for residents; if there is a demand from our guests then we are licenced to keep our lobby bar open until our guests decide to retire for the evening, however, our bar which adjoins the restaurant on the 1st floor closes at midnight.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review our hotel and we look forward to hosting you again when your travels bring you to Birmingham in future.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
983 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,256 reviews
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
2,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
2,405 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4,215 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham

Address: 12 Holloway Circus Queensway | Queensway, Birmingham B1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £63 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently refurbished Radisson Blu Hotel in Birmingham soars above the cityscape in an impressive 39-storey structure near the business district, conventio centre and shopping complexes. The large 170,000 square foot John Lewis and the new grand central station on New Street are just a 3-minute walk from the hotel. The hotel also has NCP parking facilities directly behind on St. Jude's Passage. The 211 contemporary rooms and suites showcase modern accents and furnishings and provide amenities such as Free high-speed, wireless Internet. Experience the unique twist on the classic British Brasserie in on-site Collage restaurant. From sumptuous steaks and smoked haddock kedgeree to a classic British cheeseboard, enter the world of Collage where the theatre of service and unforgettable dishes are the order of the day. Enjoy a cocktail or beer at our Lobby bar or the Collage bar. Keep fit in the 18th-floor fitness centre, where skyline city views enhance your workout experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rezidor, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Radisson Birmingham
Birmingham Radisson
Radisson Sas Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing